We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“owner from hell!!”
Review of Burns at Byron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burns at Byron
Ranked #19 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 January 2012

we stayed in the house over the new year period and paid a whopping $7000! the owner was constantly at the house using the facilities (laundry and washing line) and constantly telling us to clean up and keep the house tidy, even though the dishes were done everyday and and we should the up most respect for all furniture and facilities. would not stay here again, very dissapointed and very unfriendly, and cold welcome. next time i would stay somewhere where the owner respects your privacy and ultimately respects your need for a holiday!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TessaB255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Manager at Burns at Byron, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

I am sorry these guests felt that I was the 'owner from Hell'. That is unfortunate. However I am pleased that they would never want to stay here again. During schoolies I expect this type of guest and have a list of rules and take precautions to protect the property and keep things under control. But this wasn't schoolies! Due to an excess of persons whom were not registered guests, the OVERWHELMING amount of rubbish on the property and the noise complaints I deemed it necessary to protect me home and business from any potential damage. I did not feel comfortable with this group of young adults on my property nor the revolving door of strangers who were constantly present. I therefore came to the property daily to keep tabs on the situation and try to keep the rubbish under control. In their defence, they did put an effort into cleaning the house before they left. Burns at Byron is not a party house. It is a heritage listed historic house filled with antiques and beautiful gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is a lovely place with an amazing backyard. Every single detail was thought through! This place is very inviting and has a homely feel to it.
As soon as I walked in I felt comfortable. The back garden is something else! A perfect place to relax after a long day at the beach.
Walking distance to everything, very good location
Hilary makes you feel welcome from the moment you walk in.
Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

It was all the details and finer touches that moved me. The tea selection was impressive, as were the candles on at night throughout the house, the organic toilettries, the outdoor Balinese style bathroom. So divine to bath under ferns and a starlit night sky. Really sparked my imagination to drift and begin relaxing upon check in. The cottage is decorated with character and a charm that projects a gracious beauty upon the entire travel experience. Hilary is an amazing woman! The space is generous and sublime as the breeze which blows in at night. Great location and a great way to rejuvenate one's soul through a refined and luxurious appeal to the senses. I now know for certain where I'll always be staying each time I sojourn to Byron Bay.

Room Tip: The front one was just perfect for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaJZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Loved, loved, loved it! This B&B is very charming and welcoming. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Queen room with ensuite bathroom but since there were no other guests while we were there (off-season, during the middle of the week), we were shown the other rooms as well. All of the rooms of the main house are super comfortable and well decorated in a very Bali fashion. There is a garden apartment set at the back of the garden with two rooms and kitchen. A perfect place for two couples or a family to rent. The garden area was very lush and relaxing. Also the location of the B&B is super ideal. Just two blocks away from town and on a neighborhood street. Hillary, that manages the place, is a fantastic and friendly host. You won't go wrong by staying here!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinkle404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Small and quiet like a good B&B but with the character and attention to detail of a boutique hotel. Warm and welcoming atmosphere, antique furnishings, and a good assortment of breakfast choices. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EttaInWonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Hi all, I was torn between writing a review so everyone could enjoy this secret beautiful B&B and supporting it, and keeping the secret to myself because we loved it so much. If you are looking for the perfect weekend Getaway that isn't going to rip your pockets out and make you feel guilty BUT makes you feel so happy and that you are in a beautiful place and you really are on holiday then Burns at Byron is the place for you. It is a three bedroom guest house / B&B. Hillary was ever so accommodating and friendly. We stayed in the Komono room which was lovely as are all the rooms styled beautifully in a Country rustic chic meets Bali kind of style. There is a stunning shared bathroom which Id love to be my own the way it is styled and kept so clean. You share it with only one other room and there is another toilet also. If you are in the master bedroom you get an ensuite. Breakfast is prepared for you in the morning and awaits whenever you choose to get up. Fruit salad, muesli, juice and breads and muffins. You can truly make yourself at home on the deck relaxing in the garden or having an outdoor candlelit bath or shower. You can make a pot of tea or coffee whenever you like. It truly is a beautiful hideaway place and in walking distance of all the bars, shops and beaches. Burns is the most charming and best place delivering fantastic value I have stayed in and I have been fortunate to travel a lot. It is hard to beat the serenity and value it delivers in Australia where every room costs $90 or more. We were so happy here and delighted to have discovered it and feel fortunate to have enjoyed it.

Room Tip: THere are only 3 and you'll enjoy every one. If you really can't stand the thought of sharin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

The house of this B&B has 3 rooms to offer, of which one has its own bathroom and the other 2 rooms share one bathroom (which is basically down the end of the entrance corridor and easy to reach). The interior of the B&B was lovely and well designed.
The garden in the backyard was very cosy and looked well maintained.

The room had a comfortable bed and a TV with included DVD (Latest DVD movies have been offered by the owner).

There was only one thing, that dropped the points of my rating. The room, we've stayed in was too dusty. You could see quite a dust layer on the wooden blinds. Also there have been several spider net parts on the ceilings.
I am an allergic person, which made my 2 night stay quite uncomfortable (running nose at all times). I thought it must have been some trees or flowers first, until I have discovered the dust layers. Also the room has 2 carpets which might have been dusty as well and supported my allergy (but this is just a guess).

The breakfast was average with cereals, jams and a fruit salad to chose from.
Coffee and tea facilities have been provided.

Overall, this B&B is a great escape and I guess we have just checked in quite unexpected, which could be the reason for the dust on the blinds.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.3 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
439 reviews
1.9 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Byron Bay Farmstay
Byron Bay Farmstay
#1 of 1 in Hayters Hill
118 reviews
2.9 mi away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 65 in Byron Bay
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burns at Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burns at Byron

Address: 14 Burns St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range: £72 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burns at Byron 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Holiday Accommodation Burns at Byron B&B/ guesthouse exudes comfort and style. Set amongst stunning tropical gardens it offers four luxuriously appointed bedrooms. The Sari room and Kimono rooms are spacious queen/dbl bedrooms with beautiful furnishings. These two rooms share one and a half bathrooms. There is a clawfoot tub, tiled shower and a huge antique mirror. The Library Ensuite is also a spacious queen/dbl bedroom; this one has an impressive library in it as well as a private bathroom. The Master Ensuite has it all, a four poster King bed, lounge area, French doors leading out to the verandah and a private bath. Ideal for the perfect holiday for families, romantic getaways for couples or simply a bit of quiet relaxation on your own. Burns at Byron is also available for independent weekly/long weekend hire. Services as well as other pampering, have a massage on the deck, or a pedicure in the garden. Burns at Byron offers stylish and relaxed-comfortable holiday accommodations in a beautifully restored, heritage listed-Federation cottage.Your tariff will include a fresh breakfast featuring homemade muesli, juice, local fruits, breads and spreads and all day tea and coffee for you to help yourself to. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing