We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely getaway to a magical place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Byron Bay Rainforest Resort
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely getaway to a magical place”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

If you are looking for the heart of luxury then you are at the wrong place. What you will find at the rainforest resort is a well appointed cabin beautifully secluded in a natural woodland setting.

The bed was comfortable and the hot water was high pressure and ample. The kitchenette had enough to whip up a small meal if you didn't feel like going out and the cabin is large and open with both ceiling fans and air conditioning. We particularly enjoyed sitting on the enclosed veranda to enjoy the sounds of nature (or the rather spectacular thunderstorm one night) whilst protected from most of the local insect life. The resort also supplies mozzie coils in case the bugs are being particularly aggressive.

The main complaint - which others have also made - is that not all the windows have shutters or blinds. Our kitchen window in particular has a straight-line view into the balcony area of a nearby cabin which was rectified by hanging a shirt over it.

The staff was unobtrusive but friendly when you needed them and having open access to spare linen and towels was a welcome touch when nothing dried after the stormy soaking we got.

Though we didn't travel with pets or kids this time, we appreciated the pool and games room as well as the pet-friendly nature of the property as an encouragement to return with the whole family.

Overall, this property contributed well to a wonderful getaway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    31
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
25
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed one night (two couples) and were thrilled with the natural beauty of the place. The cabins are basic but comfortable and clean. In agreement with other reviewers, the place is a little tired but the staff are very accommodating and friendly. If you're looking for a natural experience in a rain forest this is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpmacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

If you want a cute and affordable get away that's away from it all but not really that far this place is for you. Definitely not a 5 star place but it's part of its charm and appeal.

Not new but clean.

Was horrified when we were shown the room that a HUGE 7ft window had no curtain along with another on standing level on the side. The main was overlooking the forest but there were clear walking trails right around the cabin- anyone could be standing outside at night and you wouldn't know from the inside because it's pitch black. Perhaps I've seen too many horror films but it made me so uneasy had to make makeshift curtains

The glass triangle ones each side of the room joining the room didn't bother us as only the wild birds could see in and it was beautiful to wakeoup and see the natural trees from bed.

Shower was leaking and randomly enough tap outside was running heavly (that's how we found the trails outside)
Ping pong and pool were awesome in the games room and the spa was fantastic. We also went on a bush walk which was a real treat. Very local and not far from the beach. Bus stop right outside entry. Was an experience like no other staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdenLatoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

If you're looking for luxury this is not the place for you. But it is clean in the cabins and the beds are comfortable with decent linen. Basic but hot shower. It is quite tired and the insect screens really need attention, more so if you are there in the summer. One room had badly fitting louvres and no screen .. a real no-no once the midges and mozzies really get going, and you are in a sandy wooded area so they'd be full on. It could also do with some repairs and cleaning around the place. The gardens could be lovely and are, in fact, pleasant but it's a bit scruffy round the cabins. The rec room could do with a good clean. But with Byron prices as they are, if you need accommodation for up to 6 and don't need a large living area or a fancy kitchen, then this place is a decent option. You can't walk to the beach and need to drive to get into Byron but it's very quiet, has a reasonable basic pool and a communal spa. The management are really friendly and helpful. It's a good budget option.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAnnie3357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Nice place in the middle of the forest behind the beach of Tallows. If you like wilderness this place is good! It is clean and comfy for families and couples...we were lucky to find this place, we like these type of cabins.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 395toti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Yes it is set in the rainforest... BUT:

The bed had roaches in it. I squashed two as I was getting ready to sleep. IN THE BED.
The pillow had a dead spider which was covered in web attached to it.
There were mozzies and sand-flies buzzing around the room. I have bites up and down my legs which are very itchy still.
I woke up and a very large brown spider scuttled across the top of the bed and disappeared under it.
Not all the windows had curtains so forget sleeping in.

The little kitchen and fridge is handy, pretty much everything you need to cook with.
My dog stayed with me in the room which was good and besides the creepy crawlies the place was very clean and free of doggy smell.
There looked like there was a nice communal pool and hot tub for use however I didn't use it.

Its all pretty dated inside, the mozzies get in because the screen door does fit the front of the shack properly.
If you like the outdoors this is a nice place to be.
If you like the outdoors but prefer the outdoors stay out when you go indoors you might be as annoyed as me that it cost $130 to stay a night.

Would be a nice place to stay outside of Byron bay if they got the bugs under control and did a bit of work on the place so its less like a shack.

Room Tip: ask for a room with no bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Byron Bay hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I booked accommodation here in December for 22 March. As we were waiting for our flight to Byron the Rainforest Resort called to say they could not accommodate us as they had double booked. Obviously early booking is no priority against cancellations. One good outcome was we were offered accommmodation at Oasis Tree Tops at the same price. But a little dissapointing that the Byron Bay Rainforest Resort does not pay more attention to its bookings.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Byron Bay
1.0 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
8.1 mi away
SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay
0.8 mi away
Byron Lakeside Apartments
Byron Lakeside Apartments
#31 of 66 in Byron Bay
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
#25 of 66 in Byron Bay
253 reviews
1.9 mi away
Glen Villa Resort
Glen Villa Resort
#19 of 66 in Byron Bay
476 reviews
2.4 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Clarkes Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Bay Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Bay Rainforest Resort

Property: Byron Bay Rainforest Resort
Address: 39-75 Broken Head Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Byron Bay Rainforest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Byron Bay Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing