We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cape Beach House
Ranked #3 of 35 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We hesitate to share our experience staying at the Cape Beach House, because it it's kind of place you'd want to keep a secret, to make sure you'll be able to go there as often as you like. It is simply that wonderful. But I guess everyone deserves to know about this fantastic place.
Not only is the house beautiful and light and comfortable and super clean, it is also located in a great place. The walk to town is only about ten minutes and Clark's Beach (with the great Beach Cafe) is just around the corner.
Greatest thing about Cape Beach House must be owners Katie and Mark though- rarely have we felt more welcome (and spoilt) anywhere. We'd return just for the breakfasts.
Katie was full of tips for nice places to eat (avoiding the tourist traps!) and where to get surfing lessons (with a great and responsible surf school) and things to do and see in the area. Only when asked for, though, these people really understand privacy.
In short: it was the best place we stayed at during our five week drive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi Danny, thank you so very much for your wonderful review, we truly appreciate you writing this for us. It was great having you both here with us and I enjoyed our chats over brekky! We look forward to seeing you back again soon! Take care, Katie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for The Cape Beach House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Katie is charming, knowing how to make your stay in Byron just that little more intimate. We stayed for 10 nights, which was fantastic. The layout and decor unlike a B&B, much more sophisticated, our room with it's own deck area; The location perfect, enabling easy access to Clarke Beach for lazy days on the beach, swim with the turtles and The Beach Cafe; a short walk into town allowing easy access to all the Restaurants but far enough not to be disturbed; an easy walk to Tallow Beach and then further to Broken Head and back; close enough to enjoy the Lighthouse and Wategos round trip walk; relaxed breakfast, Katie's muesli and warm muffins; Off street, undercover parking.The Cape Beach house will see us again. Thanks Katie.

Room Tip: If you are bringing a surfboard, ask for the front room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi Will, thank you so very much for your lovely review, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to do this for us. It was such a pleasure having you both here with us for such a nice long stay and we look forward to seeing you back again soon! All the best, Katie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

After a busy time at a family wedding interstate we decided to have some R&R on our way home. Lucky we did because after spending some gorgeous time at the Cape Beach house we felt very "R&R-ed". A delight it was! Lovely people to look after us - not staff more like nice and discreet friends really. The whole place was relaxed with all the nice touches of a Byron experience. And the restaurants within local walking distance were great.
Great place for couples of all ages.
cheers to Hannah and Kate.
Regards
Lorraine

Room Tip: all seemed lovely - our certainly was.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi Lorraine, thank you so much for your wonderful review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and got the r and r you needed. Our brekky chats were so much fun and we hope to see you back again soon! Cheers, Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a great trip to Byron Bay and chose the Cape Beach House as our accommodation. We were glad that we did, from the moment we arrived till our departure. Katie was waiting to welcome us and show us to our room. The Cape Beach House has a great ambience that you would expect from a house right across the road from the beach, it is very quiet away from the town but close enough to walk there if you need to. A pleasant stroll takes you to the beach and warm water of Byron Bay. There is a great restaurant right on the beach where we had dinner. The light house is a few minutes by car or you can walk to it on the boardwalk. Great breakfast served, We will definitely be staying there on our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phirex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you so very much for such a wonderful review, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write this for us. We are so pleased you had a great stay at the Beach House and in Byron Bay and we look forward to seeing you back again soon! All the best, Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The accommodation is great - well located close to Clark's beach and the beach cafe but within a nice walking distance to Jonson street and the main bars and restaurants. Lovely rooms, we had the one at the front with a more private veranda which was perfect as it was my boyfriends 30th birthday and we were able to have a drink to celebrate in the sun. Katie was a fantastic host - amazing muffins! Katie really couldn't do enough to help and went the extra mile helping me to organise a surprise bottle of bubbly for a birthday treat. Thanks again Katie we will be back! Only regret was not staying long enough!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachpc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi Rachel, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write this for us. It was so great having you both here celebrating a special birthday and I was more than happy to help out! All the very best to you both and we hope to see you back at the Beach House again soon! Katie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The Cape Beachouse holds a special place in our hearts. My husband and I stayed in Room 4 for our honeymoon and have continued to stay in room 4 every year on our anniversary, we call it repeating our honeymoon over and over and over again. When we first stayed we fell so madly on love with the design, decor and atmosphere we modeled the building of our own home on it. We leave each trip with the desire to replicate our stay at home as long as we can until the next holiday.
We also stay at Easter for the Bluesfest and I recently stayed for a week alone for some rnr. The divine Hannah kept me company, she is a gorgeous help and always him outed me, allowing me to share my days adventures with her. She made my trip.
The service at the Cape is impeccable. It is void of clinical hospitality, instead always a wave of genuine warmth and energy greets us when we arrive and see Katie. She makes the place. She is truly the heart of the home and I am thrilled she has taken on the Cape with her big heart for sharing it and Byron with everyone who walks through the secret garden gate. I am proud to call her my friend after all our stays and believe everyone leaves wistfully sad to say goodbye to this slice of white and bleached timber paradise, and to wave farewell to Katie.
The white wash timber beams, the crisp white linen, the sun bleached decks and aquamarine lap pool, the lush tropical gardens and the long lazy communal breakfast bar, seem to infuse everyone with a sleepy hippy Byron chill. I believe the best part is lieing at night with the timber louvre doors tilted listening to the typical roll in of a Summer Byron rainfall at night. My husband disagrees, he dreams at home of waking to the famous homemade toasted muesli and array of fruits and yoghurt and honey after a long sunrise surf at the Pass, just across the road.
We hope to keep staying every year until We can't travel. As no matter what overseas or Australian holidays we plan, we dedicate time in the plans and budget for our annual tonic, the Cape Beachhouse, our home away from home.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Oh Bernadette, this is truly such an amazing, beautiful review, it brings me to tears! Thank you so much! It is always such a joy having you here with us as I know the Cape Beach House has a special place in your hearts. I feel incredibly blessed to have you coming back each year and I look forward to seeing you again soon. Take care, Katie xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A very clean, wonderfully relaxing place to stay with lovely welcoming helpful hosts in an excellent quiet location within easy walking distance of the centre and numerous beaches. Fantastic breakfasts, Katie's raspberry muffins being the best I have ever tasted.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hi Anne, Thank you for your lovely review, it was an absolute joy having you here and I'll be sure to get you that raspberry muffin recipe to you so you can enjoy them at home! All the best and we hope to see you again when your back in Australia! Katie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
188 reviews
2.5 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
391 reviews
2.7 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
279 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Cavvanbah Beach House
Cavvanbah Beach House
#2 of 35 in Byron Bay
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cape Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cape Beach House

Address: 94 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range: £132 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cape Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Cape Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing