We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cape Beach House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Tallow Beach Motel(Suffolk Park)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Atlantic Byron Bay(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$242
US$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$379
US$334
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wollongbar Motel(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BreakFree Eco Beach(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cape Byron Retreat(Skinners Shoot)(Great Value!)
US$186
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveller rating
432
45
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
45
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmueslib bacross the roadother guestsgluten free muffinsevery morningplace to stayperfect locationhome away from homefresh fruitlighthouse walkbeautiful breakfastshort walklight housebaked muffinsour room was spaciouscontinental breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 479 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Travelling up from Sydney to Brisbane, we stopped off in 6 B & B's and so could make comparisons between them.
Katie had advised us that she would be in Brisbane the day we were due, but there would be Hannah and/or a note telling us what to do. In fact there was neither! A pair of guests who had checked out that morning and were awaiting transport, suggested that their room was the only vacant one, so we moved in. 40 minutes later Hannah appeared to tell us we were in the wrong room, but a couple of phone calls to Katie resolved everything.
At breakfast next morning Katie was there and in control - the kitchen facilities had been cleaned up and a good continental breakfast ready, including Katie's own made muesli and warm muffins.
Byron Bay was full of "beach bums" on a hot weekend day, and Cape Beach House's casual style fits in well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestopinionWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

It is truly disheartening and disappointing to read your review as greeting our guests on arrival is of the utmost importance and high priority for us.

Hannah was in fact on-site awaiting your arrival, hence no note was left out. It wasn't until another guest arrived, whom she was also waiting for rang the front door bell to advise of their arrival, did she discover you were at the beach house and had already gone into one of the rooms. The situation was then resolved expeditiously and at no time were you ever inconvenienced.

We are very sorry if this tarnished your stay with us and apologise for disappointing you in this regard Kind regards, Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My husband & I love this place! We discovered it many years ago when we first started dating & try to return whenever we can. The property is just beautiful & in an amazing spot, a short stroll into town centre for meals but also away from the hustle & bustle. Clarke's Beach is amazing for swimming & you are conveniently located right at the start the lighthouse walk. Katie's finer details are marked all over this fantastic property with impeccable house service daily, amazingly presented breakfasts & her general eagerness to please... nothing is ever being a problem! Thank you for being the amazing host that you are Katie!

Room Tip: You will not have a problem with any room choice as all are well appointed & very private.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you so much Amanda for your lovely review. It was such a joy having you both here and we look forward to many more visits! All the very best to you both, Katie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We hesitate to share our experience staying at the Cape Beach House, because it it's kind of place you'd want to keep a secret, to make sure you'll be able to go there as often as you like. It is simply that wonderful. But I guess everyone deserves to know about this fantastic place.
Not only is the house beautiful and light and comfortable and super clean, it is also located in a great place. The walk to town is only about ten minutes and Clark's Beach (with the great Beach Cafe) is just around the corner.
Greatest thing about Cape Beach House must be owners Katie and Mark though- rarely have we felt more welcome (and spoilt) anywhere. We'd return just for the breakfasts.
Katie was full of tips for nice places to eat (avoiding the tourist traps!) and where to get surfing lessons (with a great and responsible surf school) and things to do and see in the area. Only when asked for, though, these people really understand privacy.
In short: it was the best place we stayed at during our five week drive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi Danny, thank you so very much for your wonderful review, we truly appreciate you writing this for us. It was great having you both here with us and I enjoyed our chats over brekky! We look forward to seeing you back again soon! Take care, Katie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Katie is charming, knowing how to make your stay in Byron just that little more intimate. We stayed for 10 nights, which was fantastic. The layout and decor unlike a B&B, much more sophisticated, our room with it's own deck area; The location perfect, enabling easy access to Clarke Beach for lazy days on the beach, swim with the turtles and The Beach Cafe; a short walk into town allowing easy access to all the Restaurants but far enough not to be disturbed; an easy walk to Tallow Beach and then further to Broken Head and back; close enough to enjoy the Lighthouse and Wategos round trip walk; relaxed breakfast, Katie's muesli and warm muffins; Off street, undercover parking.The Cape Beach house will see us again. Thanks Katie.

Room Tip: If you are bringing a surfboard, ask for the front room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi Will, thank you so very much for your lovely review, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to do this for us. It was such a pleasure having you both here with us for such a nice long stay and we look forward to seeing you back again soon! All the best, Katie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

After a busy time at a family wedding interstate we decided to have some R&R on our way home. Lucky we did because after spending some gorgeous time at the Cape Beach house we felt very "R&R-ed". A delight it was! Lovely people to look after us - not staff more like nice and discreet friends really. The whole place was relaxed with all the nice touches of a Byron experience. And the restaurants within local walking distance were great.
Great place for couples of all ages.
cheers to Hannah and Kate.
Regards
Lorraine

Room Tip: all seemed lovely - our certainly was.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbh2481, Owner at The Cape Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi Lorraine, thank you so much for your wonderful review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and got the r and r you needed. Our brekky chats were so much fun and we hope to see you back again soon! Cheers, Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews