We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extremely expensive”
Review of Beach Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Suites
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“extremely expensive”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

fellow travellers, 490 per night australian buys you a back suite in a block of serviced apartments, no coffee shops, no facilities.
Regardless of the level of comfort, it aint worth 490 per night.
Very disappointed

Room Tip: insist on a unit facing the beach or go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenjenrossco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachSuites, Manager at Beach Suites, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Jenjenrossco,
It's disappointing to hear that you weren't satified with at Beach Suites. It sounds like you were in our of our garden suites designed to accommodate up to 5 people.
We chose not to provide dining facilities within the property as there are so many fabulous experiences to be had just a short stroll away. We have tried to provide a peaceful retreat within proximity to all you could wish for on your holiday, and we feel that we have achieved that, as guests often comment on how quiet the property is.
We offer a lot within each room as well as many value added extras included without charge. We understand that we are at the upper end of the marketplace, however believe that you receive a lot in return.
Thank you for your time, warm regards
Helen Buckley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    40
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
107
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The Beach Suites are everything you would imagine from a 5 Star property. It’s right on the beach and although we were in Byron at a very busy time (Christmas) it was great to come back into the luxury surrounds. The apartments are beautifully furnished and have cable TV and wifi. We will be going back again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachSuites, Manager at Beach Suites, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Curtis53,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Beach Suites. One of the things that we are extremely fortunate to have is our wonderful location, across from the beach, close to shops, galleries and restaurants... yet just far enough away to be also able to offer a tranquil retreat from the bustle of the main street.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Beach Suites.
Warm regards
Helen Buckley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Have stayed here twice in a 2 bedroom penthouse, this place is so awesome and worth every penny. The absolute best Byron Bay has to offer by a long stretch (and we've stayed in about 10 other places over the years). The decor is sublime and calming, the towels are fluffy and plentiful, the beds and sofas are comfortable, bathrooms luxurious, the linen is excellent quality, staff are amazing, kitchen is well equipped and the facilities are top notch. The penthouses are serviced regularly, a wonderful treat for this exhausted mother of two little ones! The pool is rainwater and just heavenly, if you have babies you can sneak upstairs for a swim while they are asleep, or if you have older kids they can swim in the pool while you keep an eye on them downstairs on the plasma tv - a very clever idea. If you do have little ones, the stairs to the pool area is nice and secure as is the balcony area. The apartment is also very quiet inside once the balcony door is shut. Nothing is a problem for the staff and they were happy to co-ordinate the receipt of the pram I had hired for our holiday (they provide a cot and high chair). The housekeeping staff are just delightful. The location is just the best..I could go on and on. In fact the only fault I have with this joint is that its booked out for when I wanted to come back!

Room Tip: The corner penthouse is less expensive and also has an additional massage room off the main bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed at Beach Suites for the first time last Xmas/New Year and fell in love with the resort! Expensive but worth every bit of it! We have re-booked again for this year! Staff could not do enough for us, fantastic location, amazing views I will continue to return to this resort. Not only is Byron Bay one of the most beautiful places in Australia but to have a resort such as this to stay at makes it even better!!!

Room Tip: I have only stayed in the One Bedroom Studio and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlze2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachSuites, General Manager at Beach Suites, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Dear Karlie15M,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an inspirational review of what we do.
Your comments summarise all of the things we strive to get right - the views and location are taken care of but the helpful staff is somethiing that is not always easy to find and we pride ourselves on providing exceptional assistance to your needs.
look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit and please let any of your friends and family know they can contact me if they too would like to experience beautiful accommodation in a first rate location.
Warm regards
Helen Buckley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Absolute perfection in every way. Yes expensive but ive stayed in $1000 a night places that werent nearly as special as this. From now on i wouldnt dream of staying anywhere else... And ive been to byron 20+ times.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eastcoasttraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachSuites, General Manager at Beach Suites, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Dear EastCoastTraveller80,
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge what we do - your comments inspire us.
Beach Suites is a luxury property and is expensive in comparision to other Byron Bay property's, however we always find that once people physically see what we offer, they are never disappointed.
Great to hear that you will stay with us again, and please contact me if we can help you or any of your family and friends in the future.
Warm regards
Helen Buckley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is the 3rd time we have stayed here, there is no better location; straight opposite the beach, and about a minute or 2 walk to all the cafes, restaurants & shops. It is so relaxing. The kids loved the warm plunge pool. The rooms are really spacious and clean. The staff were so lovely and warm. A great plus was the well stocked fridge, the mini bar items were at realistic prices and not over the top, it was great with kids and made it easier.The sunsets and sunrises are amazing too!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisajwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachSuites, General Manager at Beach Suites, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Dear lisajwilson,
Thank you for your fantastic feedback. We find it inspiring when people take the time to write about what we do. We believe our location is one of the best in Byron Bay and are glad that it enhanced your stay. Also nice of you to note the mini bars - we pride ourselves on its realistic cost structure for these items.
Please contact me should you have any friends or family that you wish to share the experience of Beach Suites with and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Warm regards
Helen Buckley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

From the moment we arrived, even before setting foot inside, the location was perfect. Right across the road from the beach. The location is also perfect if you like to be within walking distance of many cafes and restaurants, which I do.
When we arrived the staff member that greeted us was very friendly and made us feel welcome.
The room was absolutely lovely. We booked a beachfront studio without a pool for 2 of us. The room was quite large and had a small kitchenette and the best bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel, two sinks and a separate bath and shower. The bath was so deep that you could lie in it properly and the 2 shower heads made it feel like you were at a spa.
There are huge sliding doors in the apartment that open onto a deck, so it makes it feels like the outside has come in. The suites are designed so they are very private from the other suites.
The daily room service was fantastic. The room was so clean and a little supply of Byron Bay cookies was left each day. The hotel has free wifi with fast speed and a complimentary newspaper is left each day.
I've got nothing negative to say at all. I had such a relaxing holiday and would definately book here again, ooh the only negative is that I am sad for myself that the rates in summer go beyond my budget but I always have winter :).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fizzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.0 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
356 reviews
2.4 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
1.2 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#12 of 32 in Byron Bay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Suites

Property: Beach Suites
Address: 20 Bay St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beach Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Bay's most private beachfront luxury accommodation. The best of Byron with light filled and spacious rooms, quality furniture and fittings. Two and three bedroom penthouse apartments with their own rooftop pool, Studio style rooms in a garden setting or Beachfront studios with their own private plunge pool and private front gates for direct beach access. A beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing