We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome accommodation and location”
Review of Beach Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach Suites
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome accommodation and location”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The property is beautiful. We had a huge room, kitchenette with a full size fridge and a plunge pool. There was also a good BBQ on the deck. The bathroom, shower and tub were first class.

However, it seemed the service for such an expensive place was not up to par. We had to repeatedly ask for the BBQ to be cleaned. The milk for tea wasn't refreshed. Some of the front desk staff preferred to ignore us as we went past to get to the car. However, the lady that checked us in was awesome. Super friendly and helpful.

To give credit however, when we asked for something to be rectified, recovery was immediate and well done.

They also need to improve their internet connections. We had constant drops and could only get it in the suite and not on the deck.

Overall, the quality of the service did not fully match the high quality of the property.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel19732013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachSuites, Manager at Beach Suites, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Daniel19732013,
I am so disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the service - it seems that you were entitled to feel this way if the things you asked for weren't done for you.
I have taken these items directly back to staff as this is NOT the way that they are instructed to carry out their roles and certainly not in keeping with the standard and service that they always consistently give.
Thank you for your feedback and please be assured that this is completely out of character and has been addressed.
Kind regards
Helen Buckley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    40
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
107
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Murwillumbah, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in May 2013 for our 10 year wedding anniversary (very delayed review). For us it was worth the splurge to be assured that we would be well taken care of.
We stayed in a beachfront room with plunge pool which was very nice and so well appointed. On check in we had a requirement with our vehicle which was dealt with very helpfully as the staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs, after that we didn't need to return to reception or even call them our whole stay, we really did seem to have every thing we needed. From the large fridge (which was good because I bought an assortment of goodies from the farmers market when we arrived on Thursday morning), and even freezer with ice maker and great mini bar selection. There were umbrellas and Austar/foxtel(?) for when it's wet and a BBQ, pool lounges, plunge pool and beach directly across the road for when it's dry.
The room servicing was clean, efficient and unobtrusive, the bathroom was lovely and the kitchenette functional.
We absolutely loved the stacker doors out to the patio which open the whole width of the room making it an indoor/outdoor open plan kind of space. And having the pool lights on at night made it a lovely private haven.
Location wise we loved it as we didn't use our car at all, walking distance to everything and right across the road from the beach, also in the type of room we stayed in we had direct access out to the street from a secure gate off our patio. We went to a great French Restaurant for our Anniversary dinner (The Petit Snail-you need to book).
There is a lovely beach view from the room but you can only see it when you are standing up. I know this is necessary for privacy. I know the room already has plenty of furniture but I think some sort of lean-to bar table and stool would be great for sitting a bit higher up on the patio to see the view if desired. Other feedback-for some reason I didn't like the bed spread pattern, not a big deal, just putting it out there.
On our last night our kids joined us and were in absolute heaven with the novelty of all the room amenities and it was great having them there.
Byron is a very expensive place to stay, you even pay big $$ for very basic accommodation, so you are bound to have to pay a lot to stay in 5 star. If you want a stay with very little to complain about (ie disliking the bed spread pattern), a well appointed, clean room with heaps of extras in a great location and you are able and/or happy to pay for it then I would definitely recommend the Beach Suites.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachSuites, Manager at Beach Suites, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Jacqueline B
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.
Your review was amazing and we are very proud and grateful. We have taken on board your notes about a dry bar and stools to enjoy the view from the deck. We had search for these previously but hadn't found anything to tie in with our existing items. So after reading your review I searched again and this time we have had success! This will be implemented in the new year.
So thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Beach Suites in the future.
Warm regards
Helen Buckley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Beach Suites are ideally located in Byron - right across the road from the beach and a short walk to all the shops/cafes and restaurants around Byron.
When we booked the only accommodation available was the Garden Suite so while it didn't have the lovely ocean view that the front facing rooms have, it was extremely spacious and comfortable.
I would stay at the Beach Suites again as it really has a prime location & everything you need for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachSuites, Manager at Beach Suites, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Travelbug070,
Thank you for writing about your recent stay with Beach Suites. SO pleased that you found our Garden Suites so good for your stay - the Beachfront Studios are extremely popular and in the summer months can be booked out for many weeks/months in advance.
Our location is amazing and we love that people can have everything they need to enjoy the Byron Bay experience, right at their finger tips.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Warm regards
Helen Buckley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Looks can be deceiving. As I arrived at the Beach Suites and glanced round the reception, nestled comfortably in the centre of the underground car park, I thought to myself 'ops, not the best choice of accommodation' however I was very much mistaken.

We showed ourselves to our suite which was beautiful. If I was to go again I would probably opt for an ocean view room however our suite was beautiful. We had a private garden, a large room with separate seating and sleeping and a fully appointed kitchen area with dishwasher.

The kitchen had complementary tea, coffee, fresh milk and lovely locally made biscuits which were replaced daily. We were greeted with a complimentary bottle of bubbly as. Birthday gift (nice touch). The fridge was fully stocked with drinks and snacks available at reasonable prices. My only feedback on this is it gave very little space for our breakfast purchase.

The complex in minutes from everything. Understated, subtle but simply fantastic, well worth the stay.

Two top tips. Firstly the address for the apartments is listed as Bay Street but reception and underground car park are actually on Fletcher Street. Caused our sat nav some confusion!

Secondly, for my European cousins, they seem to eat very early in this sleepy neck of the woods so aim for dinner around 8.30pm to avoid takeaway pizza or kebabs as your only option.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gster1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachSuites, Manager at Beach Suites, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear gster1977,
Thank you for writing about your recent experience with Beach Suites. We are pleased that we were able to fulfill your holiday needs and indeed to surprise you with what we offer.
Our rooms do feature so many wonderful things, that reveal themselves to you as you settle in to enjoy your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again,
Warm regards
Helen Buckley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Booked a ground floor studio for our first anniversary weekend and were absolutely impressed when we arrived and they upgraded us to the penthouse!!!!! Beautiful 2 bedroom with seaview and a private rooftop pool! Perfect! We couldn't have asked for anymore, very friendly staff, prime location, and the convenience of secure parking made our weekend stay amazing. Price may scare but it is truly worth it! Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Age C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachSuites, Manager at Beach Suites, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Age C,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your Beach Suites experience. It is always heaps of fun to surprise someone with an upgrade! So glad you had an amazing weekend and that you for the positive review.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Beach Suites again soon.
Warm regards
Helen Buckley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Expensive but so worth it. We had a garden suite which was huge with a lovely private garden to relax in. The mini bar was fab! Loads of space, could easily have stayed for a week and very central for everything. We wanted to move to Byron after our visit?

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tigerlily2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachSuites, Manager at Beach Suites, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Tigerlily 2009,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. So glad that you enjoyed yourselves and trust me, there are worse decisions you could make than to move to Byron Bay!.
In the meantime, you are welcome to stay with us whenever you are in town,.
warm regards
Helen Buckley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Initially I was hesitant as to weather the Beach Suites would be worth the rather hefty price tag. But I couldn't have been happier. It's all about location!!! Direct walk across the road to the beach, and one block to the Shopping and Restaurants (some right across the road also!).

I had thought the the place looked a little dated, and it is, but still very tasteful and luxurious. The plunge pool was nicely heated and a good size. Plenty of underground secured parking for guests.

Would love to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22Anon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachSuites, Manager at Beach Suites, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear 22Anon22,
Thank you so much for writing about your experience with Beach Suites. So glad to hear that we dispelled your initial reservations. We pride ourselves on delivering a wonderful range of service and facilities in an outstanding location.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Beach Suites in the future.
Warm regards
Helen Buckley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.0 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
369 reviews
2.4 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#18 of 32 in Byron Bay
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Suites

Property: Beach Suites
Address: 20 Bay St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beach Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Bay's most private beachfront luxury accommodation. The best of Byron with light filled and spacious rooms, quality furniture and fittings. Two and three bedroom penthouse apartments with their own rooftop pool, Studio style rooms in a garden setting or Beachfront studios with their own private plunge pool and private front gates for direct beach access. A beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing