We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service & food, average cocktails”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Owl & Pussycat - CLOSED

The Owl & Pussycat
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Following a full overhaul at this gorgeous Bar in Byron Bay we are now pleased to invite colleagues, locals, tourists, young & old to enjoy Byron's favourite venue. Live Music nightly from 9pm Mon-Thu plus a groovy DJ system now installed to bring you top class entertainment 7 nights a week. If you've been before, please come again. If you are new in town, check out this top venue for your socialising tonight! Bookings welcome for 4-200 people. Tapas, Mains, Snacks, Platters, Desserts, Coffees, cold Beer & tasty Cocktails. WELCOME!
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Poor service & food, average cocktails”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We visited this bar/ restuarant whilst on our last night in Byron and found it to be one of our worst dining experiences ever!
We ordered a tasting plate of meats, cheese. bread and antipaso sides to graze on and some cocktails. The food took a very long time to come considering nothing had to be cooked. When it finally arrived there were only two small pieces of bread included, we requested more and were told they had run out, the staff were rude and did not offer an apology or an alternative. When i complained further they offered us some biscuits.
10 minutes later we realised the couple sitting next to us had recently ordered the same meal and were given plenty of bread. When we pointed this out to the staff they were again rude & did not apologise.
I am not much of complainer generally but have never been treated so poorly as a customer.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This restaurant closed in October 2012.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

It closed down in October 2012 - the new restaurant is called the Junction. Well priced breakfasts (good pancakes and kids options) and had a great Lamb Burger and fries at lunchtime. Decor is very similar but less of a backpacker atmosphere. Have not been there in the evening yet but they now have put tables on the small terraced area at the front so there is more outdoor seating available.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank UnitedGirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would return just for the chocolate fondant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

Lovely place, great atmosphere, friendly staff and delicious food. Would recommend for anyone who loves chocolate to try the fondant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darlolad1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oh what a night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

This was the second time I have been here and I was just as impressed as the first time. Decided to take my mum there to have a 50th Birthday dinner and drinks and we had a blast. The service was excellent - the girl behind the bar that was looking after us really did try to make sure my mum had a good night. Got a great deal on the food, and even thought it was cheap, it was absolutely delicious. I got the prawn linguine and it was the best pasta I have ever had! Cocktails were great! Overall fantastic Night. I really love the atmosphere here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PamelaF86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“looks good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

nice place to stop in for a quick coctail or drink- if your considering eating try somewhere else most items on the menu are below average with some just resonable .

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank byronmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Owl & Pussycat also viewed

 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing