We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, terrible staff”
Review of Aabi's at Byron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aabi's at Byron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Took a short break to Byron with my girlfriend and stayed at Aabi's based on a friends recommendation. Fantastic little place, just outside of town so easy stroll into Byron but you also get away from all the noise at night. We stayed in an upstairs room which was fantastic, spacious, modern and very comfortable (balcony wasn't bad either). Also, as it's a guest house, a lot cheaper than some of the more up-market hotels in the area.

However, I had a few big issues with this place.

1. Minor one first, we stayed for 4 nights and our room wasn't cleaned once, plus we had to ask for new towels. I know it's a guest house and it does tell you this in the website (I only read this when I got home) but wouldn't hurt to drop in a few more towels every few days.

2. Far bigger issues though, when we checked out, the girl at the desk basically gave out to us about leaving the room in a mess (too much sand... in a beach town!!). I don't expect to be given out to when paying nearly $200 a night plus I don't expect to have to clean my own room before checking out (no one said anything to us about the state of the rooms upon check in). Left a really bad taste in our mouth on what should have been a great trip. Also, called them once we were home and spoke about the issue to give them a chance to respond, guy on the phone had a terrible attitude and went straight on the attack, very disappointing.

Overall, great place, great location but terrible customer service. If they lost the ego's, would be right up there in terms of Byron accomodation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lani W, Manager at Aabi's at Byron, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Thank you for your feedback.
Unfortunately our cleaners had to spend an additional hour on top of the usual cleaning time to remove chewing gum, red wine stains and sand from our furniture and furnishings in the room.
Most properties would have charged an excess cleaning fee for this.
We chose however to have a fair and polite conversation with you regarding this matter we are sorry you were disappointed in this response. The rate per night was a special rate of $160.
Management at Aabis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

Originally we had booked 2 nights here but we extended our stay for another night. A quiet and relaxing place to stay away from the busy streets. Overall it was great and here are the main reasons...

- Small enough to feel like you were the only people there
- Great modern design and very clean
- Friendly staff
- Great Communal Areas inc. Kitchen (with plates and cutlery), Summer House with BBQ, Swimming pool, Decking Area and Jacuzzi with a Roof (just in case it rains)
- Nicely decorated room with art on the wall from a local photographer
- Large bed and good size Hi Def TV (supports USB Hard drives)
- Secure parking

Some things to consider...

- This is a great place to stay for 2/3 days but any longer and would have been too expensive for us
- No breakfast provided but wasn't an issue for us as we just stocked up at the local supermarket
- Rooms are not cleaned on a daily basis so if you're staying for a week you might want to request for your room to be "freshened up"
- As a result of the above 2 comments, it's not a "hotel" but has more characteristics to a self-contain accommodation (with share facilities)
- No bath only a shower in our room (downstairs) - Didn't bother us though
- It's about 10 - 15 mins walk to the main part of Byron Bay and the beach so not right in the centre of the action. Again this wasn't a problem for us.
- Personally I feel this more suited to couples rather than families

Room Tip: If you want a downstairs room, request for one on the left side of the house. Better view of the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silmonli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Aabi's for two nights in early February. We booked it last minute and scored a really good deal, about half the usual price. The facilities here are awesome -- the pool and jaccuzzi are resort-like and the shared kitchen/lounge areas, in fact all areas, are really modern and clean. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Stay here!

Room Tip: You can pay a bit more for an upper level room, but I wouldn't bother, both levels are great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

A friend and I spent the Christmas Holiday here, and it was great. The room was lovely, the amenities (hot tub, pool, outdoor BBQ area) were wonderful, and it was nice and relaxed outside of the hustle of Byron Bay. It was within walking to shops, restaurants, bars and Main Beach, and a short drive to the Lighthouse and other beaches. The staff was friendly and courteous, and it really felt quite secluded. The one complaint would be that the room wasn't serviced daily, which would have been nice. Otherwise, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the main floor, which means we were on the walkway to the other rooms. An upper balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shawnwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Ive been to Byron four times and have just discovered Aabi's. It is by far the best place I've stayed at in Byron Bay! Great staff, all the facilities you need and such a relaxing feel to the place. Complimentary cookies and tea, a massive king sized bed, spa, pool, day beds, coffee machine and the list goes on.. we loved this place so much that after being in town for a little while we wanted to hurry back! A very well thought out place that I just can't flaw.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lizzyric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

A wonderful modern place to stay to get away from everything. Great rooms, spa, cooking facilities and cleanliness. It's located in a residential area which is very quiet and close to the RSL and Woolworths. We had a lovely time at Aabi's and would definitely recommend it to couples!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms which overlook the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The layout is lovely and the ambience of the Pool area is romantic. The rooms are well appointed. Interesting approach as they combine a common area, laundry etc into the facility. This adds great value for me as I hate those laundry rip offs in old school Hotels and I find it difficult to socialise in old school 5 star. This place allows for a more casual approach to a high holiday. The kid-free factor supports my idea of a great time away and I am truly pleased to recommend this great boutique Motel / Guesthouse. Thanks Justin!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank monique p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.3 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
439 reviews
2.1 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
0.5 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#7 of 34 in Byron Bay
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Byron Bay Hotel & Apartments
Byron Bay Hotel & Apartments
#14 of 65 in Byron Bay
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#1 of 34 in Byron Bay
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aabi's at Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aabi's at Byron

Address: 17 Ruskin St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: £127 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aabi's at Byron 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aabis at Byron is a luxurious 4.5 Star guesthouse that's caters exclusively to adults, located in a central & surprisingly quiet part of beautiful Byron Bay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Aabi's at Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing