We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tasty but not inexpencive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Ginger

Red Ginger
Ranked #46 of 184 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Cairns
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Tasty but not inexpencive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is quiet little place with great staff and atmosphere . The food was very tasty and fresh however the salt and pepper squid was on the greasy side . The food came out quickly and nicely presented on a sizzle plate. Be prepared for the cost of the experience as it is not inexpencive for what you get.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank touringcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    21
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Byron store has worst customer service ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying I'm a huge fan of red ginger, I often go to the store in Bangalow and the staff are always friendly and the food is always fantastic.
However I was recently in the Byron Bay store and had to walk out without being severed. The woman be hide the counter was more interested in talking to her friend instead of serving the 3 customers waiting. I waited for 10 minuets then eventually walked out because I was so disgusted. I'm a local I support local business but I will not be treated like joke, I'm a paying customer. So disappointed. Hire staff who have some respect for customers, speak to your friends on your own time!

Helpful?
1 Thank byronbay1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique and fun.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great place to go for a special gift , yum cha, free cuppa herbal tea, special Asian sauces, spices, great tea cups, and so much more, one of the true little gems of Byron Bay......worth a look indeed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank janine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Get a late breakfast here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Every single staff member is terrific. Have to wait for after 10am for the fish cakes. Great anytime meals and great service. Interesting place to browse. Hope they look after workers as they are the best

Helpful?
Thank ArtieEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Upmarket Asian Grocery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is a very interesting shop that sells a range of Asian and middle eastern spices and sauces plus some clothing items and kitchenware. It's not the cheapest but they have a good quality range. They sell good hot food to take away as well. One of the more interesting shops in Byron Bay.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterSandgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Ginger also viewed

Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 
Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 

Been to Red Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing