We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful - Best views in Byron” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Summerhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Summerhouse
Ranked #25 of 39 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful - Best views in Byron”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

Stayed at The Summerhouse for a short trip away before Christmas.

Check in was simple and all staff encountered were polite and accommodating. Debra was especially welcoming.

The views are surreal, especially from the pool area.

Breakfast was amazing with a chef preparing our meals each morning. It was no problem for my dietary requirements to be accommodated.

The road mentioned in other reviews didn't bother us.

I will stay again.

Room Tip: Luxury Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    16
    2
    6
    5
See reviews for
4
42
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stunning view, friendly service and a very comfortable stay.

It would have been perfect if..
* there wasn't the noise from the road running past the house
* continental breakfast would include toast and jams besides the cereals and (very nice) fruit salad
* cooked breakfast was included in the rate. (Not a biggie, we like our continental breakfast, but considering the rate we paid, something that I believe could be included).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

My husband and I booked our accommodation via iPhone on our way home to Brisbane. We needed somewhere quiet and relaxed before completing our journey. We arrived to find that we were sharing this B&B with a family of 2 teenage girls. Hearing them frolicking in the pool was not a pleasant experience as we were really unable to (pardon the pun) drown out their noise. I do not believe this is the place to bring young children or teenagers. Rather it a place for a retreat with friends where you can basically have the whole place to yourselves. The accommodation was lovely, the bed superb. The breakfast truly delightful and the service extremely friendly and accommodating. The views, lovely. I would return but as part of a larger party of three other couples.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Four rooms and a common kitchen and dining room make this hotel excellent for those that are interested in the people staying there while watching the panoramic view of the coast. About five kilometers out of Byron Bay means that if you don't like cooking (which you are quite at liberty to do in the communal kitchen) you will be travelling to the Byron Restaurants and back. The breakfast provided is absolutely superb.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenGAtOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We only stayed here for one night, on our way up to the gold coast hinterland. We needed to break up the drive as we were travelling from port macquarie with our 5 month old daughter. The house was beautiful. The apartment we stayed in (we were 4 adults and the baby) was clean, comfortable and very quiet. The view from the dining area/pool area is stunning, and breakfast was delicious. Staff were so nice and friendly. The *only* thing that wasn't perfect is the proximity to the road below. You can't see the road at all, but you can hear the traffic. Seriously though, that is such a minor detail. This house would be FANTASTIC to rent out in its entirety among friends for a great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bido1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Lovely house taking in 180 degree view. Take some bubbles and nibbles to enjoy on the deck overlooking the pool and coastal view as the sun goes down. Would be a perfect place to stay at with 5 other couples. Brekky really lovely but for the price I resented having to pay even more for a cooked brekky. If that changed this place would be perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Full house, shared with a number of couples all attending the same wedding. The house location and layout is great, really enjoyed the feel of it. The view was to die for. The staff were on the
ball and provided wonderful service for the breakfast experience. The rooms were clean however the decor was outdated and could benefit from a refresh and update.
For the cost I would have expected very modern appointments.
The beds were very comfortable and the linen etc was in good condition.
A little bit of traffic noise and the sun greets you through the shutters at sun rise.

Room Tip: The cheaper room is just as nice if not better positioned than the more expense suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy204051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.5 mi away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
3.6 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#16 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.8 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summerhouse

Property: The Summerhouse
Address: 9 Coopers Shoot Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2479, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Summerhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Summerhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summerhouse Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing