We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views and lovely breakfast”
Review of The Summerhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Summerhouse
Ranked #25 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
wollongong
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great views and lovely breakfast”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at The Summerhouse for a long weekend in Byron Bay. The view to the ocean from the main living area was great. We didn't try out the pool however it looked nice. The breakfast was excellent especially the fresh fruit and the chef couldn't be more helpful. We stayed in the apartment on the first floor and would recommend rooms on the ground level as this room didn't have a balcony and the view was a little interrupted by the roof of the lower floor. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom nice with a large spa path.

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment on the first floor and would recommend rooms on the ground level as this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escape123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and The Summerhouse breakfast experience. Your kind words about the service received by our Chef is truly appreciated and have passed on your high praise. We look forward to accommodating you. Mark Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    16
    2
    6
    5
See reviews for
4
42
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a very enjoyable 3 nights in the superior suite and the bed and pillows were soooo comfortable. Janet and other staff were very welcoming and the breakfasts were brilliant with Byron fresh fruit and yoghurt. A great place to re-charge the batteries.

Room Tip: The superior suite with ensuite spa made it extra special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're pleased you had a very enjoyable 3 nights in the superior suite and found our staff were welcoming. Your compliments regarding the breakfasts have been passed on to The Summerhouse team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed in the Superior Suite with expansive views of the pacific ocean, Byron Bay lighthouse and beaches. One of the best room views I've ever experienced at sunrise. Staff were excellent and the breakfast was an amazing selection of local Byron Bay produce.

Room Tip: Superior room was spacious with private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of The Summerhouse - we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the expansive views of the pacific ocean, Byron Bay lighthouse and beaches.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Summerhouse.

Mark Wood - General Manager | The Summerhouse, ignite your senses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

DO NOT CHOOSE THIS AS A WEDDING VENUE!! The manager doubled the venue fee after we had signed a contract and paid a 25% deposit, even though there was NO clause in the contract to say it was subject to change. This would have amounted to an extra $1200. We felt completely taken advantage of and were sure there would be no end to other hidden costs. Not only that, they were extremely disorganised. I arrived for my appointment to view the property (which I confirmed earlier that day with the manager via email), and the onsite manager (who is actually very nice) had no idea who I was or why I was there. She had no idea when my wedding was. This gave me no confidence at all. Luckily we found a much bigger and brand new venue just up the road. It's a shame that the manager is so incompetent and is willing to risk the reputation of this lovely house to pocket a quick buck. I have reported the matter to the department of fair trading. DODGY DODGY DODGY.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LittleSnuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
The Summerhouse hosts many happy wedding celebrations - we are sorry on this occasion you decided to choose another venue and cancel with us four weeks from your wedding date.

A refund of your deposit was offered if your dates could be re booked, but at short notice this can be difficult.

Please note The Department of Fair Trading have advised there was no case because the cancellation period of the contract was breached.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitcham, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were so pleased with our Superior Suite at The Summerhouse that included a private spa, private balcony with amazing expansive view, the bed was from heaven; our Superior suite ambiance was unlike anything else I've experienced. A king room with a Moroccan style that's truly special. Service was perfect, the staff were friendly yet discreet. We stayed for a weekend that will be remembered, we look forward to returning to the stunning Summerhouse.

Room Tip: Superior Suite was quite large and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My boyfriend booked the Summerhouse for our overnight stay in Byron to show my parents the area who are visiting us from Scotland. On arrival we were greeted by Ailsa who showed us around the house and to our two rooms. My parents stayed in the deluxe room and we stayed in the luxury. Both very clean and spacious with stunning views of the bay.Although we were sharing the house with 3 other couples, most of the time it felt like we had the place to ourselves. The communal area was lovely with plenty of indoor and outdoor seating. Relaxing music being played throughout the day was a nice touch. When we went for a shower before heading out for dinner we discovered that our room had no hot water. Luckily we had access to my parents room to shower in. My boyfriend emailed Mark the manager who had the water fixed while we were out and so we had a hot shower for the morning. Very prompt service there which impressed us greatly! When we returned from dinner in the town noone was around and the 4 of us enjoyed the outdoor seating area with a few drinks. Breakfast did not have a huge selection: a table with muesli, a plate of fruit, water, fresh oj, milk and yoghurt. All tasty but could maybe benefit from pastries and cereals being added. Our rate included a hot breakfast which is usually $10 extra. It changes every morning and for us it was eggs any style with smoked salmon on an english muffin which myself, my boyfriend and my mum all enjoyed. My dad doesnt like eggs, salmon or muesli but Jean the chef made him toast when he requested it no problem at all. The fresh barista coffee was lovely and even had soy for me!

All in all the Summerhouse was a beautiful place to stay even if it was only for the night. All the staff we encountered were friendly and any problems were quickly and efficiently rectified. Will definitely be back next time we stay in Byron!

Room Tip: The two rooms we stayed on were on opposite sides of the house but both had views of the Bay and dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of The Summerhouse - we are so pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We are sorry you experienced issues with the hot water in your room, however we are glad we were able to rectify this quickly and that you were impressed by how the situation was handled.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Summerhouse next time you are in Byron Bay!

Mark Wood - General Manager | The Summerhouse, ignite your senses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had a great time at the Summerhouse! Mark, the Manager, is very friendly and made sure everything was taken care of. The place itself is gorgeous... beautiful big kitchen and balcony that overlooks the bay. It's a $18 taxi into town but that didn't prove to be an issue for us. Really friendly staff that made us some delicious breakfasts. The free muesli and freshly squeezed orange juice is fantastic as well! Definitely would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Summerhouse - we are delighted to receive such a high rating.

We are glad to hear to hear you were pleased with the accommodation and breakfast and found our staff friendly.

Thank you for your recommendation to friends and family, we hope to welcome you back to The Summerhouse in the near future.

Mark Wood - General Manager | The Summerhouse, ignite your senses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
3.6 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#13 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.5 mi away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Vista Byron Bay
La Vista Byron Bay
#1 of 1 in Ewingsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cavvanbah Beach House
Cavvanbah Beach House
#1 of 34 in Byron Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summerhouse

Property: The Summerhouse
Address: 9 Coopers Shoot Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2479, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Summerhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Summerhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summerhouse Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing