We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, friendly hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
“Great, friendly hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed at this hostel at the end of January this year. It was great, super friendly staff. It's a great set up, with the main area being right in the middle of all the rooms. Good party pretty much every night! I'll stay there next time I'm in Byron for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    76
    26
    12
    15
See reviews for
3
58
149
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed in an appartment (own kitchen, fridge, tv, balcony, bathroom) with 1 doubleroom and 1 4-bed room. It was clean and quiet big. Near to the hostel is a supermarket + bottle shop and you can BYO alcohol to the hostel :) the beach is little bit far but you can walk there about 15min. They have a free pick up to the hostel from the greyhound busstation.

Room Tip: The rooms in the "appartments" are vetry nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights in a double room which was more than fine for our needs. We were in one of the apartments and the room next to ours has 4 beds, so six in the apartment and we shared a bathroom, kitchen and lounge area. The room only has a fan so could get quite hot at night but the windows all have nets up so you can leave windows open as well. The kitchen wasn't fantastically equipped but it was okay. You have to rent crockery from the reception at $1 an item but you get it back on return.
The hostel runs various social nights, including an all you can eat BBQ for $10 and it was really good! I would recommend doing it, I was even fussy with my burger and they left it on the BBQ until I was happy, which was really nice of them. The price also includes a free drink across the road at one of the bars.
As we were in an apartment, we tended to socialise with the people in the apartment rather than gather on the large benches outside the kitchen but it was always busy. The apartments are much quieter.
The staff were really nice and make you aware of everything on check in, they even let us use facilities after we checked out as we were waiting for a bus.
If you wanted wifi, it is only available during reception hours during the office.
I would recommend staying here and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shjnmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

As hostels go, it's ok...I've stayed in better, but then it is Byron Bay, so I should expect to slum it a bit.

As with most hostels, your experience is very much dependent on the other guests' sociability and consideration, but there seems an effort at least to ensure a quiet down policy after hours with communal areas closed for use and signs telling people to be quiet.

I'm not sure what all the rooms were like, but mine had a fan rather than air conditioning, and when it's ridiculously hot, a fan is only really going to circulate hot air rather than cool it down. Also, the free wifi is only if you sit on the wall/steps outside the reception, which is not always that useful...but at least it's free.

On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and helpful and let me continue to use the showers and facilities whilst waiting for my evening flight, even though I had officially checked out. It is also a convenient distance to the beach and shops.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeripateticPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed over 4 nights after a hellish night in the arts factory. Staff very welcoming and happy to help where possible. $45 a night to stay in apartment style accommodation which worked out well with only WC and kitchen attached. Everything was clean and in working order and above what was expected of hostels. Cons Poor WIFi. Would definitely recommend to others good atmosphere until 10:30 when staff promptly shut down the party and move party goers on... Another plus to the place and it's staff.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Style18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

This hostel is a really nice place to stay, definitely one of the better ones! We paid an extra $5 a night to stay in the apartment style rooms! This was really worth it, comes with a nice bathroom and kitchen and living area with a tv and dining table! Staff our really friendly and the price seems to be in line with other hostels for this time of year,in fact probably better value!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Rooms are small but thats a good thing, means you dont really share with anymore than three other people. The apartments to the rear of the bunks are a little more expensive per night but you then get your own fridge and cooking facilties which can be a good thing as the kitchen gets busy like any hostel. Staff seemed ok with us although we did over hear someone else being spoken to out of turn which we didnt think was very nice especially in front of other guests. Facilties are clean and in good working order and pool is ok too. Very lively hostel with a good crowd. Great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Use the showers on the left hand side of the building (looking towards the pool) they are less tempe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#5 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
1.2 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 64 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Holiday Village

Property: Backpackers Holiday Village
Address: 116 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Backpackers Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Backpackers Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing