We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backpackers Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect hostel”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

5 minute walk to town, few more to the beach. So much stuff available to hire such as bikes and boards. Staff are uber friendly! Very helpful. Rooms are very good, working fans. Kitchen is huge! $10 for BBQ, free club entry and free drink in the club. Very reasonable and a perfect way to meet new people. Would recommend to everyone and everyone who stayed there said exactly the same thing.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexCoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    76
    26
    12
    15
See reviews for
3
59
152
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and really liked it. The place is cosy, nice and clean at a good rate plus you get picked up from greyhound and there's free wifi and free surf board hire! Good location opposite of Cheeky Monkeys as well - everything you need ! The only thing to critizise would be that the rooms are quite small and there are only four bed dorms. Still I would go back there for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missadventurelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a very loud Party Hostel which at this time i was not after but was willing to deal with it anyway as we turned up late. All in all however they did a good job in keeping the Party well away from some of the accommodation.

My only real complaint was the room which is more like a flat share with shared kitchen. Two bedrooms shared kitchen an Bathroom. No pots or pans whatsoever, no microwave or kettle for $100. Apparently you can leave a deposit...

Also, expect the staff to come and upsell things going on in an around the hostel when your in your room. I've experienced this before at some Hostels but usually in communal areas.

Twice a member of staff used a key to enter our flat and one time even entered our room when we were sleeping. He then went ahead to ask us if we wanted to go to the BBQ going on that night.

I found this to be completely unacceptable. When in any sort of accommodation a certain amount of privacy is warrant. Here Obviously not.

Room Tip: Choose another place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samwood24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed at this hostel at the end of January this year. It was great, super friendly staff. It's a great set up, with the main area being right in the middle of all the rooms. Good party pretty much every night! I'll stay there next time I'm in Byron for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed in an appartment (own kitchen, fridge, tv, balcony, bathroom) with 1 doubleroom and 1 4-bed room. It was clean and quiet big. Near to the hostel is a supermarket + bottle shop and you can BYO alcohol to the hostel :) the beach is little bit far but you can walk there about 15min. They have a free pick up to the hostel from the greyhound busstation.

Room Tip: The rooms in the "appartments" are vetry nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights in a double room which was more than fine for our needs. We were in one of the apartments and the room next to ours has 4 beds, so six in the apartment and we shared a bathroom, kitchen and lounge area. The room only has a fan so could get quite hot at night but the windows all have nets up so you can leave windows open as well. The kitchen wasn't fantastically equipped but it was okay. You have to rent crockery from the reception at $1 an item but you get it back on return.
The hostel runs various social nights, including an all you can eat BBQ for $10 and it was really good! I would recommend doing it, I was even fussy with my burger and they left it on the BBQ until I was happy, which was really nice of them. The price also includes a free drink across the road at one of the bars.
As we were in an apartment, we tended to socialise with the people in the apartment rather than gather on the large benches outside the kitchen but it was always busy. The apartments are much quieter.
The staff were really nice and make you aware of everything on check in, they even let us use facilities after we checked out as we were waiting for a bus.
If you wanted wifi, it is only available during reception hours during the office.
I would recommend staying here and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shjnmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

As hostels go, it's ok...I've stayed in better, but then it is Byron Bay, so I should expect to slum it a bit.

As with most hostels, your experience is very much dependent on the other guests' sociability and consideration, but there seems an effort at least to ensure a quiet down policy after hours with communal areas closed for use and signs telling people to be quiet.

I'm not sure what all the rooms were like, but mine had a fan rather than air conditioning, and when it's ridiculously hot, a fan is only really going to circulate hot air rather than cool it down. Also, the free wifi is only if you sit on the wall/steps outside the reception, which is not always that useful...but at least it's free.

On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and helpful and let me continue to use the showers and facilities whilst waiting for my evening flight, even though I had officially checked out. It is also a convenient distance to the beach and shops.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeripateticPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
1.2 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#32 of 65 in Byron Bay
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#19 of 65 in Byron Bay
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Bay YHA
Byron Bay YHA
#27 of 65 in Byron Bay
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Holiday Village

Property: Backpackers Holiday Village
Address: 116 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Backpackers Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Backpackers Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing