We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good party hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Not quite what we were after but it wasn't too bad. Very close to the bus stop but they still pick you up and show you round the town which is nice. They have all you can eat BBQ on Saturdays for $10 inc. free entry to club and free drink. Good if that's what you're after but we wanted to go elsewhere for dinner and this didn't go down too well with one staff member, we felt a bit like outsiders for not going so we wanted to completely avoid the place while it was going on. Other than that, the staff were friendly and helpful. 4 bed dorm was pretty basic but what you'd expect, could do with more plug sockets, because they were so close together, only two could fit in at a time because of international adapters. The courtyard is very loud but the music goes off strictly at half 10 which is good. Good wifi and plenty available to hire. Would recommend to party goers but not for the average couple

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank seosamh90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for Backpackers Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had a great stay at this hostel, and without knowing it we were upgraded to one of the apartments. 8 people sharing well equipped kitchen, bathroom and a tv area. The only thing was that the heat was unbearable in the beginning of March when we were there. There was also a lot of noise from people going out at night, but I guess thats why you visit Byron Bay? In total g great place to stay, good value for money :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Really enjoyed my two nighs at this hostel. Room was lovely and bathrooms were clean. The staff were friendly at there is a good atmosphere there. Hostel nights at cheeky monkeys are brilliant. Free bike hire is also really good.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank TippElle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

5 minute walk to town, few more to the beach. So much stuff available to hire such as bikes and boards. Staff are uber friendly! Very helpful. Rooms are very good, working fans. Kitchen is huge! $10 for BBQ, free club entry and free drink in the club. Very reasonable and a perfect way to meet new people. Would recommend to everyone and everyone who stayed there said exactly the same thing.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AlexCoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and really liked it. The place is cosy, nice and clean at a good rate plus you get picked up from greyhound and there's free wifi and free surf board hire! Good location opposite of Cheeky Monkeys as well - everything you need ! The only thing to critizise would be that the rooms are quite small and there are only four bed dorms. Still I would go back there for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missadventurelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a very loud Party Hostel which at this time i was not after but was willing to deal with it anyway as we turned up late. All in all however they did a good job in keeping the Party well away from some of the accommodation.

My only real complaint was the room which is more like a flat share with shared kitchen. Two bedrooms shared kitchen an Bathroom. No pots or pans whatsoever, no microwave or kettle for $100. Apparently you can leave a deposit...

Also, expect the staff to come and upsell things going on in an around the hostel when your in your room. I've experienced this before at some Hostels but usually in communal areas.

Twice a member of staff used a key to enter our flat and one time even entered our room when we were sleeping. He then went ahead to ask us if we wanted to go to the BBQ going on that night.

I found this to be completely unacceptable. When in any sort of accommodation a certain amount of privacy is warrant. Here Obviously not.

Room Tip: Choose another place...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samwood24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed at this hostel at the end of January this year. It was great, super friendly staff. It's a great set up, with the main area being right in the middle of all the rooms. Good party pretty much every night! I'll stay there next time I'm in Byron for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.3 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#5 of 65 in Byron Bay
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 65 in Byron Bay
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#16 of 65 in Byron Bay
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Holiday Village

Address: 116 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: £28 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Backpackers Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Backpackers Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing