We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If staying in Byron, this is the place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed here for 4 night in a 4 bed dorm, and had an amazing time. Its a very social place and perfect for meeting other people and have a grate time, but at 10.30 it has to be quiet so if you want to take a early night it is not a problem (they enforce this every night).

A bonus is that you can hire surfboard there for free, which is great when in Byron!
The staff was very helpful and friendly, and helped us book different activities to do while we where there.

Really recommend this place!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnetteAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at 4 girl shared dorm for 3 nights. My agent booked it for me for $32/night

***Thumbs up*** :)
- nice environment
- good facilities: snack/soft drink vending machine/ self service laundry/ BBQ / Swimming pool
- extremely friendly and helpful staff. (they remember I requested for lower bunk bed, they even come back to ask me if I would like to move to the lower bunk after X check out)
- Super clean kitchen
- everywhere is so clean.
- free bike/ surf board etc. Just pay the deposit
- right next to the supermarket (woolworth) and cinema and cheap pub
- they asking everything for deposit. For example if u want plate and knife, $1/each. Bedsheet and pillow cas as well as blanket all together for $30. They will give all your money back when u check out. I am totally cool with it because this is how they keep everything clean and nice
- movie room
- free unlimited wifi during office hours 8am to 9pm I think
- opposite to cheeky monkey cheap meal bar ($5-7 meal with BIG portion)
- they sing , drink and party Every Night!!!!! Seriously, every night!!! But staff will kick every party one out after 10:30pm. I mean they will nicely transfer them to the opposite bar call cheeky money. So u will have fun and a quiet sleep afterwards.

***thumbs down*** :(
- distant to beach. Took me around 7 minutes walk to the beach. However, everything around beach are expensive. So I can understand that.
- oh, I dont know the bird name, but they sounds pretty loud over night. But this bird just happens everywhere in Australia.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Crystal Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I love Byron Bay, one of my favorite places while doing the east coast! Holiday village was recommended by a friend and I am glad i listened. Plenty of space in the rooms and pretty clean for a hostel on the coast, Nice and close to everything as well, Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My friend and I had a wonderful stay. The apartment rooms are really good (for a backpackers).
As far as I'm aware the rooms are cleaned daily (not all that well, but it keeps the place nice).
The apartment, which was two rooms of four with a shared kitchen, bathroom and lounge room, was worth the extra few dollars a night.
It became a bit tiring not being able to relax in the hostel during the day and night because there was always someone sleeping or getting changed in the room etc. (as in any share accommodation). However, in beautiful Byron Bay, having to wander around town all day is not exactly a chore.
The bikes for free use by guests are not great quality so don't count on them and beware of Chace, a Canadian guy on reception, he's a bit of a jerk. But all in all, for a backpackers this is great value for money. No issue with sound and we felt safe (even for two young girls), great location, great facilities, great communal area, almost everyone there is lovely, and there's just a great overall vibe.

Room Tip: Go for the apartments. There are 2 rooms of 4 each to share a bathroom and living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsgosydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We moved to Holiday Village after staying one night in the Backpackers inn as they didn't have any space for another night. This was a really great hostel with friendly staff, free WiFi and internet on the computers in reception. We stayed in a 4-bed female dorm which we had to ourselves for two nights. There were no lockers but the reception was more than happy to look after our valuables when we needed them to. Free hire of surfboards, bodyboards and bikes was a plus and the staff were really helpful when helping us plan our activities in Byron Bay. Kitchen facilities, outdoor seating area and bathrooms were great and always clean. Good location opposite Cheeky Monkeys, near the greyhound bus stop and near Woolworths. Best Aus hostel we've stayed in so far, would recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Holiday Village is a great spot. Pretty central, and not too big a stroll to the beach. Has a B.Ball court and the BBQs are killer. The people that work there are really friendly and helpful. Seem to be a lot of Canadians. YAY!!!

Room Tip: Just don't get a room with my buddy. He snores.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Got there late on a Saturday, without a reservation. Got an 8 share apartment, for $40 a night, and it was beyond awful. Everybody was drunk, the place was an absolute mess. Floors were disgusting. A few staff members were staying long-term in the same room, and the place looked like a tornado just hit. Not recommended whatsoever.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruinsfan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#8 of 66 in Byron Bay
408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.3 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers
Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers
#34 of 66 in Byron Bay
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#5 of 66 in Byron Bay
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#17 of 66 in Byron Bay
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
#27 of 66 in Byron Bay
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Holiday Village

Address: 116 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: £37 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Backpackers Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing