We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order the cappuccino ”
Review of Beach Byron Bay

Beach Byron Bay
Ranked #49 of 219 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Beach Byron Bay celebrates and showcases the best of beach dining with a passion for great food, seasonality and a relaxed atmosphere. Beach, it’s what makes us unique.
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

We came here for breakfast. I'm not normally a big coffee drinker, but I had three cappuccinos in an hour and a half they were just perfect. I had musli and yogurt as well and it was delicious. Such a beautiful view as well

Thank Keryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, General Manager at Beach Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thanks Keryn,
We are glad you enjoyed you coffee and breakfast with us, which are also available from out kiosk to take away if you are in hurry. We hope you will next time you will have the opportunity to have a lunch or dinner at Beach too. As we try to offer something even more unique in terms of food and service at these times of day and hope you'll enjoy these just as much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 127 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2017

We recently chose to have breakfast here to celebrate our anniversary as the location is perfect being right on the beach! however, both food and service were extremely disappointing. When my husband explained that he is allergic to any kind of pork and meat products the waitress seemed to make a problem of it and I noticed that the chefs in the kitchen laughing at the suggestion! The food generally lacks taste and care. Our friend ordered the French Toast, which came garnished with sprouts, 2 thick pieces of bread, which looked dry and no syrup of any kind. Our other order was pretty much a slop of tomatoes, chickpeas and runny eggs. Also coffee luke warm! It feels like too much attitude and not enough care or thought about the food and service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Seafolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, General Manager at Beach Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I can assure you we do take all dietary requirements very seriously and endeavour to meet every customer's specific requirements. In a town like Byron Bay and a restaurant as busy as ours, we receive special dietary requests like yours every single day. Therefore, this is not something which our floor staff would be unused to and certainly not something the chefs would be amused by. The egg dish you had is a traditional Venetian recipe and is meant to be a wet dish. We are a little confused also about your comment on the French toast, as this not the way we were serving this special. Our French Toast is done with a berry compote, goat cheese cream and spiced nuts with a few decorative sprouts. Is it possible you friend asked for these accompaniments to be left off, as we have never served French toast with just sprouts? We are very surprised and disappointed that you feel we let you down and would sincerely like to know more about your concerns so that we can rectify any internal issues. I can assure you we care deeply and our senior staff, management, chefs and the owners are extremely professional passionate. Therefore while we realise in a busy restaurant with over 45 staff not everything goes right all the time. However we don't take anything or anyone for granted and welcome all feedback (good or bad) and always critique our performance and strive for continuous improvement and respond to every review we receive. If you would be willing to help us by contacting us at enquiries@beachbyronbay.com.au, we would welcome the opportunity to personally contact you to try to find out more about this, in order to apologise and to rectify any issues which may have contributed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We had lunch here recently and were very disappointed with the limited menu choices, the small serves and pretty average food quality. The quality of the food is not commensurate with the prices charged. Great view but that is what you are paying for.

1  Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, General Manager at Beach Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hi Barry, we were very surprised and disappointed by your comments. Our food is all made fresh from local produce using traditional northern Italian cooking techniques. We obviously can never please everybody but as you will see from our 4 star rating over 67% of reviewers rate us as good or excellent and we have recently received a number of national food awards. So while we appreciate that what we do is not going to be everybody's cup of tea. we can however assure you that the view is not factored into our prices, which are based purely on the quality of our produce, the calibre of of our staff and the overheads in operating a large restaurant with a landmark location, in a town where property and rental prices are some of the highest in the country. We are very sorry you were disappointed but with 180 other restaurants and cafes in Byron, there is sure to be something for everyone and we hope you find something you personally enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

As regular visitors to Byron and with a few years behind us..,ok decades then,most of us have eaten at just once humble cafe hundreds of times to enjoy the view and the simple breakfasts .A change of owners has led to the care making a journey significantly more upmarket. The new decor is excellent and the service service and attitude likewise. for myself I thought the breakfast menu was a little overcomplicated but I would regard this as a minor issue overall

Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, General Manager at Beach Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hi Peter,
Thank you for you nice review. For your information we have not had a change of ownership and my wife and I have operated this venue for over 12 years and had restaurants in Byron for nearly 25 years. Over the last 12 years the business has undergone a number of revamps and concept changes as we try to keep pace with market demands and dinning trends. When we started the Beach Cafe their were 60 cafes and restaurants in Byron however today their are 180 food businesses in town. Last year after conducting extensive market research we made the decision to rebrand the business and move out of the crowded cafe market to change to a restaurant format. This has been a huge success and was just last month rewarded with two major national awards. Firstly, recognised in Australia's best wine lists by Gourmet Traveller and our first chef's Hat from the Good Food Guide, making us the only Hatted restaurant in Byron Bay. We realise this is a change from the old Beach cafe concept but we have been encouraged by the response we received from the market generally and hope that what we now offer at Beach Byron Bay is something befitting our spectacular location as a destination restaurant, using all fresh local produce and make everything we sell including all pastas by hand from scratch. I hope this answers your query about the changes since your last visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

We were recommended Beach by the resort we were staying in and we were not disappointed. Booking is a must! The view over the beach is stunning. We were not that hungry when we arrived but the food was so spectacular we ended up having 3 courses. One of the best Australian restaurants we have eaten in.

Thank GRANT AND LISA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, General Manager at Beach Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely compliments Grant and Lisa. We wish you all the best for your time in Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beach Byron Bay also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to Beach Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing