We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill 😐”
Review of Beach Byron Bay

Beach Byron Bay
Ranked #50 of 218 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Beach Byron Bay celebrates and showcases the best of beach dining with a passion for great food, seasonality and a relaxed atmosphere. Beach, it’s what makes us unique.
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

We are regulars to Byron & despite the pretty exterior & great spot, the coffee size has been reduced to ridiculously small - just larger than a shot (same PRICE tho!). Seriously just makes you look stingy. takeaway chips we were also very stingy and expensive we got later in the day AND made you pay for a half filled sauce. Brekky was nice but service was aloof. The view is great but you can sit on the beach right in front of it and get an even better one! Bring your keep cup and save your money.
Also the smoking staff out the front are not a good look.

1  Thank RosieMoore2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, General Manager at Beach Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Smokers are often an issue these days and staff are asked tp go 15 meters from the food service area, which we will take action if they do not. But the path back to the caravan park does go near the rear of our restaurant where staff often duck out for a quick smoke and we will bring this up with relevant staff, thank you. Our take away cup sizes actually changed 2 years ago. This was done in order to match the milk to coffee ratio in a standard sized latte or flat while served in a porcelain cup (in a cafe or restaurant). I believe this was a market driven response which was adopted by Byron Coffee Company, AlPress, Genovese and many other market leaders in the quality end of the coffee market . We do still offer larger sizes as well as discounts, if you bring your own coffee cup. We still use the same volume of coffee and it takes the same amount of labour time but uses a small amount less milk. Never-the-less, we appreciate your feedback and will address the soggy chips and where staff smoke on their breaks, so as to be more mindful of our customers as they leave the restaurant. We hope to see you back again, next time you are in Byron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

Spoke to staff to book a special table to celebrate our Anniversary as we became engaged there two years ago- they weren't interested in acknowledging this!

We attempted to order smoked salmon with our scrambled eggs as have enjoyed it here before- 'we don't have smoked salmon'!!! What cafe doesn't have smoked salmon on breakfast menu?

Coffee was very good. Service average. Was better before the renos

Thank derek w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, General Manager at Beach Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Hi,
We are very sorry for any confusion about booking a special table for breakfast. However, we do not take bookings for breakfast anymore. However, if you hd contacted us directly (via web site or phone) in advance we would have definitely tried to make this anniversary of your engagement more special for you.
In terms of farmed salmon we chose not use this product generally for environment and sustainability reasons. There many places all over Australia now also taking this approach. Although, I know of about half a dozen places in Byron who also don't offer smoked salmon on their menus. There are however, certainly plenty of places doing more traditional Aussie style of breakfast menu. At Beach we aspire to be unique and only use the freshest local produce and make everything ourselves.We are glad you enjoyed the local Byron Bay coffee though and would encourage you to try lunch or dinner next time,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

I didn't realise this cafe is for the health nuts. I ordered the French Toast and it came with all this healthy stuff on top, and i asked for bacon and it was the healthy bacon type which had no oil on it. This wasn't a bad thing, It was just a different experience for me. And it was all 5 star food. The views of the bay was a bonus. The staff were very friendly and the prices good, so couldn't complain.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, General Manager at Beach Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Hi Samantha,
It's refreshing to hear that someone who stepped outside their normal breakfast comfort zone, actually found choosing something, more healthy from fresh local produce driven menu a rewarding experience. We try to encapsulate what Byron bay is all about and pay homage to the beautiful scenery and people who live and visit Byron for these reasons and our lifestyle.W're so glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you some time for lunch or dinner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Beautiful venue on a balmy evening overlooking the ocean and watching the sun set. Our table service was wonderful and cheerful. Food was sensational, and I must add a most amazing wine list. Full marks for making a night to remember.

Thank uniongap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, General Manager at Beach Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your special occasion. While Beach is probably better known as a breakfast and lunch venue. We honestly believe there is nothing better than enjoying a night under the stars watching the sunset over the bay while savouring a beautiful meal with one of our delicious wines and even better with good friends.We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

We came here for breakfast. I'm not normally a big coffee drinker, but I had three cappuccinos in an hour and a half they were just perfect. I had musli and yogurt as well and it was delicious. Such a beautiful view as well

Thank Keryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, General Manager at Beach Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thanks Keryn,
We are glad you enjoyed you coffee and breakfast with us, which are also available from out kiosk to take away if you are in hurry. We hope you will next time you will have the opportunity to have a lunch or dinner at Beach too. As we try to offer something even more unique in terms of food and service at these times of day and hope you'll enjoy these just as much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beach Byron Bay also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to Beach Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing