We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice environment but far from the main area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice environment but far from the main area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed there 2 nights. The staff was friendly, the atmosphere was nice. It is not super clean, especialy the bathrooms and the kitchen.
Common areas are missing room for everybody and we were in low season...
The cool thing is you can choose between a normal dorm room or a tipi dorm room with a fire in the middle in winter.
Nice lake around and pool in the center of the hostel.
Situation a bit far from the center and during high season, expect huge traffic jam, as there is only one road.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank habitantdum0nde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Thanks Habintandum for your response! It sounds like you had a pretty good time overall, so what can I say! Thank you - happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    152
    108
    61
    56
See reviews for
5
98
131
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrnambool, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here for four nights over splendour, the location is beautiful everyone we met at the backpackers was nice and friendly including the staff. There are turkeys and water dragons running around so cool. Would def book again had such a fun time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Thanks Trent - glad you enjoyed all of our property, including the wild life! Please let us know if you return again, we would love to say hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hostel was very quirky and cool the way it was set out and decorated. We stayed in little huts with boardwalks to each hut, it beautiful if youre an outdoor person. The kitchen is very small and very crowded but the pool area was nice, they had lizards and chickens casually walking around the hostel which was quite amusing. The bathrooms were clean and the hostel is only a 5 minute walk to the town and beach. I personally didnt like Byron Bay but we met some cool people, and if you do the tour to Nimbin...be aware that the bus driver is off his bloody rocket, we thought the bus was going to topple over! Overall not bad for a couple of nights stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Average hostel? No way Kayley, you have given us a very high rating with your comments! Thank you very much! Gotta watch them Nimbin tours....but they are nothing to do with us! Happy travels :-) Hope to see you again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and got all of about 6 hours sleep. We understand that the weekend we went was Splenda and was always going to be busy but we thought we may at least get a little sleep. The room smelt dirty, and was apparently an 'open room' as every other person in that hostel seemed to come and go to our room as they pleased. After our first horrific night (being kept up till the early hours by the animals in our bedroom) we complained and asked to be moved rooms, only to get shoved aside by the reception staff who we were lucky to get a grunt out of, she then implied we were cheap skates as the room we were given was the cheapest in the hostel and that's pretty much what we should expect. We were in the space room the way and it was decorated, I wouldn't even put a child through the hell of having to look at the poorly drawn cartoon aliens on the walls. All in all if your a weed smoking hippy this is your paradise, everyone else.. Hell.

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JadeH92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Hi Jade,

Sorry to hear you had such a bad experience at the hostel when you stayed. I will address the staff attitude who were rostered at the time, as this is unacceptable. Please let us now if we can make it up to you in anyway and provide a better experience in the future. Happy travels :-).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Byron Bay hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We (my husband and I both in our 40s) stayed here for 3 nights over the Splendour weekend. We had the love shack with private ensuite. Room was nice and cosy and bathroom was big with a fridge. Not much storage, a little noisy at night (take ear plugs), although it was Splendour weekend. We loved our stay and met many people from all parts of the world. Kitchen was fabulous and clean, shuttle bus was great although the walk into town is good. Chilled out place and staff cleaned up really well after the mess of the night before. We will definitely come back. Best place to relax and get away, meet people with easy walk into town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Thank you guys for an awesome response and feedback. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and we really do look forward to hosting you again :- )
Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

So, this is the story. It's a really nice hostel, the best one in Byron Bay after seeing Nomads and Main Beach Backpackers. The cafeteria is cool, the kitchens are good, recreational areas and all the types of rooms are good. It could've been cleaner though. The camping space is big and it's an eco-friendly place for what it's worth. My friends and I stayed in a teepee (the pentagon) and then we tried to camp but we got kicked out because we had brought some stuff from a trip to Nimbin. We were not even "using" that stuff, it was just on sight. I've seen so many backpackers actually breaking a rule that has to do with that stuff in that same hostel in front of the managers and not been even told off by them. We didn't get a refund for what we payed for. It seems the owner rather make more money when times are busy. The Blues Fest and long weekend were happening at that time, all the hostels were already booked because of those two events. The owner didn't care about that situation and we ended up sleeping in the streets because there was no other way, everything was booked and couchsurfer hosts were not answering our requests. We even got assaulted on the third day of sleeping outside by a junkie. I wish this was a joke, and I also wish I could rate this backpackers higher but I rather not after seeing how it's all about money with these guys. Quite hypocritical since they want to reflect an opposite kind of vibe.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrisHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Hi Cris,
Thank you so much for all the positive comments you made - we love them! I am really sorry about your situation that you were asked to leave (thrown out would indicate we picked you up and threw you out - not the case!) Marijuana is illegal in Australia, you may have used it in other properties, you may have even used it if front of the managers of those properties. We do not condone marijuana use at the Arts Factory - the owners have no hands on operation of the property, it is left with us managers. If you were asked to leave for an illegal activity, it has nothing to do with profit or generating money - it is simply the managers doing their job.I am sorry to hear of the bad time you had out on the streets, but it comes back to your own choices, so ultimately your responsibility. Happy travels to you and your friends :-).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Its an average hostel, kind of something different. Liked that they had a cafe with healthy juices and food. And the bathrooms were nice. But I am not impressed by the rest, maybe it would be different if you stay there for a while.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Thanks for your review Therese, glad to read the positive aspects of your stay. Also sorry to hear there were some parts you did not enjoy. Happy travels, and please come see us at reception if you return and would like to have a chat about how we can enhance your stay! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#5 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 64 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.8 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#22 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Property: The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Address: Skinners Shoot Rd | Arts Factory Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arts Factory Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing