We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfectly suited hostel for Byron Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Arriving at arts factory you come in to a large car park and a very unique and hippie style backpackers. I was shown to my 4 bed dorm by a member of staff and was delighted to see a very unique layout of a hostel. The rooms are set up as teepees or cowboy wagon style dorms.
The hostel is set back from the main street of byron but only by around 5 mins walking. The vibe at the hostel is relaxed, chilled and friendly. As most people will have seen this hostel on the new inbetweeners movie, the hostel is very similiar nd enjoyable to be at.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James2516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Thanks for your awesome review James, glad you enjoyed your stay! Also happy to see your comment about us "starring" in the In Betweeners, we are chuffed about that!

Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

I was here just as the backpacking scene was picking up for the summer and it was very busy.

For me this was all good but for others who want a decent nights sleep it could be a bad thing.

This place is also quite far away from the main town but they offer a free shuttle service that runs quite late.

Room Tip: priave room if you want a decent nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lookitskris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Hi LookitsKris!

Thanks for taking the time to review us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay!

It can be noisy at times, I will get onto the night team to be mindful of this.

Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This is a great hostel but the island retreats are very very cold slept with a woollen blanket a sheet and 2 doonas and was still freezing I am actually sick now from how cold it was.

Staff are very friendly and kitchen was clean but a bit small the wood fire in the common area was the only way to get warm unless you went across to the Buddha bar which a lot of ppl do.

Lady on the tour desk wasn't much help it's like she didn't want to be there.

Worth the $32 per night had a great time but would only visit in summer due to being so cold in winter.

Cafe on site with $6 dinners was a great change if u didn't want to cook.

No TV room at this hostel!!!

OVERALL WOULD GIVE A 8 OUT OF 10

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2014

Thanks Marcus, so sad to hear you were very cold! These rooms are new in 2014, so we may have to review the heating, how about an electric blanket to warm it up? Loved your other comments, hope to see you back some time,- come see us in summer! Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Although Arts Factory is a bit outdated I would highly recomend it to backpacers. When you enter the hostel it's like you've been transfer to the 70s. It's a hippy place with great organic caffe downstairs. I totally loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2014

Thanks Maja, we love your response - thank you so much! Happy travels :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed there 2 nights. The staff was friendly, the atmosphere was nice. It is not super clean, especialy the bathrooms and the kitchen.
Common areas are missing room for everybody and we were in low season...
The cool thing is you can choose between a normal dorm room or a tipi dorm room with a fire in the middle in winter.
Nice lake around and pool in the center of the hostel.
Situation a bit far from the center and during high season, expect huge traffic jam, as there is only one road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank habitantdum0nde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2014

Thanks Habintandum for your response! It sounds like you had a pretty good time overall, so what can I say! Thank you - happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here for four nights over splendour, the location is beautiful everyone we met at the backpackers was nice and friendly including the staff. There are turkeys and water dragons running around so cool. Would def book again had such a fun time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Trent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2014

Thanks Trent - glad you enjoyed all of our property, including the wild life! Please let us know if you return again, we would love to say hello!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hostel was very quirky and cool the way it was set out and decorated. We stayed in little huts with boardwalks to each hut, it beautiful if youre an outdoor person. The kitchen is very small and very crowded but the pool area was nice, they had lizards and chickens casually walking around the hostel which was quite amusing. The bathrooms were clean and the hostel is only a 5 minute walk to the town and beach. I personally didnt like Byron Bay but we met some cool people, and if you do the tour to Nimbin...be aware that the bus driver is off his bloody rocket, we thought the bus was going to topple over! Overall not bad for a couple of nights stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2014

Average hostel? No way Kayley, you have given us a very high rating with your comments! Thank you very much! Gotta watch them Nimbin tours....but they are nothing to do with us! Happy travels :-) Hope to see you again some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#12 of 34 in Byron Bay
244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.5 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 65 in Byron Bay
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
0.8 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#8 of 65 in Byron Bay
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Address: Skinners Shoot Rd | Arts Factory Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: £33 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arts Factory Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing