We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FREE FOOD!! why wouldnt you stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I honestly loved this back packers! you get a free dinner everynight, you get cocktail hour so cheaper drinks at certain times, think it was 5-7 or something? i stayed in the 10 bed girls doorm, was awesome we met so many people and ended up staying for 2 weeks because it was that good. staff were lovely , pool was great, location was amazing, the beach was incredible also! i would stay here time and time again. you must goto cheekymonkeys and dance on the tables and get a pie from the pie shop opposite x

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harriet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed at Aqaurius in January 2013 and absolutely loved it. We booked into a double room for our first night as there were no spaces left in the dorms. It had a comfy bed and a ceiling fan but that was pretty much it. It was also attached to a dorm room, which we were aware of before booking but it's a bit of a weird arrangement. Fortunately the people in the dorm were all lovely, and we moved into that dorm room the next night as soon as there was space. The dorm was pretty big, had an en suite bathroom, a separate sink and a balcony area.
The laundry area is pretty small considering how many people are in the hostel, if you're in a rush to do any washing, which we were, I would suggest going to a Launderette. We had a pretty small load, but because there wasn't any room on the washing line to dry them we had to use the tumble driers after they'd been washed. The driers weren't great and we ended up using one 4 times before the clothes were dry enough.

The hostel itself has an awesome atmosphere, Byron is a party place and this hostel knows how to party!
The bar area is wicked, we were given a free drink each on our first night and every night offers free dinners to those staying in the hostel. I've experienced many free breakfasts etc in hostels around Oz but not many free dinners so wasn't expecting much. I was really surprised that it's a pretty sizeable portion, tastes yummy and best of all, you don't have to do any washing up! If you were to use the kitchen, it's pretty big and had a lot of utensils.
The hostel is in a great location, minutes from the gorgeous beach and right in the town centre.
The only problem we had was when we had booked to get the hostel van to take us to the Greyhound bus when we left. The van driver was just a traveller working for the hostel, she'd been out partying the night before, in fact she'd been partying with us the night before - she overslept and had to be woken up by the reception staff. It meant that we actually missed our greyhound bus, but fortunately and lucky for her, there was space for us on the next one as it's a busy route! Apart from that - which wasn't really anything to do with the hostel itself - we had an awesome stay at Acquarius and would highly reccomend anyone visiting Byron to stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shootingstar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed in a 10 bed, all girl dorm for three nights in mid February. Expected it to be very noisy but the room was split over two levels and everyone was very considerate so it was easy to sleep if you wanted to. The rooms were so clean and very spacious, the staff were also amazing and very helpful when my bus broke down and I ended up arriving pretty late. Location wise - it was less than two minutes walk from the beach which was great during the day, but it was on the other end of the main road from Woody's and Cheeky Monkey's which was a bit of a pain coming back late at night whilst drunk.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
Thank TheLilTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Had an amazing three nights at this hostel. The rooms are well set up with back yard sitting areas and bathroom / shower in each room. The dinner is included with the purchase of a drink from the bar and is actually quite good. The hostel staff work hard to organize activities in the bar and create a good environment. This place was a lot of fun and a great choice for solo travelers!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had the upstairs room with ensure and balcony! Bed very comfortable! Fans and tv worked well. Also had small fridge tea coffee etc. plenty of room although very dated was comfortable! Only drawback was the noise at night. Quietened by midnight though! Beer was flat and baseman didn't give a rats even when we bought a jug of it! We are over 50 and still found this a great place to stay overall! Excellent location. We checked out other Bp nearby which seemed crowded and had less to offer! Very happy at Aquarius! Kitchen was filthy but not the staff's fault! Some people ate just inconsiderate! Good kitchen!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandyandbazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

People and activities were great here, the facilities were pretty dirty though, even for a hostel. The shower looked like it hadn't ever been cleaned properly and the room was covered in dust. Overall had a good stay.

Room Tip: The "private" two bed rooms are not even worth it, walls are paper thin. Just go for a sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Spent a month staying in hostels going up the easy coast, this was by far the best hostel I stayed at out of many. Free dinners, spacious rooms, clean bathrooms, great shower! And our room had a balcony which was awesome. Cheap drinks and a good pool area. So easy to meet people. And five minutes to the beach. And the staff were so friendly. Can't say enough! The kitchen was alright, but the rest more than made up for it. I love Byron, I plan to stay here every time im in town.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 33 in Byron Bay
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#32 of 65 in Byron Bay
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
1.2 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#5 of 65 in Byron Bay
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Backpackers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers Motel

Address: 16 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: £38 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aquarius Backpackers Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay we have a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets. From self-contained apartments, budget private rooms and spacious dorm rooms. You should be able to find a room to put your head down and get some rest after a busy day of shopping, surfing and soaking up the unique Byron Bay atmosphere. Free overnight off street parking and free baggage storage (max 12hrs) is available to Aquarius guests. We also have an onsite security guard after hours to help you if any issues should arise or for late check in's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing