We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here in April, we stayed in a private room within a dorm. Thought this was a little weird but was more than adequate. The bathroom was situated in the dorm as well but that's what a shared bathroom means. The staff picked us up off the greyhound bus which was perfect and we managed to get straight into our room at 8:30am!

The evening entertainment is good with loads of prizes to be won! Think the free dinner is also amazing !!!

If I came back to Byron I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    104
    54
    24
    22
See reviews for
5
62
91
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Great hostel! Loved the welcoming atmosphere downstairs. We just dropped our stuff off and went straight to the bar for a fairly cheap drink and a lovely dinner FOR FREE! Nice gesture and great idea to get people together. We loved the Trivia night. The host was really great! Rooms are very spacious and the security guard is on his game for sure ;) Would always come back!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phillipa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We were just in time for a free arrival cocktail (score :) and got settled in a frangipani room (private room with only facilities shared) it was descent sized, looked clean and even though the beds weren't the most comfy ones, they were good enough. The staff was very friendly and we did get free food when we bought our drink. Prices for drinks are definitely good for anyone's budget as well. The food wasn't great but can't complain about a free meal and it was again, good enough. Our room was close to te bar area but we couldn't hear a thing in our room and when people were drinking and partying in the hallway or their room, security nipped it in the butt straight away. The only thing that bothered me was (as all these places have paper walls) that a group of people decided to sit right under our room and chat & laugh away very loudly from when the bar closed until about 5am. Security did nothing. But, I forgot to bring my ear plugs, shame on me. The shared bathroom was a nice one tho I was unlucky enough to have someone before me not leaving it behind very clean so I do think it was clean enough that morning, just not when I got to use it. But that says something about the guests at that time, not the cleanliness of the place. So all in all, not a great stay but good enough. I have to admit I haven't stayed in many backpackers and this has once again confirmed that I'm getting old and need my piece and quiet :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I honestly loved this back packers! you get a free dinner everynight, you get cocktail hour so cheaper drinks at certain times, think it was 5-7 or something? i stayed in the 10 bed girls doorm, was awesome we met so many people and ended up staying for 2 weeks because it was that good. staff were lovely , pool was great, location was amazing, the beach was incredible also! i would stay here time and time again. you must goto cheekymonkeys and dance on the tables and get a pie from the pie shop opposite x

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harriet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed at Aqaurius in January 2013 and absolutely loved it. We booked into a double room for our first night as there were no spaces left in the dorms. It had a comfy bed and a ceiling fan but that was pretty much it. It was also attached to a dorm room, which we were aware of before booking but it's a bit of a weird arrangement. Fortunately the people in the dorm were all lovely, and we moved into that dorm room the next night as soon as there was space. The dorm was pretty big, had an en suite bathroom, a separate sink and a balcony area.
The laundry area is pretty small considering how many people are in the hostel, if you're in a rush to do any washing, which we were, I would suggest going to a Launderette. We had a pretty small load, but because there wasn't any room on the washing line to dry them we had to use the tumble driers after they'd been washed. The driers weren't great and we ended up using one 4 times before the clothes were dry enough.

The hostel itself has an awesome atmosphere, Byron is a party place and this hostel knows how to party!
The bar area is wicked, we were given a free drink each on our first night and every night offers free dinners to those staying in the hostel. I've experienced many free breakfasts etc in hostels around Oz but not many free dinners so wasn't expecting much. I was really surprised that it's a pretty sizeable portion, tastes yummy and best of all, you don't have to do any washing up! If you were to use the kitchen, it's pretty big and had a lot of utensils.
The hostel is in a great location, minutes from the gorgeous beach and right in the town centre.
The only problem we had was when we had booked to get the hostel van to take us to the Greyhound bus when we left. The van driver was just a traveller working for the hostel, she'd been out partying the night before, in fact she'd been partying with us the night before - she overslept and had to be woken up by the reception staff. It meant that we actually missed our greyhound bus, but fortunately and lucky for her, there was space for us on the next one as it's a busy route! Apart from that - which wasn't really anything to do with the hostel itself - we had an awesome stay at Acquarius and would highly reccomend anyone visiting Byron to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shootingstar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed in a 10 bed, all girl dorm for three nights in mid February. Expected it to be very noisy but the room was split over two levels and everyone was very considerate so it was easy to sleep if you wanted to. The rooms were so clean and very spacious, the staff were also amazing and very helpful when my bus broke down and I ended up arriving pretty late. Location wise - it was less than two minutes walk from the beach which was great during the day, but it was on the other end of the main road from Woody's and Cheeky Monkey's which was a bit of a pain coming back late at night whilst drunk.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank TheLilTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Had an amazing three nights at this hostel. The rooms are well set up with back yard sitting areas and bathroom / shower in each room. The dinner is included with the purchase of a drink from the bar and is actually quite good. The hostel staff work hard to organize activities in the bar and create a good environment. This place was a lot of fun and a great choice for solo travelers!

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 66 in Byron Bay
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.6 mi away
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
0.2 mi away
Byron Bay YHA
Byron Bay YHA
#28 of 66 in Byron Bay
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Backpackers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers Motel

Property: Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Address: 16 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aquarius Backpackers Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay we have a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets. From self-contained apartments, budget private rooms and spacious dorm rooms. You should be able to find a room to put your head down and get some rest after a busy day of shopping, surfing and soaking up the unique Byron Bay atmosphere. Free overnight off street parking and free baggage storage (max 12hrs) is available to Aquarius guests. We also have an onsite security guard after hours to help you if any issues should arise or for late check in's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing