We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I've stayed at in Australia!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Clean, friendly staff, nice rooms, can byob, pool, big kitchen, close walk into town! Great value for the quality! Would definitely recommend staying here! Wasn't much of a party hostel but the bar wasn't open while we stayed here

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monica_buczynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Aquarius Backpackers Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Best hostel in Byron!! Great bar and roof terrace. Can drink your own alcohol all over which is a huge plus!! Good location near the beach and everything is walking distance. Staff could do with being a bit more friendly

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashleeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I read all the amazing reviews here and decided to book Aquarius. When I arrived late in the night by airport shuttle I was surprised to find loud music and a large group of ppl in front of the hostel shouting, drinking, smoking... I knew immediately this wasn't for me.

I stayed only one night and left.
I stayed in a single room, which was quite small and I had to share a bathroom with the dorm ppl. This bathroom was more modern than they usually are in Australian hostels, I have to say. But it was still very dirty and untidy with hairs and ppl's clothes everywhere.

I went to the YHA, which I can recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarina29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Great start; they ran a free shuttle bus even though we arrived late in the evening. 24hr security and safety deposit at reception. Rooms were basic but clean, bathroom spotless and the rooms smelt clean! Best location ever, 3minute walk from the beach and shops. Only disadvantage is that the wifi hotspot was weak which meant you had to stand outside or go to the restaurant next door.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiarasarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Really close to everything that goes on in byron, really good prices and surprisingly really clean to be an hostel! Massive rooms with tables, bathroom ensuite and backyards.
All the staff is really friendly and happy to help you with tour bookings etc. Too bad that the bar was closed but fair enough cause it's winter and everywhere it's quieter.
They also have a courtesy bus and deals with clubs and stuff in byron and surroundings.
Would definitely go back there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aeliss_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I arrived early but the receptionist let me in to my room early which was appreciated. I got to witness the cleaning process which I must say is impressive, around 11 about 3 cleaners come into the room and really spruce it up. They also clean the whole hostel and it really shows. I stayed in an 10 bed but it was spilt in two levels with two entrances and plenty of space. The hostel is in a great location, everything in Byron is close anyway but this is the best place to be if you want the beach on your doorstep. Also free Internet just next door at the library.

Unfortunately the bar was closed and this really affected the atmosphere. We weren't even allowed to drink in the communal area after 9 which was ridiculous! There is also a big and obvious divide between staff (who work for accommodation) and guests, mainly because of the restricted staff area. Despite this I would 100% stay here again and will do when the bar is back open!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank Alixx777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Brilliant place to stay (and no- not if you just want to get drunk all of the time!!) we were here for four nights in February and had a blast - it's a backpackers dream. Cheap drinks, or a good nights sleep, friendly staff and atmosphere, and a great location. My hostel of choice in Byron! Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#12 of 32 in Byron Bay
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 65 in Byron Bay
400 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Backpackers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers Motel

Address: 16 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: £31 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aquarius Backpackers Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay we have a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets. From self-contained apartments, budget private rooms and spacious dorm rooms. You should be able to find a room to put your head down and get some rest after a busy day of shopping, surfing and soaking up the unique Byron Bay atmosphere. Free overnight off street parking and free baggage storage (max 12hrs) is available to Aquarius guests. We also have an onsite security guard after hours to help you if any issues should arise or for late check in's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing