We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel in Great Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Reviewed 8 December 2013

While travelling we stayed here on two separate occasions. The first was for 7 days. We were blessed with an awesome group in our 8 bedroom dorm and although we were told we had to change rooms half way through our stay the receptionist ensured we all got to stay together in another room. The drinks at the bar were cheap and the dinner was free with a vegetarian option - if you're into that kind of stuff.

On our second stay it was a bit more disappointing as the bar was closed for the season and free dinner was no longer offered. This was not reflected in the price and we were not notified of these changes until we had already paid and asked for the meal vouchers. On the positive side, when the bar is closed you are allowed to openly drink in the rooms.

Rooms are spacious and have tables both inside and outside which was great for socializing. Security is 24 hours and he was friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

I'd say this hostel was pretty average, was good for us (we were only there for a weekend) but wouldn't suggest it if you were planning on staying for longer. The bathroom/shower was pretty dirty and shared between 10 people. The staff were all very friendly and helpful though, and since the bar closed you can drink pretty much wherever which is also great :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventuringinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Its a shame I was only here the 1 night cause I wanted to stay forever... I checked in around midnight and usually u have weird creepy old guys doing the grave yard shift but not here this guy was awesome, very helpful, super friendly and in saying that so was all the staff...
rooms are gigantic, so spacious and the bathroom was reasonably sized.
I loved byron and I also loved this hostel, my roommates were lovely really welcoming and this is what u want when ur travelling solo.
Will definatly be recommending this placeito anyone going to byron...
cheers guys

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dottyb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Aquarius is very centrally located, close to the main street, the light house and the beach obviously.
The rooms were very sandy on the floor. Only one shared bathroom per 8 people. Good ventilation because there are two big doors in both ends of the room.

There was a big kitchen with lots of pans and cutting boards and stuff. Only problem was that no one did their dishes, filthy sponges to wash with, bulked frying pans, not all the hotplates worked and it was really messy. Did not like it at all.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Albin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Dorms were big, location was good and the staff were friendly. It's not the best hostel I've stayed in but definitely not the worst! It's a great place to meet other backpackers and enjoy the awesomeness of Byron Bay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam_206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I arrived here somewhat by mistake - turns out there is an Aquarius in Gold Coast that somehow I had booked on booking.com - watch out for that mistake, they give no refunds even though apparently it happens often!? Anyway obviously not Aquarius in BB's fault. It's quite a big hostel, I would say it's much better if you are travelling with people, as a solo traveller it wasn't the kind of place I'd choose again, not much mixing going on. I basically used it as a bed. Staff were relatively helpful, but wasn't that impressed - Byron Bay, I absolutely loved every inch - the hostel, not so much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellarustybelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is one of the bet backpack we have to in Australia. The service is amazing, the staff really friendly and the place it self provides free pool, games, etc
Kitchen is big and clean, room are spacious.
Thanks to the staff, they made our stay in Byron Bay incredible!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurent I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.0 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#32 of 65 in Byron Bay
411 reviews
1.2 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#5 of 65 in Byron Bay
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Byron Bay YHA
Byron Bay YHA
#28 of 65 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Backpackers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers Motel

Address: 16 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: £42 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aquarius Backpackers Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay we have a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets. From self-contained apartments, budget private rooms and spacious dorm rooms. You should be able to find a room to put your head down and get some rest after a busy day of shopping, surfing and soaking up the unique Byron Bay atmosphere. Free overnight off street parking and free baggage storage (max 12hrs) is available to Aquarius guests. We also have an onsite security guard after hours to help you if any issues should arise or for late check in's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing