We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel I've Ever Stayed At”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hostel is absolutely amazing. The staff are outstanding and are always there to help you out. The rooms are huge, the hostel is kept very clean and it's right on the beach!! They offer free bikes and paddle boards. Most chilled out hostel ever. I stayed for 9 nights and should never have left. What an amazing time! Thank you BPI!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itraveljulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very very nice staff . Lovely garden area, clean bathroom. Rooms super clean. It was nice they rented you the bodyboards for free, it was good just spending an hour here and there at the beach rather than renting it all day.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed here for a good 3-4 months when I first got to Byron. I've been round many of the other hostels but this one will always have a soft spot in my heart! The main staff are truly amazing they honestly care about your stay and do anything they can to help you out, whatever the weather! It's my favourite lay out of all the hostels, it's the perfect mix of quiet and party. Also been by the sea it attracts a great crowd of surfers and sunbakers (less annoying travellers)
Overall just a perfect place to be :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely staff and friendly guests. The kitchen and toilets were as clean as can be expected for a cheap beachside hostel. The rooms are all very clean. The use of the pool and the fact that the beach is so close is ideal for summer. Also the free hire of bikes and bodyboards is very useful for those on a small budget! A great hostel to stay in at Byron bay. Stay here!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyandgabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Best place and hostel ever. The hostel is right on the beach, they have games night and will get bars to pick you up at the hostel and take you out. They have a great pool, but small reception desk. However the staff are excellent and will do anything for you. I just came from the Gold Coast and Byron is 10000 x better.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to stay close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

What I liked: the hostel is relatively clean, it’s right on the beach & a 3 minute walk to town, has a nice beach volleyball/common area, bathrooms were professionally cleaned daily. What wasn’t great: staff wasn’t particularly helpful or friendly, no wifi, somewhat impersonal vibe. The demographic of the guests was young – mostly 19-23 but noise wasn’t an issue for the most part.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharkie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

i stayed at the backpackers inn in october 2012. it was busy season so we were lucky to get a room, reception dudes were easy going and very helpful. the rooms are quite big, with a living room with tv and a kitchen. showers were clean aswell, nevertheless the toilets were a bit smelly. the atmoshpere is totally byron bay style, easy going people everywhere. the second night the staff organised a bbq which was a great thing to attend, only 10 bucks for sausages and a free beer, what else could you ask for? location is cool aswell, located right next to the best night club in byron, cheeky monkees, you easily find your way back to the hostel without any trouble ;)
overall score: 4/5

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niels H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Backpackers Holiday Village
#10 of 65 in Byron Bay
434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#5 of 65 in Byron Bay
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers
Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers
#34 of 65 in Byron Bay
424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#16 of 65 in Byron Bay
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay

Address: 29 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: £22 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed friendly accommodation On the beach in the heart of Byron Bay, one of Australias most spectacular and unspoilt holiday playgrounds. Backpackers Inn is perfectly located in the heart of Byron, just a short stroll to shops, pubs, entertainment and Byron's amazing selection of eating places. We have direct beach access and are the closest backpacker accommodation to the beach in Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Inn On The Beach At Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing