We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hostel in byron”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

best hostel in Byron bay, stayed there 6 weeks, direct beach access, great hammocks, lots of activities, comfy beds and nicest staff! great location If you surf. Will come back for sure!....................................

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brokenklok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is defiantly the best hostel I've stayed at in Australia! Staying here improved my experience in Byron bay! I had the best time. Short distance to the beach and to the centre, walked to Woolworth almost everyday, no problem!

I also lost my passport and got a lot of help from David! They gladly sent it to my hostel in cairns.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnivaStordal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Best hostel in Byron bay is located right on the beach and so close to town !! The hostel is really clean and all the staff so friendly ... I had the best times there and have met incredible cool people here ! Will never forget this place...

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed here for over a month and i have to say it's my favorite of all the hostels i've been to, both in oz and nz. The staff is nice, the rooms are clean, it's right on the beach and the vibe is amazing. 90% of my friends from my trip i've met here. Byron is amazing and BPI is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agneskristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Perfect hostel, great location. chilled out vibe. brilliant outdoor area to relax in. rooms are quite basic rooms but it's all you need. very close to the beach, just walk through the back garden and you're there

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Emma I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Good hostel here, big communal areas and facilities. Pool, hammocks, volleyball surf and bodyboards.
Location is perfect 1 minute up a sand path to the Beach.

Unfortunately, I encountered several rude and patronising staff. The guy on the travel desk is a typical surfer who smokes a lot of weed every night so not the best guy for booking trips. Also we booked 4 bed dorm but it was a 5 bed because one of the bunks was a double underneath. Pretty cheaky they are charging 2 seperate fees for sharing this bed.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philallen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hostel is absolutely amazing. The staff are outstanding and are always there to help you out. The rooms are huge, the hostel is kept very clean and it's right on the beach!! They offer free bikes and paddle boards. Most chilled out hostel ever. I stayed for 9 nights and should never have left. What an amazing time! Thank you BPI!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itraveljulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 33 in Byron Bay
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
0.5 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#5 of 65 in Byron Bay
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#32 of 65 in Byron Bay
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#15 of 65 in Byron Bay
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay

Address: 29 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: £17 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed friendly accommodation On the beach in the heart of Byron Bay, one of Australias most spectacular and unspoilt holiday playgrounds. Backpackers Inn is perfectly located in the heart of Byron, just a short stroll to shops, pubs, entertainment and Byron's amazing selection of eating places. We have direct beach access and are the closest backpacker accommodation to the beach in Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Inn On The Beach At Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing