We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just great accommodation by a stunning beach, this is a unique experience.”
Review of Byron Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Byron Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Katoomba, New South Wales
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Not just great accommodation by a stunning beach, this is a unique experience.”
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I stayed here a lot longer than originally intended... Why you may ask? This might sound a bit corny but seriously,, how do you put an awesome experience of 7 weeks into words? Where does one start? Ill do my best so ill begin with the ingredients : The great location right across the road from the most perfect beach you can imagine; The ideal accommodation equipped with all the essentials and more, including a table tennis table, beach volley ball, surf board hire etc etc Th e amzing people that are attracted here! I have met so many great people during my time here, its difficult to explain with a few words..The atmosphere is welcoming and easy going and it doesnt have the pretentious, "clicky scene" you find in some of the other places..Last but certainly not least, the super friendly local staff that make you feel welcome and have so many good tips and ideas to make your stay in this magical wonderland the best it can be. All these ingredients together create the feast all thats needed is you to enjoy it!
(Ive spent the last 15 years coming and going from Byron and have stayed in most of the accommodation in town and have a good idea of the surrounding area, any questions feel free to ask,, lukeisis@hotmail.com. Happy adventures :) sincereley,,, Luke

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    154
    58
    16
    18
See reviews for
56
136
105
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2011

On a business trip through Byron I had the pleasure of staying at the Belongil Beachouse in one of their spa rooms. I was impressed by the friendliness of the office staff, who were happy to have a chat and answer questions I had. Upon checking into my room i was happy to have a lovely spa after a long day travelling, and just relax, watch tv and curl up into the king size bed. Being a friday night I actually expected some noise but had such a peaceful sleep, and woke up and had breakfast on the balcony.
I loved the atmosphere, I loved the people, and the room was perfect. All in all it was a great place to stay. I only stayed one night but would have easily stayed a week here.

Room Tip: They have a good variety for all travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabeldickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st gilles les bain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I stayed in this wonderful pardise for 6 months. The area is amazing: big white sand beach with surf or no!!! just in front of the hostel. This is a real great place to stay few days or few months!!! you can party or stay quiet, you can lay down in the beautiful garden, meet people all around, or sit to meditate in front of the sunset... Belongil beachouse is a real part of Byron bay, you can be who you are in the middle of kind people; there are two cafe next door where you can listen good live music and a yoga center. You can also borrow bike, surf or sun umbrella!! The staff is just like a second family, they can halp you for job or whatever... you can also work for free accomodation ;;; drive the bus, cleaning... even if the fee is totally affordable! I miss the happy staff!!! always smiling sarah, Tracey, sandy and so on... the room are great , you can have a garden just in your shared bedroom and the common rooms are totally ok. This is a real great place to discover australia or yourself.... thanks everybody !!
Belongil is such a authentic and friendly aussie place.

Room Tip: It is very good, it depends on you, for me 27!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I stayed here for approx 5 or 6 months because everything was just right, It was very friendly, very helpful ( they even gave me a job, and help with work elsewhere), and I slept like a log every night ( when I wasn't out elsewhere partying!)
I shared a dorm for six people ( sometimes mixed sex- always a bonus!) the room was clean and cool, the people I shared it with where mostly the same. Bed was quite small, but you can get bigger ones ( doubles ) some rooms have fridges for beers and wine which was a bonus, good toilets and showers - ALWAYS REALLY CLEAN! The site itself in my opinion would suit chilled out people and maybe not younger children or idiots, as I was travelling by myself I was looking for somewhere to relax and read abit, if it had children or plain idiots around this wouldn't have possible. Theres a 11pm quiet curfew which at first seemed restricting but after a short while it was heavensent, other good points are, table tennis, bbqs, relaxation spa on site, tv room and lounge, large garden spaces (some with hammocks) large clean kitchen area, laundrette area, free buses to town every hour more or less - though its only a 10 or 15 minute walk along the beach and well worth the walk because its beautiful, which is also just across the road (30 seconds away!) theres too many good points, I'd suggest you go yourself- I've been home in england a year now and still miss it with a heavy heart

Room Tip: learn to surf here on the beach, free surf hire!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichMacUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Waking up so close to the ocean is the best! The hostel is always full of inspiring people. There is always something going on in the big garden with free bbq facilities. The communal kitchen is tidy and there is enough room for everybody. A good place to meet other travellers with a laid back attitude. The hostel is a bit more exclusive than the more 'cheeky monkey' downtown of byron bay. Loads of palms and plants divide the different areas. Loved it! the doubles are a cheap way to have some privacy. The most helpful staff there! Say hi to Sarah behind the desk!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrokenNoseDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2011

yea, i like it here. great atmosphere with a great beach. the people that work here are friendly and the folks staying long-term are GREAT! this place seems to keep the best ones. you'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank americanboxers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I am from the Gold Coast and decided to get away for the weekend in byron with 3 of my girlfriends for the weekend in Early March. We stayed at Belongil Beach House and had a absolute ball. I never usually take the time to log onto these type of websites and write a review but i had such a good time i have too! When we checked in the staff answered all of our dumb questions about byron and were really helpfull and friendly. We found the courtesy bus very handy aswell as the schedule was all day until late at night so we were able to get a ride around town early and late. Plus the guy who drove the bus was a great sort :) I will be returning to Belongil beach house again next month with 6 girlfriends this time and cant wait! Perfect for people looking for a champagne, beach front relaxing holiday on a beer budget! oh and try the PIZZA!

Room Tip: 6 bedda was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahanijadecurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#34 of 65 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.2 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
3.1 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Beach Resort

Property: Byron Beach Resort
Address: 25 Childe St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Belongil Beachhouse)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Byron Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Beach Resort should be your choice if you're looking for an affordable beachside Byron getaway. Opposite the magical Belongil Beach we're a casual stroll (15 minutes) into Byron, or several minutes by car or our regular free shuttle bus. We have a a diverse range of options for all travelers & budgets. Single sex & mixed dorm rooms, budget Doubles/Twins/Triples with and without en-suites, Queen Spa rooms, Group/Family rooms along with 4 x 2 B/R Cottages equipped with kitchen, Rainforest showerheads, outdoor settings & BBQ's set among our tranquil gardens. Onsite Yoga daily classes for all levels & a travel desk for all your needs. Clean, chilled and a relaxing environment is what you'll enjoy. Join us for an affordable 100% Real Byron Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Byron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belongil Beachhouse Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing