We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An OK visit”
Review of Byron Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Byron Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An OK visit”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Got a decent night's sleep however the place felt dirty, the sheets had stains and the communal areas were scruffy. Good bus run into town and back out to the resort for free. Nice and close to the sea

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank lemondrops93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    154
    58
    16
    18
See reviews for
56
136
105
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Not too far from city center, 5/10min by car or bus which is free and organised by this resort (ask at the desk)
The staff was really nice (desk and cleaner)
Toilets and showers were clean
The door for toilets/showers is a bit hard to open (keep your keys with you at all the time!)
Wifi is available but it's not free and try it be close to reception for having good network.
We really appreciate the soap, clean bed, the towels.
They provide bikes free for 2h and some other stuff need to ask desk or call them or their website.
One point there is a bar just in front... Music from 8/9am till 22h/00h so if you like to sleep, earplugs.
Beach is just across the road.
Nice place.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We enjoyed staying at this place a lot. Feels like home, everything is comfortable, enough space for a few people, great ambiance, cute houses and a main bedroom with big windows and green view. Just a minute walk to the beach and about 3 minutes drive or 15-20 minutes walk to the city center. Moreover they provide a bicycles - 2hours free for guests and a free shuttle bus to the center every 1-2 hours.
All necessary kitchen equipment and complimentary coffee. Towels and all what you need. BBQ, hammocks, towel dryers, outside tables and many more.
All for the great value. Good to take a house for a few friends (3 to 6) or a family.

Room Tip: if you'll need internet, wifi reception at the houses far from the office (44-47) is quite bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Good location, beach is on the doorstep, centre is a 15 min walk away but don't let this it you off as the free shuttle does drop offs every hour (greyhound stop) room was basic and ours was right outside garden area so a little noisy because of the pub next door. Kitchen was ok, usual battle of trying to fit your food in the fridge. Shared toilets/showers were clean, although a bit annoying as to access them you had to use your room key so in the middle of the night when you need the loo you've got to remember your key. Byron bay itself is amazing, and has a really nice layed back atmosphere. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom_and_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at the Byron Bay Resort Hotel in December 2013 on our 'holiday of a lifetime'. We were on a self drive holiday from Sydney and had pre booked a 2 night stay. We were met with very friendly and efficient staff who welcomed us and checked us both in, and also gave us a an upgrade that included a spa bath. The location is 'out of this world', the accommodation is also 'out of this world'. with every comfort that you need. The Hotel has a superb meeting area with bar and eating facilities and then you can relax in the sun/shade by the pool. We then walked down to the beach and then we walked along the beach to the lighthouse and back, a 10 km walk. We were next door to the Byron Beach Golf Club, a very friendly club who welcome visitors. We were then only a 10 minute drive in to the lively, pretty town of Byron Bay with a lovely beach and from there you can walk up to the lighthouse, on the most eastern point of Australia.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Beach resort/ hostel loads of character right across from the beach. I stayed in a deluxe room with spa bath balcony and the most comfortable bed.....staff are mostly global travelers who are all friendly. Shuttle bus goes into town frequently and a bit of a hoot!! Treehouse cafe next door for food drinks and cool music.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank WWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 6 nights in September. I was in a 6 bed dorm room. It was very spacious. The ensuite shower an toilet were kept to a satisfactory level of cleanliness. The location was good because it was around a 20 minute walk from the center of Byron bay. Far enough away to not get to noise during the nights. They provide very regular shuttle buses to town if you can't be bothered to walk. The wifi was expensive but there's loads of places you can get wifi in town. They are very helpful in reception and have lots of things you can borrow (beach towels, surfboards etc) it's got loads of hammocks, a really nice TV room, lockers in the rooms too. Generally a very nice stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeeeeebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#34 of 65 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.2 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
3.1 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Beach Resort

Property: Byron Beach Resort
Address: 25 Childe St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Belongil Beachhouse)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Byron Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Beach Resort should be your choice if you're looking for an affordable beachside Byron getaway. Opposite the magical Belongil Beach we're a casual stroll (15 minutes) into Byron, or several minutes by car or our regular free shuttle bus. We have a a diverse range of options for all travelers & budgets. Single sex & mixed dorm rooms, budget Doubles/Twins/Triples with and without en-suites, Queen Spa rooms, Group/Family rooms along with 4 x 2 B/R Cottages equipped with kitchen, Rainforest showerheads, outdoor settings & BBQ's set among our tranquil gardens. Onsite Yoga daily classes for all levels & a travel desk for all your needs. Clean, chilled and a relaxing environment is what you'll enjoy. Join us for an affordable 100% Real Byron Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Byron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belongil Beachhouse Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing