We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel, perfect location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Byron Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Byron Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hostel, perfect location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hostel was by far the best I have stayed in whilst travelling Australia! Its so relaxed and has everything you need for a cheap get away. The room was clean, the shared toilet/showers were also clean which is unusual for budget hostels. The hostel hires out surf board for a mere $10 along with other bits and bobs. Byron itself was truly beautiful and I would defiantly recommend doing the cape Byron lighthouse walk! Loved our 2 night stay here and would defiantly come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c_gabs91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    154
    57
    15
    18
See reviews for
56
135
104
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Great stay overall. Had a few hiccups with free shuttle bus as on 2 occasions it did not arrive on time and had to wait half hour.

Room was always tidy but really lacked more plug sockets. The communal areas were always really clean and the chill out hammocks outside were a nice touch

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eloise453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundoora, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

There are many reasons why this resort ticked all the boxes for me -
Budget friendly resort with very friendly and helpful staff (one of the lovely ladies at reception had a permanent smile on her face).
Restaurants either side, so all meals were close by and reasonably priced!
Excellent talent / live music at the Treehouse (bar / restaurant) located right next door (Danny Ross was fantastic!!)
A courtesy bus into Byron Bay so getting in and out of town was hassle free.
The beach was only a stone's throw away and beach towels were available at reception so we didn't have to pack our own.
The 2 bedroom loft unit where I stayed (no. 46) was bright and airy, clean and very comfortable. Even the pillows were comfortable and I have never said that about accomodation pillows before!
There was an airconditioner which we had to use on one hot day so that was a bonus and a large shower with two large shower heads / roses YAY!
The plates and cutlery were all clean, usually I have to wash everything before I am brave enough to use them, but not here!
All in all this was a great place to stay and I will definately be back!

Room Tip: I stayed at the 2 bedroom units at the very back and it was very quiet and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NysM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Myself and two friends stayed here for three nights over a weekend at the end of February, and absolutely loved it. It is a great value-for-money place, and perfect for a friends weekend away! We truly were sad to have to go home. :)

We flew into Coolangatta airport and hired a car for the drive down, which took about 45 minutes or so.

The BBR is superbly located a few minutes not far out of the main craziness of Byron itself, right opposite the stunning Belongil Beach. You can even walk into town along the beachfront which is about 1.5k, and then further along right up to the Byron Bay Lighthouse which is almost exactly 5km away - I had a great run up to the lighthouse and back one morning I was there! If you have a car it is an easy drive into town, it would be about 2-3kms, however as Byron only has one road going in to town, the congestion can be a bit ridiculous at times! Especially when the Sunday markets were on the weekend we were there and the traffic was backed up as far as the eye could see. But even then the traffic was moving steadily, so it didn't take that long to get in to the main part with all the shops, restaurants and cafes.

Check-in at BBR was a breeze - the front office staff were so friendly and helpful, they are a credit to the place! The girls explained all about the BBR, what was available around Byron itself, the fact that we could use their beach-towels free-of-charge, as well as hire surfboards, bikes and the like. They even had beach volleyballs and soccer balls for guests to use. They also told us about the free shuttle bus that goes in to and out of the main part of Byron multiple times each day (we took advantage of that one night, it was so handy that none of us had to drive and all could enjoy some cocktails and a night out!). There was also an internet cafe area, or you could buy access to the wifi instead.

Right next door is the Treehouse Cafe which is open from breakfast right through till late, and had live music each night we were there. IT had great atmosphere, and the food was delicious, and you could either dine at the tables, or have cocktails/drinks on the comfy vintage lounges. They also do pizza which we ordered as a takeaway our first night and ate in our cottage - the pizza was absolutely delish!

On the other side is Belongil Bistro which was where ate breakfast each day we were there, it was really yummy, with a fabulous outdoor seating area, and so convenient!

We stayed in one of the cottages at the back of the resort, which were really fab - all painted different bright colours, ours was the Purple one with the king size bedroom and twin loft bedroom area. Being at the back of the resort they are SO QUIET - there was no road noise at all.

The cottages are basic design, but well appointed and really clean, and look just like they do on the website. The beds were super comfy, and all the crisp white bed linen is "hotel style", and towels were provided which is excellent so you don't need to worry about bringing your own. Soaps and some basic small size Shampoo and Body Wash are also provided. The bins were emptied daily, so even though the rooms weren't serviced during our stay as we were only there a couple of nights so it didn't worry us at all.

The main bedroom is huge, with a great king-size bed. There is a ceiling fan, and large full-length mirror as well as a makeup mirror and bench, and lots of large size windows (that open) as well as direct access to the outdoor picnic table at the back of the cottage. The wardrobe is also located in the main bedroom.

The loft bedroom is up a flight of stairs, and is open to the main living area below. The twin beds up here were also really comfortable, and there is also the split-system system air-conditioning, and a wall mounted oscillating fan (I don't think a ceiling fan would fit with the pitched roof shape). There is a open cupboard area that was perfect for stashing our two suitcases up there too.

The bathroom is older-style but was spotlessly clean. The shower had fantastic "rain style" double showerheads and an actual glass screen sliding door (not a shower curtain!). The vanity area was nice and large as well, and there are was plenty of room to hang towels.

The living area had a three seater lounge, coffee table and a single arm chair, as well as a large flat-screen TV (with Foxtel connection). It has lovely big windows and sliding doors with security screens on them - that was great to be able to have the glass doors open at night with the secure lockable screens to close so you didn't feel claustrophobic, unlike how places are that don't have the screen doors on them. This would also be great if you stayed there with kids.

There is a full size refrigerator, microwave, hotplate, as well as kettle and toaster, with a sink and cutlery, dishes, pots/pans, glasses (and importantly Wine Glasses!) all provided. Dishwashing liquid and dishcloths are also there which was really handy.

There an outdoor shower and the choice of two outdoor areas - the one at the entrance that has a modern four-seater table in the undercover area and chairs and a great hammock, as well as the timber picnic table at the back of the cottage overlooking the bushland. You can even park your car right at the cottage too.

We also had a chance to have a peek into the budget bunk rooms that the backpackers were using and I was really impressed with how clean and neat they were. There is also a really lovely outdoor eating/bbq/cooking area that the backpackers were using, and a nice grassed spot with timber picnic tables around it. If I was still in backpacking mode, I would have been stoked to stay at backpacker rooms at BBR - it beats the crap out of some of the hovels I was subjected to staying when travelling around europe (and at double the price at times too!).

We didn't get a chance to join in the free yoga, but would have loved to if we were staying longer!

Belongil Beach itself is fabulous, with great surf waves. But be aware there is a very strong current, but if you are a good swimmer or like to surf then it is perfect! It wasn't anywhere near as crowded as the main Byron beach either. Belongil was much better!

In all, we had an awesome time staying there. It was a fantastic way for the three of us to catch up again (we live in different states). We are looking to hopefully do it again next year, but stay for four nights so that we can get a whole extra day to hang out in lovely Byron Bay!

I've attached some photos (and I forgot to take one of the bathroom!), they were taken as we were packing to leave as I forgot to do it when we arrived - so the beds were messed up, they were very professionally made when we arrived... LOL!

Room Tip: The cottages are at the back of the complex and really nice and quiet! Perfect for friends to share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeL96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at the Byron Beach Resort after being recommended by a family member. We were greeted by a friendly face and a can do attitude. The room was clean and the beds super comfortable. We had all the necessary mod cons and absolute peace and quiet. The beach was a stones throw and beautiful! Great access to lovely food and entertainment. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Byron.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avellash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Good facilities but we found this hostel really overpriced- $50 for a bed in 4 share dorm and you still have to pay for wifi. It's marketed as a "resort", I'm not really sure why as its the similar to many other hostels. Good facilities, big kitchen. Quite far from the town, about 20 min walk along beach.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank liketotravel0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug M, Guest Relations Manager at Byron Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thanks for your review where it appears that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding you concern about the price of a 4 bed dorm @ $50 this is the price for 2 weeks of the year only (Christmas period) and either cheaper or very comparable then other equivalent Byron accommodation. We also market & regard our property as an affordable "Resort". This is supported by our lush gardens, quite setting opposite a pristine beach along with our TV Room, Common room, large fully catered kitchen, (free) BBQ area, travel desk with full range of hire options including surf and boggy boards and the (free) bicycles and (free) guest beach towels along with the amazing onsite Yoga, yes we believe that we fit this description of our property and what you'll enjoy when staying with us.

Thanks for the review and hopefully we cleared up any concerns you may have had.

Byron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had the worst experience staying here. The rooms and sheets felt dirty and we were harrassed by the night manager. They should include in the description the ridiculous strict rules they have at night time. I felt like I was on a school camp rather than a holiday. Apparently after 9.30pm you're not allowed to be in your room unless you are sleeping. We were in our room talking around 12am, just talking, no music playing, no party, and the night manager walked into our room using his key on a number of occasions, he didn't even knock, which is rude and an invasion of privacy, and told us we had to leave or go to sleep otherwise he would kick us out. I was shocked and appalled by his behaviour. I have never experienced anything like it anywhere around the world.
I will never stay here again. There are a lot of better and closer places to stay in Byron.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank izasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug M, Owner at Byron Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
MMM not really the full story is it?
You were asked countless times to be quiet after 11pm until 2am
The clean sheets you were given on check-in (for dorm guests) are professionally washed and pressed and some of your friends were wearing them as a toga.....
We are not a party place, there are many places in Byron that are so please stay there next time. Our target market is travellers/visitors who want to relax, go surfing, meet new people, do yoga and respect other guests of Byron Beach Resort during their stay NOT young Aussies coming to Byron for the weekend to get as drunk as possible and do what ever they want at the expense of everyone around them. We make no apologies for this and it works, just not for you guys....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#5 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 64 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.2 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
3.1 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Beach Resort

Property: Byron Beach Resort
Address: 25 Childe St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Belongil Beachhouse)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Byron Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Beach Resort should be your choice if you're looking for an affordable beachside Byron getaway. Opposite the magical Belongil Beach we're a casual stroll (15 minutes) into Byron, or several minutes by car or our regular free shuttle bus. We have a a diverse range of options for all travelers & budgets. Single sex & mixed dorm rooms, budget Doubles/Twins/Triples with and without en-suites, Queen Spa rooms, Group/Family rooms along with 4 x 2 B/R Cottages equipped with kitchen, Rainforest showerheads, outdoor settings & BBQ's set among our tranquil gardens. Onsite Yoga daily classes for all levels & a travel desk for all your needs. Clean, chilled and a relaxing environment is what you'll enjoy. Join us for an affordable 100% Real Byron Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Byron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belongil Beachhouse Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing