We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Byron Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Byron Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
28
Reviewed 2 November 2005

We stayed here for 4 nights and were totally disappointed. The website gives you the elusion of a relaxing haven but it is just not like that. We had booked a spa apartment which sounded lovely but it was dirty, very tired and basic. There were cats wondering about, building work next door and the grounds needed a good tidying. You are well outside the town centre and the shuttle bus was good but there was no late return buses. I felt our time in Byron Bay was tarnished by our choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2005

I've stayed at the Belongil twice. Once way back in 2000 and more recently, Nov 2004.

I think the spa rooms are overpriced as they are little better than the normal double rooms, except for a bath that has bubbles. The general atmosphere is very relaxed and the setting cool. The stroll to the beach and the views from that part of the beach are spectacular. And you're away from the middle of Byron, so can escape the weekend hoardes that pour into town.

The cafe is good, if a trifle pricey, and the brekkies are tops.

Yes, the place is basic, but if you're spending more than sleeping time at the place you're missing out on Byron and the hinterlands.

(On our last visit, the adjacent block was being re-built, think it was units or a low storey hotel).

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndyRuss55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2005

Stayed at Belongil Beach house in April 2005. Booked a double room. The room was basic and also had a single bed as well as a double. Very small sink in the room which wasn't really big enough to brush your teeth. A lick of paint wouldn't have gone a miss either. Guests need a key to get into the shared showers and our key didn't seem to work well, which was very annoying. Limited shower facilities and not as clean as I would hope. If its peace you want think twice, as late night backpackers may keep you awake. Great free shuttle bus to and from town which runs all day. Right next to the beach as well. Cafe has a great breakfast and coffee. Communal kitchen for skin flints.

4  Thank Spammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank travelgirrrl97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmaaroundtheworld19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank martinaschef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#34 of 65 in Byron Bay
416 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
405 reviews
1.2 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
3.1 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
2 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Beach Resort

Address: 25 Childe St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Belongil Beachhouse)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: £33 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Byron Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Beach Resort should be your choice if you're looking for an affordable beachside Byron getaway. Opposite the magical Belongil Beach we're a casual stroll (15 minutes) into Byron, or several minutes by car or our regular free shuttle bus. We have a a diverse range of options for all travelers & budgets. Single sex & mixed dorm rooms, budget Doubles/Twins/Triples with and without en-suites, Queen Spa rooms, Group/Family rooms along with 4 x 2 B/R Cottages equipped with kitchen, Rainforest showerheads, outdoor settings & BBQ's set among our tranquil gardens. Onsite Yoga daily classes for all levels & a travel desk for all your needs. Clean, chilled and a relaxing environment is what you'll enjoy. Join us for an affordable 100% Real Byron Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Byron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belongil Beachhouse Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing