We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its hard to sum up so many good experiences.”
Review of Byron Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Byron Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2010

If you're looking for a cosy place to stay, with smiling faces all day, and the sound of laughter all night then this is the place for you! Just remember to pack more money, because you will NEVER want to leave this tiny heaven. Belongil Beachhouse...Ngiyabonga Ghakulu, from South Africa

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shandylion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2010

As I'm sure is the case with most backpackers, me and my friend had stayed in a varied, ecclectic mix of hostels throughout Australia - And I say without prejudice that Belongil Beachouse was our most enjoyable experience bar none. In a total stay of just over 4 months we found the hostel to be very relaxing in the most ideallic surroundings in Byron. Situated next to the quiet stretch of beach 10 minutes walk from town - The Beachouse was a perfect base to explore and return back of an evening.

The rooms were uncomplicated, spacious and centrally-located around the grounds of the Beachouse which encouraged a communal atmosphere. A mention also to the staff who on several occassions went above and beyond their remit and made the two of us feel very welcomed.

Thanks for a great stay.

Two lads from Leeds, UK.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RikAndMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Great hostel, really friendly atmosphere. The staff are great, really helpful and offer a free shuttle into central Byron. Most people that stay there do so for quite a while so it's great to get to know people. The atmosphere is really laid back, contrasting to the more hectic busier hostels of central Byron Bay. Would definitely recommend Belongil, I had a great time here. And dorms are some of the cheapest in Byron Bay. :)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeroulette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Very dissapointed in this accommodation. Very small room, mouldy curtains,squeaky bed with uncomfortable mattress, no cupboard (some sort of old shell of a cupboard)thredbare sheets and bedspread(no towels supplied),black(dust) ceiling fan (no air con), shared bathroom filthy with tiles missing. The room smelt of mould.Third world countries have a better standard of accomodation and cleanliness.Service-non existent, loved the shuttle bus that was actually a car! Waited in town for an hour for a pick-up that was scheduled,didn't come so we walked back. Fantastic location! Shame to spoil it with this type of inferior accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luka35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belongilbeachouse, Manager at Byron Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2010

Very disappointed to read this review as we have only been managers for 16 months and we had many improvements to the facilities including the bathrooms.The room they are referring to is at the very bottom of our accommodation we would never recommend it to a family with teenagers as it is only a very basic room with shared bathroom down the hall way,it is more suited to traveling backpacker couples we have many other options,none of our rooms are air conditioned but we don't advertise that they do have.Our courtesy bus was in for unexpected major repairs and we ran a car at the same timetable as the bus.Our staff are very customer service oriented and pride ourselves on our relationship with our clients.We are sorry that these people had a bad experience but can not understand why they didn't come and talk to us as we would have been happy to upgrade them to another room. We are very proud of the Beachouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We ventured down to Byron Bay from Brisbane and decided we wanted to stay the night. We went to a fwe of the caravan parks in town and asked for a price for the night in a self contained cabin or the like. Most would not allow a 1 night stay, or were value for money. We then headed down Ewingsdale Road and saw a sign for Belongil Beach House. We went in and the man in the office was very helpful, and gave us a studio cabin for $130 for the night. The studio was not modern, but suited the surroundings. Being a backpackers, we weren't expecting 5 star. But it was very clean, quiet, comfortable (lovely pillows!) and just a hop, skip & jump to the beach. There was a nice picnic table out on the patio too. The beach was great, no lifesavers there but any rips are easily spotted from the dunes. The cafe next door was very popular, i went over to buy a bottle of water and every table was taken or reserved! Also, about 10 minutes after we left I had a call from Tracey saying I had left a few make-up items behind that the cleaners had found. they held them behind the office counter for me until i returned to collect them. A lovely place for a cheap getaway - and no noise from the backpackers!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gib84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

The double-room was tiny and dark. The bed squeaked every time you moved a bit - it was so uncomfortable that I had back pain every morning. The bathrooms and kitchen were badly maintained and appliances didn't work. The kitchen was simply a mess and we had to fight for chairs to have our breakfast.
On arrival I received wrong information regarding the costs for our stay and the keys to our room didn't work. We received no warm welcome and no basic information about the hostel such as the location of kitchen and bathrooms.
All the advertising information I've seen about this place is misleading/ wrong - including the pictures of the rooms. E.g. Advertisement said "...10 min walk from town" but it took us 30 min. When we took the shuttle-bus into town and the whole bus was joking about the misleading information on the advertising board. This was the worst experience I have made in the last 5 years, because the accommodation was terrible and we paid such a high price.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cangoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We stayed for one night in a cottage - these are located at the rear of the property and are very quiet. Our looked out over the old railway line (No longer in use).

The cottages/cabins have two bedrooms - the 2nd isn't really a room it overhangs the lounge but it's still private enough. They have a small kitchen and lounge area - the sofa was a bit old and tatty. The beds however were comfortable.

The beachouse is just across the road from belongil beach and next door to some nice cafes. It is away from the main centre of Byron - about a 15-20 minute walk or a couple of minutes drive.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wear84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers
Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers
#34 of 66 in Byron Bay
432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
1.2 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#8 of 66 in Byron Bay
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
#27 of 66 in Byron Bay
53 reviews
1.2 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Backpackers Holiday Village
#10 of 66 in Byron Bay
436 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Beach Resort

Address: 25 Childe St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Belongil Beachhouse)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: £47 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Byron Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Beach Resort should be your choice if you're looking for an affordable beachside Byron getaway. Opposite the magical Belongil Beach we're a casual stroll (15 minutes) into Byron, or several minutes by car or our regular free shuttle bus. We have a a diverse range of options for all travelers & budgets. Single sex & mixed dorm rooms, budget Doubles/Twins/Triples with and without en-suites, Queen Spa rooms, Group/Family rooms along with 4 x 2 B/R Cottages equipped with kitchen, Rainforest showerheads, outdoor settings & BBQ's set among our tranquil gardens. Onsite Yoga daily classes for all levels & a travel desk for all your needs. Clean, chilled and a relaxing environment is what you'll enjoy. Join us for an affordable 100% Real Byron Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Byron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belongil Beachhouse Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing