We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hostel, amazing staff, lovely atmosphere!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Byron Lodge

Cape Byron Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cape Byron Lodge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hostel, amazing staff, lovely atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

I stayed at cape byron lodge for quite some time during my stay in australia. I was only intending to stay for a couple weeks at most in Byron, but it was because of Cape Byron Lodge that I ended up staying for a few months!! Martin, Belinda, and Shane are so wonderful in welcoming every traveller to the hostel and are very easy going and helpful with any needs you may have. Martin in particular (the owner) does such a great job at making everyone feel welcome and he actively participates in hostel activities, going out, and getting to know the people that stay at his hostel which I think is very rare for a hostel owner. I have never seen this at any other hostel I have been at. There are a few long termers that stay here and most of them are working for accomodation like I was! The location is a bit outside the town but honestly it is not that bad!!!! It is about a 10 minute walk into the beginning of town and there is a shuttle bus that goes in to town almost every half hour! So if your too lazy to walk to town, wait for the shuttle! Simple. There is a nearby beach though, tallows beach, which if you ask the front desk they will be more than happy to show you how to get there. It is about a 5 minute walk from the hostel and is definitely a less busier beach. The waves are bigger though and the undercurrent can get a bit strong at times so just be careful. And for surfing it is definitely not for the faint at heart, this beach is for more experienced surfers so if you just wanna go watch I'd definitely recommend it but if your a beginner looking to ride some easy waves I'd suggest maybe Wategos beach which is also a locals beach. Anyway, back to the hostel. It is definitely one of the most cleanliest I have been at. They have staff that clean the kitchen twice a day, as well as the bathrooms, the rooms, the pool and the grounds at least every day. There are bikes for hire that are free and you can also rent a surfboard. The common area is very cosy and there is a ping pong table just outside of that. There is a lot of artwork on the walls from travellers passing through and if you are an artist the owner may even offer you some free accom in exchange for your artwork... ;) don't quote me on that though. Lol. Overall, I think the thing that makes Cape Byron Lodge the most memorable I have ever been at is definitely the owners and the staff that work there that go completely out of their way to make everyone have the best experience and in turn create a very positive and enjoyable atmosphere for any traveller staying there. I would HIGHLY recommend staying here, you will not regret! Although one tip... Avoid the owner in the mornings if you can, he can get a bit grumpy... Hehe, love you Martin! Xxxx vbomb

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vbombxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    24
    15
    10
    2
See reviews for
4
17
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East coast Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Arrived into Byron late due to a delayed train and the guy driving the shuttle bus worked late so they could pick us up which was really cool. Met at reception by Martin (the owner) and Liam (staff) both were really nice and gave us some free sangria. Liam explained everything about Byron and gave us a map. Because we dont have a lot of money they said we didn't have to pay a key or plate deposit which was really cool.
I stayed there for 2 weeks in the same room and I loved the room, beds really comfortable, lots of natural light, room faced the little garden area where I would sunbathe if I didn't want to be by the pool.
Pool is clean and you can hire bikes for free
Free Wifi and pancakes for breakfast
Went surfing with cool Katz and the owner is amazing and a really good teacher, he comes round the hostel few times a week.
Really close to the beach
One of the shuttle bus drivers drove us up to the lighthouse which was really nice
I can't understand the people who moan about location, yes it's a little bit outside the town but it's a 15 minute walk, do none of you walk at home??
I don't mind walking home after a night out but if you can't then grab a taxi with a few mates for a couple of dollars.
It was one of the guys birthday and we were invited out with them all, most of the long termers really friendly didn't speak to them all as some of them are happy just staying in their group of mates, but most of them want to chat which is important if your staying there alone.
Overall I loved Byron and loved the hostel

Room Tip: Room 4 for the girls is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gems87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed here for 5 days in April with my other half in a double room. First impressions staff were really nice and always helpful and approachable. Room with tv sports was a bonus and the movie room also pretty cool. Kitchen was big but could get a bit crowded and some peoe never did their pots but the cleaning staff were really good. The pool area was nice but some guests spread out around it and made it a bit uncomfortable for anyone else to go in it. Room was fine just what I expected really. Price was decent for what we got. Downsides were the distance from the main area took 15-20 mins to walk shuttles were useful but didn't always leave on time. If it was a bit closer to the town it would be perfect but a little too far for me

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

If you plan on going out at night, Cape Byron lodge is not the place to stay. It's about a 15 minute walk from town which is fine during the day and evening when they provide shuttles. Late at night, however, it is annoying walking back and there are plenty of hostels for similar prices right in the action. The property was decent with a pool, but I could feel the springs through my mattress. The staff was SO nice and helped us plan our activities in Byron Bay and were very accommodating for our large group. The free WiFi was also a plus as most Australian hotels haven't seemed to figure that one out yet ;)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

People were great,large common room&cooking facilities. Wifi & free pancakes were awesome!

Downside is how loud it is all the time,very hard to get to sleep at nighttime.

It is also abit out of the way of the beach & town but they do provide a shuttle regularly during the day. and they organised the shuttle to drop us to town extra early on the morning of our departure free of charge.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauramc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

the review from elliot86 is very helpful and true, im just gonna repeat and add some points:

The hostel itself really is not bad and I had a good time there, but that was more because of Byron than because of the facilities or the guests.

Most of them are constant smokers and nothing-doers, you might feel like you are in a big house full of unemployed people. The hostel is the first one in Byron and you can see that: it is partly run down and the common area is very sombre after dawn.

The free pancake breakfast was amazing, they were edible and a good alternative to the usual cereals/breads you get.

Their free wifi was pretty good, although they said should work in every room in the hostel and it didn't in ours. However, if you want a good connection I can recommend using the one near the office as usually there are less people than in the common room and it is therefore faster. The free internet laptops worked, but that is about it. One was very small and not ideal for hostel use I would say. But better than nothing.

Our private room for 65$ basically was an old 4 bed dorm which we had for ourselves, which wasn't too bad after all because we had our own fridge and used the other beds to unpack our backpacks.

The actual staff, that is the owner and his two receptionists were very friendly and helpful. Free bikes were great although they were very run down.

The people working for accomodation were so and so, but you wouldn't really see them as staff.

The location is great if you enjoy walking into town a little, and if not there are still the shuttle buses. However, there are enough choices in the city itself to avoid that. It takes about 15 minutes to get to Woolworths which is at the beginning of the town.

On the plus side, the hostel was very clean and we didn't occur any insects or so. The bathrooms were alright, the showers a little complicated to get the right temperature.

The kitchen was not really dirty since they cleaned it daily, but most of the pots and pans just looked like they have been used for ages.

Room Tip: 13-15 are better as they have their own terrace and are not on the main aisle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kay_cb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

My partner and I stayed in a 4 bed dorm for 4 nights. All the guests we met and saw at this hostel spent their days 'smoking'. This is therefore going to be the best, or worst, hostel you have ever stayed in - baring in mind it is in Byron Bay!

Pros:

-Good location with an easy 5-10 minute walk into central Byron
-Dorms thoroughly cleaned every day
-Large sitting area with TV and pre-loaded movies
-Staff were friendly and chatty
-Courtesy bus into town/Greyhound stop
-Live sports in separate room to main TV
-Owner happy to not take deposits for keys etc which is very helpful when you don't have cash on you!
-Valuables can be kept with the office
-Mirror in room - very unusual in a dorm/hostel
-Owner won't fill up dorms where others are free so may end up sharing with only one other person for the same rate

Cons:

-Only a very thin shower curtain in cubicles so very difficult to get any privacy, especially if you are in a mixed dorm
-TV so loud it can be heard from dorms
-Very noisy in the evenings
-Only one plug socket in room
-Very dirty pool
-No lockers in room

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elliott86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Byron Bay YHA
Byron Bay YHA
#25 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#34 of 64 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Health Lodge
#47 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.2 mi away
Byron Springs Guesthouse
Byron Springs Guesthouse
#5 of 39 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#2 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Byron Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Byron Lodge

Property: Cape Byron Lodge
Address: 78 Bangalow Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Cape Byron Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing