We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!”
Review of Cape Byron YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cape Byron YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Cape byron is a great YhA, close to everything yet secluded with its trees and outdoor pool! Friendly and helpful staff and nice common areas! Clean rooms that you can tell were made for hostel purposes! Great coffee nearby too!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    102
    53
    17
    4
See reviews for
8
54
140
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This hostel was clean and the rooms were relatively spacious, although lacking any lockers...
Bathrooms were ok but toilets were quite dirty. Kitchen clean, but small so busy.

This is a large hostel, it didn't feel like it had any soul or heart and I felt like a number whilst staying there. No one was rude or unhelpful though, just typical city, big hostel.

On my last night, there was a power cut so everyone stayed in and got drunk, with a crowd of people outside my room. Might have been just a one off but who can be sure? I think most hostels are like this in Byron though...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berrydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Got picked up from bus and slept in a hot 5 share room. Didn't stay to eat in kitchen as it was too crowded and there was no fridge space. Luggage storage was overflowing.No lockers in the rooms. Got a lift to bus next day and left all the 20something European/English tourists to it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 775traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stayed in literally every hostel in Byron . I found this the best one, purely because of the staff! Really friendly and always willing to help! Also beds were really comfy, awesome sitting areas and good kitchen, ( pots and pans DEF need replacing..they are horrible but only downfall) Can borrow bikes for free and doors lock out the front at night,, so felt quite secure. Everything was really clean.. Would def stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookeTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The rooms were small but clean. Didn't seem as good quality as other YHA's. There are reading lights by each bed and a couple of plug sockets in each room but it seemed to have something lacking for the price. If I was staying in Byron again I think I'd try a different hostel but it may be that it's just an expensive place to stay and all the hostels cram you in.

On the plus side it was quiet at night and you couldn't hear music from any bars etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank jls502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed at Cape Byron for 2 nights in October. There didn't seem to be a great choice of budget accomodation in town, so I ended up at the YHA, which I thought would be the safe choice. Oh how I was mistaken.

There seemed to be a number of young travellers who were working at the hostel who sat around all afternoon chatting, smoking and playing loud music. It was actually quite intimidating to have to walk over them to get to the rooms.

My room mates were fine, however. I stayed in a 5 bed female dorm and there were only 2 other girls staying at the time, both of whom were very friendly.

The bathrooms were average and the kitchen although I didn't use it, looked fine. I was put off by the hostel requesting that you collect your cooking utensils from reception and return at the end of your stay. There are many cheap eats in Byron Bay, including Domino's Pizza, which has offers on certain nights, $5 for a large pizza - how can you go wrong?

Location is good though, as was the free pick up and drop off at the Greyhound station.

Room Tip: If there are any rooms that do not face the central pool area, try and get one of those!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We booked a private room which had a double bed and single bed. There was no aircon and with the temperatures around 30degrees the nights were far too hot, there was a fan and windows to keep open but this meant noise and lead to almost unbearable sleeping conditions. The room was clean and the bathrooms clean but there were only 3 showers in the female bathrooms for the whole of our second floor and this was a large hostel. This was the most expensive hostel we booked during our 5 weeks along the east coast and for this reason it didn't seem good value for money at all.
The location was good, 5 minutes walk to a really cheap Aldi supermarket and 10 minutes to the beach.The kitchens were clean and large fridge space.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#32 of 66 in Byron Bay
398 reviews
1.2 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#8 of 66 in Byron Bay
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Byron YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Byron YHA

Property: Cape Byron YHA
Address: Cnr Byron and Middleton Sts, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make sure you stay in the heart of Byron Bay - backpacker's paradise with superb beaches and scenery and lots of nightlife. Cape Byron YHA is a purpose-built hostel in the centre of town, just 100m to the beach. Relaxed atmosphere with common areas surrounding a large heated pool and BBQ area. Free use of bikes and boogie boards. Cafe, dive centre and seperate TV/reading room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cape Byron YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing