We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff”
Review of Cape Byron YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cape Byron YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“Good staff”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The staff at Cape Byron YHA were very helpful with my stay, notably Joel and Todd. The kitchen situation was a bit of a mess in that stealing was rampant and almost lost our deposit for dishes because they were stolen several times. Pretty clean hostel, would recommend the walking tour to the lighthouse with Todd, saw lots of interesting wildlife along the way.

Room Tip: Room 26 has a double bed area above the two bunk beds below (two floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Graeme! Thanks for the review mate!

Glad you enjoyed the stay thought an extra star was in order there considering how long you stayed haha... I am concerned to hear that stuff went missing from the Kitchen as I was under the impression that stuff was pretty safe up there? So massive apologies about that..

I actually spent the weekend in the Kitchen this weekend and can officially say the standard has been lifted and I hope to keep it that way... Its an uphill battle in any hostel.

Anyways, Hope you guys enjoyed the rest of your trip and am glad you enjoyed the walking tour and your time here. Good tip on the loft in room 26 there is another one in room 25 as well double bed for dorm prices!!

Thanks again Mate

Regards

Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    101
    52
    16
    4
See reviews for
8
54
138
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Cape Byron for a weekend getaway with friends. This place is great! It's in a stellar location, it's a really social hostel, and the workers are super friendly and helpful! The rooms are small but not crammed, place is clean. Very basic. No lockers in rooms so bring lockers or chains. Only downside, super old building so not many outlets to charge things or use electrical, even in the common spaces. Two per room of 5. It's byron though, put the phone and hairdryers away, let you beach waves out and let the good times roll. Would stay again for sure!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Candace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Great Review!! Get out and enjoy the outdoors and all Byron has to offer!! :) Thank you Candace.

We are working on getting more outlets installed but it overloads the current power limit for that area so looking for ways in put four way outlets in the rooms if possible but we take note!! Lockers are on the way just trying to get something that works meanwhile anything valuable can be stored at reception but great review thank you!!

Safe travels see you next time :)

Regards

Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I've just left Byron Bay and the Cape Byron YHA after a three night stay.

This is the best hostel I've stayed in with the most helpful staff you could ask for, specifically Todd and Joel. As well as making our stay in Byron as good as it could be, they've helped us to plan the rest of our trip up the east coast.

I'd recommended Cape Byron YHA to anyone and everyone. Thanks for a great few days in Byron Bay; I think I'll be back sometime in the future...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you!! And I hope it was awesome and you enjoyed the east coast and all the awesome spots up there! You girls are always welcome here and should come back to visit!!!

Thanks for the Review girls :)

Regards

Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Had a really nice stay here. Good clean hostel with great staff. Special mention must go to Joel who takes really good care of everyone and does an awesome job on reception organising tours, walks etc. Would definitely recommend, the only thing that I could fault would be the price which was a little steep. Having said that, you get what you pay for and this hostel was fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hello Jake!!

Thank you for the Review and I hope you enjoyed your trip down to Sydney and the rest. Glad you enjoyed the walking tour as well. We do have quite high prices over summer as i would agree but with Byron being so busy over this time its market driven, glad you thought it was worth it!!

Regards

Joel

P.S you are welcome back any time mate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The Hostel itself is really spacious, the rooms are nice, the whole place is always tidy and it has a pool for those lazy hangover days when you cant drag yourself to the beach :) Never met a staff as nice, helpful and fun to hang with as these guys! Also you have free buggie boards, free bikes and the free lighthouse tour was one of the most unforgettable experiences of this journey! (Saw about 50 dolphins!) We initially wanted to stay in byron for one week but this town and this hostel managed to keep us here for three weeks now... If i had to point out one bad thing it would be the wifi receiption... Hope they can fix that before our next stay :) It has been a wonderful time and i would recommend this place to everyone who plans on coming to this place!

Room Tip: Room 26 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aylin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hello Aylin!

Miss you guys! We are quiet now summer is over so working on a few things like our Wifi :p haha.. Anyway really glad you girls enjoyed your stay and had such nice things to say! You are welcome back anytime :)

Regards

Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

The free bike, body boards, and lighthouse tour were nice. It's a good location and it's not too loud at night. Kitchen was good. Biggest downside is how hot it gets on the first floor (no wind or A/C to cool you down, was too hot to sleep most nights).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellowday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Yes!

We love being so close to the beach and the Cape! Glad you did too...

Yes its not only the first floor on those summer days. It gets really hot and humid here in summer. Staying cool can be difficult we have alot of travellers who are not used to the heat but even when you are those humid nights are hot!!

We do have some private rooms with aircon but the cost makes it impossible for us to have them in our dorms.

Anyhow thank you very much for the nice review see you next time!!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The YHA was really clean and tidy, with really friendly staff (all of them!) who helped us out with various inquiries about days out and had really informative advice from their own experiences. Kitchen was basic but clean, nice pool area, great location, beds were comfortable and it seems like the rooms and hostel was cleaned on a regular basis. They also offered free hiring of body boards and bikes which were great for getting around the area. They also picked us up from the bus stop (just around the corner) in the evening when the bus was late. This is a great hostel and I would highly recommend it when staying in Byron Bay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracee_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you!!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Byron and are glad we were able to meet your bus its always difficult to make sure we can provide that service for everyone especially the late buses haha. As I mentioned in a previous response its great to get feedback about our staff as they all try hard to make sure everyone is helped out and gets all the info they need so we will pass that on!!

Thanks again and safe travels!!

Regards

Cape Byron YHA!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#34 of 65 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Byron YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Byron YHA

Property: Cape Byron YHA
Address: Cnr Byron and Middleton Sts, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make sure you stay in the heart of Byron Bay - backpacker's paradise with superb beaches and scenery and lots of nightlife. Cape Byron YHA is a purpose-built hostel in the centre of town, just 100m to the beach. Relaxed atmosphere with common areas surrounding a large heated pool and BBQ area. Free use of bikes and boogie boards. Cafe, dive centre and seperate TV/reading room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cape Byron YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing