We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crest Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

i stayed at the crest with my daughter for a 5 day getaway to escape the melbourne heatwave.booked this apartment the week before and got a very good price.
have stayed in a couple of apartment places along shirley street as I like to stay out of the town and walk -its about a 10 minute walk at most into the centre of town. This by far has been the best of these properties-
the room was simple but very clean,excellent air-conditioning,very comfortable bed,good cupboard space-flat screen tv 's in the main room and in the bedroom and a dvd player too.
pool area excellent-large clean heated pool with ample room around to sun bake-also large eating/barbecue area.
the manager was extremely friendly and locked up our bags when we checked out and we could use facilities till later in the day when we were to leave.there is a shower by the pool.
if you are happy to not be in the centre of town then i highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: there are 1,2 bedroom pats and also 2 story 2 bedroom villas.all the rooms look onto the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed a week and found the accommodation perfect for our little family (2 kids age 1 & 2). We had a 2 storey villa, it was dated but that didn't worry us. Clean, enough space and great layout, the private enclosed courtyard is perfect for kids, they can go in and out and you can see them easily. The villas back onto the lane at the back so you can park your car right outside the gate to your villa which was handy. You might want to stick with an apartment if your kids aren't confident with steps though (we have a 2 story house so it didn't bother us).
Pool was also perfect for both little and big kids. Heated nicely and protected from the wind so on the days it was blowing a gale it was perfect. There is a little shallow section off to one side the kids loved.
Pricing I think was fair for Byron.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jccl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We just returned from an 11-night stay at Crest Apartments - we stayed in apartment #20 which is a privately owned rental called Villa Aitutaki. The villa is absolutely lovely - the decor is more modern and tasteful than the regular rooms at Crest, but also a little more expensive; $270/nt in late Jan/Feb. The villa was our little haven in Byron Bay. 10 min leisurely walk into town or main beach (I'm pregnant and coped just fine). If you want to walk down to the Safeway, that would take about 20 mins I'd say. Gorgeous decor, lovely tropical garden & bird bath, with daily visits from a kookaburra who came for a bath and a drink. We had a 21 month old with us, and the villa was perfect for us. The villa has cooking facilities, high chair, cot (didn't need it as she slept in the single bed!), a few kids books and huge DVD collection for kids and adults, plus foxtel for those rainy days. There is a pull-across gate at the top of the staircase, and we just blocked the bottom of the staircase with a table, to stop our little girl from constantly wanting to climb the stairs - I was worried about this but it wasn't a problem. There is also an airconditioner in the main bedroom upstairs which was a bonus addition we didn't know about - needed it a couple of times! The pool has a wide shallow section which is great for toddlers, made it much easier for her to play and splash without us having to hold her in the water the whole time. This villa is set back from Shirley Street - we heard no traffic whatsoever, just birdsong and silence! Would definitely recommend this villa.

Room Tip: Villa Aitutaki is villa #20 at Crest, and is set back from Shirley Street. Heard no traffic, just pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyingthenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Crest Apartments. We are in our mid 50's and were visiting Byron to surprise our son who was also visiting, as well as have a short getaway.
Don't be put off by the 70's office where everything was on display. The one bedroom apartment was as advertised and our request for a quiet room granted. It was spacious and clean (although the door stops were filthy! ) and well appointed. Accommodation in Byron Bay is not cheap but we felt Crest Apartments were reasonable value. Parking was secure and we enjoyed the 10 minute leisurely walk to town.

We were a little taken back as the rules were explained to us and the consequences of breaking such rules. When reading the compendium in the room we further learned that no visitors could stay after 9 pm and no more than 4 people could be in the room at any one time. Since we were hoping our son would visit and not really wanting to turf him out at 9pm and if his 2 friends came with him not wanting to ask one to stay outside we questioned these rules. The consequences of breaking these rules was eviction. Now we did realise that Byron Bay is a young persons party town and having owned and run accommodation establishments ourselves we understood where the managers were coming from! And of course after speaking to the manager it was fine for us to have our son and his friends visit as long as we didn't disturb others but the compendium states the rules very firmly so we felt it best to make sure! It was a little amusing but saying that we do understand and you can never tell who is going to have hoards of people over disturbing other guests. We have travelled quite a bit and of course the rules of leaving the accommodation tidy and no noise after a certain time are everywhere but to have it set out so strictly was a new experience for us!
We would recommend Crest Apartments.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed at Crest Apartments during the first week of January 2013 with my young family. (Wife and 2 children). Apartments are a little dated, think circa 1990's but very clean, pleasant and functional . The staff are extremely helpful and care about their apartments. Parking is convenient and access is great. I'm a massive fan of Byron Bay because it has a vibe that no other coastal NSW town has. If anything The Crest added to the great vibe by having a very tranquil and well thought out pool area with mature gardens. My children loved the pool which stayed at a constant 26 to 28 degrees. We stayed in Apartment 2 which had great access to Shirley Street but our room which was west facing onto Shirley Street can get a little loud from passing traffic and the occasional drunk reveler. It also can get a little hot as the lounge-room is the only room with an air-conditioner via a split system. There are however fans in each bedroom which help during the hot evenings.

WiFi access can be a little frustrating as you need to do a cumbersome log in and log out routine, however we were given 12 hours free which was plentiful. I would definitely stay here again but maybe away from the Shirley Street side.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galaga88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom balcony apartment overlooking the pool for a week. Everything was as advertised, clean and had all facilities we needed. The apartment was centrally located, only 5 minute walk to shops and beach and our car was in secure parking. All staff were friendly and helpful. Would be happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Balcony room overlooking pool was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAMMI_TOASTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The folks at the front desk are like the uncle who pats you on the back and cracks a joke that is slightly off, but at the same time you know his heart is genuinely in the right place and he's trying hard. The units are a bit dated. They need new lighting ('daylight' white compact flouro lighting just doesn't cut it for a romantic cooked dinner in the room) but the rest is in pretty good shape. TVs are good, balcony and screening works. Stairs are a haul with luggage (No lift so don't pack the brass band). Everything works (air con/heating, convection/microwave) and is definitely clean and pleasant. It's a pain to figure out where your unit is if you arrive at night. Their unit numbering system would stump Dan Brown. But the after hours key pickup system is pretty secure and works well. Road out the front is busy. There are better places closer to the sea and the beach but they probably cost a fair bit more. It's only a short jaunt to town (maybe half a km) and the walk is mostly flat. The operators try hard to please, letting you leave luggage there etc after checkout. You could have a nice holiday staying here if you are active and dont mind a little trot to the beach every day. Pool looked crystal clear.

Room Tip: Roadside rooms could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheerfulHolidayFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 34 in Byron Bay
246 reviews
1.5 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
481 reviews
0 mi away
Aaman & Cinta Luxury Guesthouse & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Beaches Apartments - Byron Bay
0.7 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#1 of 34 in Byron Bay
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crest Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crest Byron Bay

Address: 47 - 49 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly The Crest Apartments)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: £114 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crest Byron Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Crest Byron Bay The Crest Byron Bay Holiday Accommodation offer apartments and villas set in a tranquil environment of sub-tropical gardens and beautiful shade trees. All apartments and villas have easy access to our beautiful heated salt water pool, BBQ and alfresco dining area. The Crest invites you to come and relax and enjoy the beauty of Byron Bay. Discover for yourself that our resort style complex is the perfect destination for your next Byron Bay holiday. Byron Bay Apartments and Villas The Crest is conveniently located within a leisurely stroll to all Byron Bay has to offer. Being only 500 metres from the centre of town it is the perfect spot because we are close to everything but far enough away for peace and quiet as well. You can choose to laze by our heated salt water pool, stroll across the dunes to the beach or walk into town to enjoy the multitude of trendy cafes and restaurants, boutique shops and colourful markets. The Crest Byron Bay Accommodation Options We offer spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments with balconies and 2 bedroom villas with their own private fenced courtyard and all accommodation is self-contained with a modern kitchen and laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Crest Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing