We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Byron Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Byron Value”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed here 10 years ago and again in 2012. Benn and Lesley were wonderful and we really appreciated how strict they are on keeping a nice quiet ambience - no loud music or drunken parties here. Although called a motel the rooms are really small self-contained apartments with a microwave and 'fridge and your own balcony where you can have breakfast. The location is perfect - about 4 minutes' easy walk into town. Lovely pool and spa and only a couple of steps to the beach. Beachcomber provided everything we needed for a 10 stay. Air conditioned rooms are kept very clean. There is a communal laundry and car parking. My only beef would be that you have to pay extra for wi fi. In every other way this place is incredible value.

Room Tip: You might want a balcony with more shade - ours faced west and so it was too hot in the late afterno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachcomberByronBay, Manager at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you for spending your valuable time writing a review for the Trip Advisor Community.

I am delighted that you returned to our establishment after 10 years and that you enjoyed your stay with us once again. It is wonderful that you were able to make use of our pleasant pool & spa and our direct beach access to beautiful Belongil Beach. Thank you for appreciating our clean air-conditioned self-catered rooms as we take great pride in providing a high standard of cleanliness. Also, I am pleased that you recognize our efforts in maintaining a friendly and relaxed ambience, as we have a strict no party policy in place.

Our balconies are a great place to relax but yes some of them can get a little warm in the afternoon summer sun. We have cooler ground level courtyards which provide some shade or a South-East facing balcony can be requested for morning sun.

Thank you again for your feedback and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Management, Byron Beachcomber Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    58
    24
    8
    7
See reviews for
32
87
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2012

It's everything a couple or small family needs - superb accommodation, access to the beach and shops. The pool and BBQ area is just as gorgeous. The staff are extremely welcoming and more than happy to assist in any way. The shops and restaurants are only a three minute walk away! We've been visiting Byron Bay for the past five years. Next year will be the third consecutive time we've stayed at the Beachcomber - now, we wouldn't stay anywhere else! We're booked in for 2013 and look forward to seeing Benn, Leslie and their staff. Great place and great hosts!

Room Tip: If you're a couple, then you'll enjoy 17B or 18B - apartments are spacious, overlook the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheilah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachcomberByronBay, Manager at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you choose to stay at the Beachcomber Resort every year. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoy it here and that you want to keep coming back. Many of our guests, like you, appreciate our less than 5 minutes walk to the town centre and easy access directly to the beach. We can’t wait to welcome you back next year.

Kind Regards,
Management, Byron Beachcomber Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Lovely accommodation with great atmosphere and fantastic location. Management was wonderful and could not be more helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The location was handy and the room I had was nice but there was no value for money. The room came with one roll of toilet paper and bath towels, there was no room service considering they charge premium rates. Additional toilet rolls, hand soap or clean bath towels come at a charge - there is no value for money. You can get better value for money travelling overseas.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank possum23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed at the Beachcomber for two nights in January. The staff were really nice and we were immediately impressed by the size and cleanliness of the room. Even more, the distance to the beach (just follow a little path behind the hotel, but take your thongs, it gets hot!) was a great surprise. Pool was delish, only downside was that the jacuzzi definitely needed a clean. Would love to go back :)

Room Tip: Try the bottom floor, as you get a courtyard bigger than the balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Cant wait to go back! The moment we arrived, we were stocked. Beautiful rooms,amazing! Just like being at home. The pool and spa, Well! Wish it was my back yard.! Just a quick walk into town! Im in love!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirrabilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Leanne and i arrived at Beachcomber and were warmly greeted by Leslie. We quickly made our way to room 3b on the ground floor next to bbq area and pool.
The rooms were well equiped, air con great to keep the room cool, full kitchen and comfy lounges. Bed was firm and comfortable.
The location is great - just a short walk to the beach and 5 min to town. All in all a very good and confortable place to stay whilst in Byron.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGabsterNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
184 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
1.5 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
0.4 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Beachcomber Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Beachcomber Resort

Property: Byron Beachcomber Resort
Address: 23 - 25 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Byron Beachcomber Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Byron Beachcomber Resort apartments in beautiful Byron Bay. We offer 34 spacious apartments suited to couples and singles alike. The property boasts a solar heated pool and spa, BBQ area and direct beach access to the pristine bay. It is also only a 5 minute walk to the heart of Byron where you can enjoy the cafes, shops, markets, main beach and all that this fabulous seaside town has to offer. The accommodation offers the best of both worlds as you can enjoy both relaxation and a chance to take in all the action. Make your next Byron Bay getaway a beachside escape at the Beachcomber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Byron Beachcomber Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Beachcomber Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing