We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in Dual Key apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good stay in Dual Key apartment”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We found Byron Beachcomber Resort a good option on our first stay in Byron Bay. Rooms were clean and spacious and in a good location. Road noise did not bother us even though we were in the front apartment. The resort pool is heated and was beautiful on the days that the beach was just too windy. We did find the bed too firm for our liking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lehfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    58
    24
    8
    7
See reviews for
32
87
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at this property in a one bedroom apartment for two nights. The location was just far enough away from partygoers but close enough to walk to the shops. The apartment is tired and some attention to detail is needed.Only one nights shampoo/conditioner provided. Could the inclusion of a face cloth become standard in accommodation venues? TV channel change was sooooo slow.Also we could not retrieve our key from our entrance door and had to ring for assistance. Not quite up to our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachcomberByronBay, Manager at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hi Maureen C,
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations fully. Our property is 11 years old but has had many updates in the last 2 years including beds, furniture, curtains, soft furnishings, and most recently bathroom and kitchen stone bench tops, basins and tap ware just to mention a few. We provide self-catered holiday accommodation but do provide a starter pack of shampoo/conditioner, soap, tea/coffee/milk/sugar, salt & pepper for your arrival and can provide replacements upon request. Face washers are also provided upon request. I am sorry that your door lock played up as they sometimes do, but we quickly fixed the problem.
On a positive note, I am pleased you enjoyed our location being only a short walk to the main street in the town centre, and our direct beach access, which attracts many of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Room 13A is very noisy due to the road immediately outside. I could not get to sleep until 2am and I was again woken by cars at 7am - not good! Upon requesting a room change I was advised that I needed to be back at the complex before 5pm otherwise the change was not possible - even though other rooms were available. Whilst the staff were very polite, I found the manager Bob to be inflexible and mis-trusting. I will not be returning to this property for my next stay in Byron Bay. Hopefully, Bob can learn something about customer service and be more accommodating to future guests!

Room Tip: Make sure to avoid 13A due to close proximity of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo8472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachcomberByronBay, Manager at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hi Ricardo P,
We were very accommodating to your apartment change request as we are happy to do this wherever possible. As we have a room change procedure in place that must be performed during office hours, we explained that the change must take place before 5pm closing time. We regret that this was not possible as you didn’t return to the complex in time and we are not able to perform room changes after office hours for security reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The room we had [11B] was OK but very bare. Absolute minimum of crockery and utensils. Good bed but badly stained blanket made us shudder. Badly stained cushions on casual chairs also very unsightly. Management need to really look over this room.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamM526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachcomberByronBay, Manager at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Hi GrahamM526,
Upon check out, we inspected the blanket and it was found to have no staining. The Vellux Velour blankets we use are made from a very fine plush velour pile. With frequent washing some of the pile has loosened and the darker colour underneath has become more prominent in some areas. We apologised and offered to change your bedding while you were here (before we were able to inspect the blanket) and you indicated that it was fine as you didn't need to use it. I apologise for some staining on the light coloured chair seats. Unfortunately they do not have removable covers and, therefore, need professional cleaning which we are unable to do after every check out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I returned to the Beachcomber and stayed in a studio late Feb this year and am happily going again in Oct. It’s a great place with a short couple minutes stroll along path to the beach just out the back as well as a short pleasant walk to town for great shops and restaurants. There’s a Thursday morning farmers market nearby as well that you can easily walk to.

Accommodation was very clean with new furnishings, management does a great job maintaining. Comfy beds and pillows too. Very good large shower and water pressure, spacious countertops for your personal items, good use of kitchenette. Convenient to have the toaster, fridge, kettle, microwave and dishes. Love the trees and pool area in the back with convenient BBQ and dining table area. Free washing machine and secure car park are a bonus too. Hard working and caring staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sienasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Very nice apartment, clean and tidy, with a lot of space and two small terraces.

The location is perfect, very close to the shopping/night area.

There's the possibility to use the bbq and a seimmingpool.

Nice place, a bit expensive but worth to relax a few days.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RocchenrollZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in June in a 1st floor studio apartment, & were impressed with the clean room & facilities. Found it looked like the photos. Location is perfect, few minutes walk to town centre & access to the beach. Managers friendly & helpful. Safe & secure underground car parking was good.
Would stay here again, Good Value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 52pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
1.5 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
0.4 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Beachcomber Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Beachcomber Resort

Property: Byron Beachcomber Resort
Address: 23 - 25 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Byron Beachcomber Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Byron Beachcomber Resort apartments in beautiful Byron Bay. We offer 34 spacious apartments suited to couples and singles alike. The property boasts a solar heated pool and spa, BBQ area and direct beach access to the pristine bay. It is also only a 5 minute walk to the heart of Byron where you can enjoy the cafes, shops, markets, main beach and all that this fabulous seaside town has to offer. The accommodation offers the best of both worlds as you can enjoy both relaxation and a chance to take in all the action. Make your next Byron Bay getaway a beachside escape at the Beachcomber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Byron Beachcomber Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Beachcomber Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing