We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location Plus” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Byron Beachcomber Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Manly, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Location Plus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This hotel reminds me of your typical Gold Coast self contained resort. Rooms are spacious and sufficiently appointed although the appliances could use some maintenance or upgrade. The hotel is easy to get to and find and once you are there you can leave your car in the free security car park and walk everywhere in Byron Bay. There is direct access to the beach out the back gate where you can swim, sunbake or just enjoy the beauty of the place. Town is a five minute walk, either along the beach or the road (or the old train track if you like adventure!). We had a ground floor studio which looked over the pool area and had a great al fresco area where we ate most of our meals. Bed was comfortable but pillows were terrible. This is not a high end resort as some reviews seem to expect but a great, family friendly accommodation in an A1 location.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back, overlooking the pool are the go. We had 9a and would happily stay again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fridgenald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    57
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
31
81
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We spent 3 nights in this place and unfortunately this is one of the worst value for money we had during our 1 month trip on the coast. Rooms, beds, bathrooms are extremely old and not convenient. Yes, it was the high season but 400$+ for a room without breakfast, no housekeeping (they even do not change the towels on a daily basis) is what we would call a "rip off". Another place where the management does not need to care about making customers happy as they are likely full most of the time due to their location. To be avoided if you can.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Blue_Ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachcomberByronBay, Manager at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and thank you for your comments as they help us to inform future guests about Byron Beachcomber Resort. Your stay with us during Easter coincides with the ever popular Blues and Roots Festival, making this time of year uniquely high season in Byron Bay, and prices do reflect the demand. We clearly market our property as self-catering with a weekly service, so I apologise that you were under a different impression. We offer studios and apartment accommodation only inclusive of resort amenities such as our heated salt-water pool, heated spa, BBQ, direct beach access, complimentary laundry and secure parking. A starter pack of fresh linen, towels, tea/coffee, soap/shampoo is supplied in rooms on arrival so you can relax after a day of travelling. Our property is 10 years old but is well maintained and the rooms are full of updates such as new furniture, beds, curtains, bedding, artwork, kitchen and bathroom refurbishments. We love welcoming our guests and helping in away we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed three nights in February 2014. Great location, short walk to town and other attractions. Direct access to the beach. Room was spacious and very clean. No problems with booking or after hours check-in.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room at the back which is what we got - overlooking the pool and off the main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn0911_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed two nights and loved the location! It's seconds to the beach and minutes to the shops and cafes. The gentleman at the front desk was honest, helpful and pleasant. He highly recommended hiking over to the light house via the beach - bring water and wear or pack comfortable shoes with you. We had a studio on the main floor; very spacious, quiet and clean. The kitchen was outfitted with all of the basic 'tools' to make your own meals but we took full advantage of the lovely restaurants and cafes in town. I would definitely recommend this to anyone planning on visiting Byron Bay =)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Beachcomber Resort in january 2014 with our 3 boys aged 9 -14
After reading reviews on here I had requested an apartment off the street...and we were allocated a fantastic ground floor 1bedroom plus studio dual key apartment. Both rooms were spacious, clean and absolutely perfect for our family. The furniture and fittings were fairly new, clean and all in great condition. The bathrooms probably need an update...but to be honest who cares when you're on holidays...and we loved having two bathrooms!
The apartment was really well airconditioned as well, which we needed at night.

The pool area was really lovely and we were surprised how quiet it was. We were often the only ones by the pool!

The resorts location is excellent. A very easy 5 min walk into town...and even a back gate which leads straight to the beach. We did walk along to the patrolled beach with our boys but it's not too far.
We were also really impressed to be provided with beach towels for our stay...another plus.

There is a backpackers right next door which had live music playing one night...but it was earlier in the evening and became very quiet by about 8pm. I imagine there are some strict noise regulations as we were never disturbed.

Car parking was available and secure...not that we needed to use our car at all.

Thanks so much to the management for a really great stay.

Room Tip: A room off the road is probably best as it's a very busy spot. We enjoyed being on the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazzandgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We have now stayed at the Beachcomber six times and have recommended it to many of our friends. My wife and I took our 4 month old baby girl for the first time in March 2013 and again found it very inviting and perfect for our needs. The location to town is approx 3 or 4 minute walk and the property backs onto the beach. We stayed in the 1 bedroom apartment and found this to be comfortably big enough with a baby. We normally stay in the Studio room which we have never had any issues with. The staff are always pleasant and helpful. The pool is great as well as the free BBQ area which stands beside the pool. All in all I love this property and highly recommend it to anyone wanting to visit beautiful Byron Bay.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sab C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We found the location to be very convenient-five minute walk to all the shops and cafés but far enough to be away for all the noise. Also direct access to the beach from the back of the complex. Rooms and bathrooms were spacious and comfortable but fairly minimal in terms of supplies (eg towels, toiletries) and decor is somewhat dated. Rooms had very thin walls so if you're unlucky enough to have noisy neighbours then you will hear everything.
Calling it a resort is a bit of a stretch. Room is only serviced once per week, you are expected to throw your rubbish out a the end of your stay, reception is absent anytime outside business hours and the pool is fairly small with some poolside chairs but none under any shade whatsoever.
In saying all of that we had a very nice stay here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeccalikesfood87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#9 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#27 of 32 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Beachcomber Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Beachcomber Resort

Property: Byron Beachcomber Resort
Address: 23 - 25 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Byron Beachcomber Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Byron Beachcomber Resort apartments in beautiful Byron Bay. We offer 34 spacious apartments suited to couples and singles alike. The property boasts a solar heated pool and spa, BBQ area and direct beach access to the pristine bay. It is also only a 5 minute walk to the heart of Byron where you can enjoy the cafes, shops, markets, main beach and all that this fabulous seaside town has to offer. The accommodation offers the best of both worlds as you can enjoy both relaxation and a chance to take in all the action. Make your next Byron Bay getaway a beachside escape at the Beachcomber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Byron Beachcomber Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Beachcomber Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing