We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach Hotel
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Only good things to say about this centrally located, aesthetically decorated and charmingly staffed hotel. We hope to definitely return. Large, spacious rooms very suitably appointed for all our needs. Lovely pool and public areas all with a real local flavour. It is individual and low key. The staff were unobtrusive, informed, laid back and helpful, just the flavour for this town. The interiors were tasteful with low key design details that said "stylish and confidant" without being demanding. A special thank you to Sue at the front desk who made my boys and I feel so welcome and at ease from the moment we arrived.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferAmeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    63
    47
    28
    33
See reviews for
52
74
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We booked this last Thursday night in a hurry and we regretted not heeding the reviews on trip advisor.
This review is pretty similar to the bad reviews!

I think this hotel relies on first timers only as you would not willingly come back

The hotel was in need of a facelift 15 years ago. The noise in the room at night from the hotel nightclub was crazy. The pool photos are typical, it looks great, in reality it's not as per the photos.

It's location to the town and village is the only positive but it comes at a huge cost and noise from beach club

This hotel is overpriced and not impressive in the slightest.
When we checked out we were not asked how our stay was as is the norm in any place. This means they either always hear the truth or don't want to continually address the complaints.

Would I stay here again. Not a hope

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mickjcreedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Byron Bay hotels

Tauranga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We decided to eat at the Beach Hotel on our last trip to Byron Bay in June. We've visited the town many times in the past and have really enjoyed the ambiance of the pub part of the hotel. I had a Chicken Ceasar Salad ($21!) hoping that it would be worth the money. My husband had a burger with chips. Well, the chicken was bashed to within an inch of its life to make it about 3mm thick and then deep fried for so long, I was unable to cut it up. The bacon and croutons obviously came from a packet. They were uniform in shape and tasteless. The salad itself was a couple of lettuce leaves. My husband's burger was very dry, and the chips were cold. We got a beer from the bar and this took about 5 minutes because there was only one member of staff who was not in a hurry and 4 people waiting to be served. Staff came and went but never helped. The decor is very neglected. We will not be going back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Great location. Rooms are clean and a great size.
The place is starting to get a little dated and could do with a renovation but overall was a great stay.
Big tick was a very comfortable bed and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiogaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I came here in the 90's and really was amazed. Returned 12 years ago with my wife and still a lovely place.
Just got back a week ago and boy , how run down , uninviting and horrble its become.
The food was ojk but way overpriced . The staff were that rude and the security belong in a zoo . They had no manners or people skills at all.
The toilets were worse than a backpackers hostel and when I brought to their attention , the manager without taking his eyes off the tab screen gave me a sidewards glance and told me to go and clean them.

Room Tip: Stay away if you are a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Damian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warriewood NSW
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We have always loved a meal or two at the Beach Hotel every time we are in Byron. This time however we really seemed to notice that there is a need for some maintenance here, the whole place in the Pub and beer garden area just looking the worse for wear. That plus the $18 burger prices (they were delicious, but that is an extreme price for a hamburger) gave me the feeling that it is a shame to see it going this way.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SasD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

Only stopped here for a quick brekky on our first morning in Byron, and found the food and location good enough to want to spend a bit of time here. The views are outrageously good, as is the fruit loaf! Lovely place from which to start the day.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RosyBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
0.0 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#17 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Property: Beach Hotel
Address: Bay Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Hotel Resort offers a location unrivalled in a region renowned for its natural beauty and numerous beaches. The 4 star boutique resort is positioned on Main Beach overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Julian Rocks and Mt Warning and backs onto the centre of Byron Bays shops, cafes and restaurants. Each of the 25 luxurious suites are spacious and well equipped to enhance your Byron experience. You can practically roll out of bed and onto the beach or let our friendly staff assist with planning the days activities. Stay one night or stay a while.Resort facilities include:- Beach Frontage- Luxurious pool (heated in winter)- Poolside heated spa- Air-conditioning / Heating - Secure, undercover carparking- 24 hour reception- Balcony or courtyard in every room (smoking permitted outdoors)- Complimentary Wi Fi- Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities- Minibar- King Beds- Flat screen TV’s, DVD players and AustarExperience the classic Byron beachside holiday. Simply sublime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing