We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place but a few too many rules”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We loved nearly everything about the Oasis Resort and Treetop Houses except the excessive rules and regulations. No sitting on the balcony after 10pm, notices in the room telling us we had to put everything in the dishwasher otherwise we'd be charged a cleaning few and then a departure letter was put at our door telling us what we could and couldn't do on departure. A bit much in our minds.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madfads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByronOasis, Manager at The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Hi there, Thanks heaps for your review. lovely to hear you loved everything. Re the balcony noise after 10.00 pm -we try to walk the fine line in terms of maintaining an overall ethic of peace and tranquility and also not intruding on guests fun and use of their balcony's at night while balancing this with other guests right to sleep. So we just ask people to move inside or talk quietly after 10.00 for the sake of others - agree this will not suit everyone. In terms of departure letter - thanks for your feed back I will review this and check with others how they experience being asked to load dishwasher and put their rubbish in bins provided - perhaps we need to re-word it. Like most hotels we do very occasionally charge for extra clean when apartments have been excessively dirtied and we are required to let people know this. Again, perhaps we need to re-word.
Thanks so much for your review and useful feedback.
Lorraine and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is our second stay here and would stay again.. New owners are just lovely & run a tight ship all facilities are great.. Laying by the pool, Have a game of tennis, work out at the gym, Do yoga on the deck in the fantastic tropical garden surroundings...At night choose two location to Bbq at, Then a stroll at Tallows beach... Or pop in the car for a ice cream in beautiful Byron only a 2 minute drive away! Enjoy see u next year

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stay here if you can. We walked into our apartment and were very happy we'd come here. They're very comfortable units in a fantastic location. Great views of the forest and the sound of Tallow Beach nearby, a 5 minute walk through woodland. The sea is a bit too choppy for swimming, especially for kids. The surf is constant and muscular. But it's a beautiful and quiet beach.

Staff friendly and helpful. Large apartment, tastefully decorated and furnished, very well equipped. Large balcony. We had a washing machine and dryer (in fact clothes dried quickly on the balcony on the rack provided). Kitchen had everything we could want. Even a picnic basket and picnic plates etc. Facilities are excellent - tennis court, pool, spa, surprisingly well equipped gym, games room, two separate and very nice BBQ areas. The whole place has been really well thought out and is run very well.

Some of the units seem to be owned by people living there, the rest are rented out. The treetop houses look amazing.

It's a bit of a distance from the town centre - maybe 45 min walk - but an easy cycle or taxi trip (taxis came quickly when called and were inexpensive). And the distance means you're away from the noise of Byron, which is great if you're not up for a wild time. In fact there's an expectation that people will keep the noise down here, which is fine. It's peaceful without being monastic.

Very good value for money. We got a discount by booking direct by phone. Probably a lot more expensive and booked solid during school holidays but we came a week later and booked a few hours before we arrived. Had to pay a deposit on the phone but that was ok: I can't imagine anyone arriving and not wanting to stay.

I imagine this is a great place to bring kids.

Wifi is weak and you need to go onto the balcony for it, but it's fine for emails and surfing the net. Bikes are available but you have to pay for them. They could do with a tap to wash sand off your feet when you get back from the beach. And it would be nice if they threw in some beach towels to take to the pool/beach (I think you can get them from the office). But all this is small beer compared to the sheer pleasure we got from staying here. We loved it.

Room Tip: Get a second floor unit if you can - the views are better than on the first floor. But that wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByronOasis, Manager at The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Hi, thanks so much for your review - we love to hear from our guests!
Just want to say it is a 20-25 min walk to town and we do have taps and an outside shower to wash sand off .
Thanks heaps for your review and all the great feedback and good information it provides. We wish you many more happy travels.
Lorraine and phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Friendly Staff, good service. Everything is neat & tidy, good maintaned surrounding. A real quiet place, all u hear is the roaring sound of the ocean and all the different birds. There is no traffic or other noise.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights, 2 adults & 2 children. The Oasis is about 2km from the main drag but only 400 metres from Tallow beach so we were lulled to sleep by the sound of the ocean.
Our 2 bedroom apartment was beautifully decorated & well appointed. It was lovely sitting out on the balcony. The resort is beautifully maintained by the friendly new managers & their staff. The pool is a great size, the tennis court has night lights & gardens, games room, gym & BBQ areas were immaculate.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

we recently stayed at the oasis in apartment 24 and had a blissful time. Apartment is positioned in the best spot of the complex, top floor, best ocean views and up the end away from any pool noise. Would highly recommend, obviously thoughtfully appointed, stylishly furnished and beautifully presented. Many nights spent sipping bubbles on the balcony terrace catching the sea breezes that can only be enjoyed on the upper level. The oasis is only a 10-15 mins walk into town but so quiet and peaceful. We loved it and have already booked this apartment for next years holidays.

Room Tip: number 24 is last apartment, top floor and has the best elevated sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed for 9 nights as a family in apartment 9. It was roomy and light, lovely big verandah. Bedrooms spacious and enjoyed being able to open french doors in our bedroom. Even though the resort was 10 mins from town I preferred it as town was very busy,it was nice to have the quietness. Gardens were beautifully kept,bird life just lovely. My only niggle was that considering we were there in the middle of summer and school holidays I would have liked the tennis court and pool to be available later than 9pm,I think 10 would be reasonable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MarieMay749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
3.1 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
427 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 34 in Byron Bay
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
1.2 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
1.3 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses

Address: 24 Scott St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range: £122 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for families, friends and couples, Oasis Byron Bay accommodation offers fully self-contained, relaxed, family friendly apartments and treetop houses in a tranquil setting bordering the Arakwal National Park in beautiful Byron Bay. Magnificent Tallow Beach is just a 400 metre walk through the National Park while the bustling heart of Byron Bay, where you will find cafes, restaurants and boutique shops, is only a 5 minute drive away.Our wide range of accommodation choices includes Self Contained Holiday Apartments, Treetop Houses, Ibis Beach House and VUE Beach Houses. Set in lush tropical gardens you will enjoy the comfort and uniqueness of The Oasis and our resort style facilities which include; a heated pool, spa, sauna, floodlit tennis court, poolside BBQs, well equipped gym, games room and children's facilities.Enjoy the best of both worlds at The Oasis Byron Bay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses Hotel Byron Bay
The Oasis Resort And Treetop Houses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing