We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to scratch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
2 reviews
“Not up to scratch”
Reviewed 16 December 2009

We stayed at Oasis in October for 3 nights and were sadly disappointed. Stayed in the treetop houses and the photos on the web definitely don't stack up to what is actually there. Treetop house we stayed in needed basic cleaning (we found this shocking considering the price paid per night $365). Basic things in house were broken on arrival such as blinds in both bedrooms, pots and pans in kitchen cupboards dirty with obvious food scraps left on them from previous patrons. Definitely not worth the money paid and not the "luxurious" resort we thought it was going to be.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2_Nomadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    57
    14
    9
    0
See reviews for
95
44
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Units were clean but a little tired, as has been said before, but facilities and location make up for this.
New owners, so could improve. It certainly has the potential to be a hiden gem.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay of three nights. Owners and staff were very friendly and helpfull indeed.
Pool was clean and warm. Sauna and spa, Two tennis courts (floodlit) Pool, table tennis and Gym. A playroom for very young children. Outside BBQ, and the free WiFi worked for us.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianbal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bali
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2009

We reside in Bali and make frequent trips home to Byron Bay to visit my father in the area. As we have kids in mix, we needed a fully functioning home away from home situation to cook, wash and have a resort setting to have a break and walk to the beach.
We wanted to be in town but not in the middle of it all.
This place was perfect. Perched on the beautiful Arawak Nationally Park, a beach lover or nature lovers/walker's dream.
The units are not all renovated but ours was and i understand this is how their rate structure is presented. On the top level you can see the horizon, large balconies , internally close to 100m 2 - ample, and that magic crashing waves sound doubled by the wildlife if neighbours.
It is very well priced and there is a new management team in place - brand new. They were nothing short of delightful. I rang down for assistance for the wifi - the managers followed up with a call to see that all was in order and we had a lovely chat about their ambition to do something really special with the already terrific faciliites. These people are professional, attentive and have vast experience in service.
i felt compelled, in their defence to set the record straight as reading thru the reviews, they have unfairly carried over some dirty baggage from the previous, lazy and duly retired managment.
We will return again and again.....thanks to Amanda and Simon for their enthusiasm and unrelenting assistance. oh, and the lovely charming Jeremy...their gracious father.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGoodStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

My wife and I stayed in a top floor apartment for four nights. It was well equipped, neat, clean and well maintained. The two bedroom apartment was a good size, ideal for a family with two children. The view across the national park to the ocean 400 meters away was attractive, particularly at sun rise. The walk to the beach through the bush track in the morning was superb, with wild birds entertaining us the entire way. The beach permits a two hour power walk or great run on flat, hard sand without getting your feet wet. Oasis is not a five star resort, but is a great alternative for people who just want a good place to stay at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakartaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
3.1 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
332 reviews
2.0 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
1.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
1.2 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
238 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses

Property: The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Address: 24 Scott St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for families, friends and couples, Oasis Byron Bay accommodation offers fully self-contained, relaxed, family friendly apartments and treetop houses in a tranquil setting bordering the Arakwal National Park in beautiful Byron Bay. Magnificent Tallow Beach is just a 400 metre walk through the National Park while the bustling heart of Byron Bay, where you will find cafes, restaurants and boutique shops, is only a 5 minute drive away.Our wide range of accommodation choices includes Self Contained Holiday Apartments, Treetop Houses, Ibis Beach House and VUE Beach Houses. Set in lush tropical gardens you will enjoy the comfort and uniqueness of The Oasis and our resort style facilities which include; a heated pool, spa, sauna, floodlit tennis court, poolside BBQs, well equipped gym, games room and children's facilities.Enjoy the best of both worlds at The Oasis Byron Bay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oasis Resort And Treetop Houses
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing