We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our magic anniversary”
Review of Rae's on Wategos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Byron Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rae's on Wategos
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2012

After dinning at the wonderful Fish Cafe many times, we decided to stay at Rae's for our wedding anniversary in the Penthouse Suite Mirabella which was absolutely stunning. We felt like we were cocooned in luxury and beauty. I even managed to get my husband to join me in the spa for the best massage we have ever had. Highly recommended for a special occasion. Love it.

Room Tip: Mirabella Penthouse is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

I had both phone and email confirmation of my booking for my honeymoon only to receive a call from the manager a week before travel to advise that the two different people I spoke to who confirmed my booking and took my deposit were only new and made a mistake.... I found this extremely frustrating and very rude considering that one of the two people who confirmed my booking worked as the reservations manager....
Very disappointing and a big let down considering all the travel arrangments (flights & hire car) had already been paid for and was left with no accomodation...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
12  Thank islandhopperau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Never in my life have I ever felt so swindled and I have had my fair share of disappointments. This mob will charge you more money per night than a suite at the peninsula in Hong Kong will set you back and there hasn't been a significant refurbishment for over 15 years.
*No one to greet you at check-in
*no one to carry your bags up the steps
*dark & dingy room
*uncomforatble mattress
*a pint-sized balcony with leg room (comparable to that you would find in an economy class seat of a 747).
To be fair, you can see how long ago this would have had a certain charm at its peak. It is attractive from the exterior, the furnsihings you can tell would have been high end in their day & there would have been limited other options in this part of Byron - but the presentation is absolutely inexcusable and totally unpalatable for people paying the ridiculous rates they charge.
I look forward to never setting foot in this 'clip joint' again.

Room Tip: I guess if you were held at 'gun-point' you would have to go with a penthouse but at these r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gunsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

ok so byron bay is the cheapest of places, so although the price tag was high, we were not getting too carried away. unfortunately the place was even less than the low expectations we had set for it, as far as value for money goes. if it wasn't for the truly great food and well matched wine, we would have skipped this place in a hearbeat. but due to the popularity of byron bay we had to book this place early just to guarntee ourselves a room for the night, but overall we were left dissapointed. it might have been one of the best in its day but it needs to be revamped to bring it up to date.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jet_set_girl_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

I had the absolute pleasure of staying at Rae's recently. Is been meaning to 'experience' the Rae's experience that friends and colleagues had shared with me over the years and I finally got around to doing it. I've never warned to staff like I have at Rae's, they're all extremely passionate about making your experience at Rae's a positive one and there is no stone left unturned. The restaurant is affordable and the massage and facial is the absolute best I've ever experienced. The Spa staff are trained by Marionne (who is world renowned for her facials) and aside from being a spa goddess she exudes wholesome goodness, a rare find these days. I loved my experience so much my daughter and I went back a couple of weeks later. And, I intend making it a regular pit stop. I love Rae's.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

To start off. I have travelled many parts of Australia and also Europe and asia. Never have I come across such an overpriced and ridiculous establishment. Sure enough it would be acceptable if we had a decent stay, but I was disappointed . The only thing I can say, is the food was absolutely sensational. They are doing some really top of the end stuff in that kitchen.
Staying in the hotel, it was like they were on a budget and everything was half done. Like the cleanliness of the bathroom and overall efforts to satisfy customers. We were shocked to be welcomed by a lady at the reception who simply acted as of we were less of a person. Like hello? We are the guests. She was impollite and mean. Like she was frustrated with our presence. We were then greeted by a young boy dressrd in chef uniform who kindly offered to take our luggage to our rooms. We read the drinks menu and decided to take trip into town to the cellars in town to save money. We then phoned reception to get some glasses and maybe some snacks or nibbles. There was a problem with that, they did not have any snacks or nuts or anything g to offer us. Ok. Well can we please have 2 glasses for our room. She says yes I'll be up straight away. 25 minutes passed . No glasses . Really?
Anyway. In my opinion don't bother staying in the hotel, eat for dinner and you will find yourself in an amazingly pleasurable state with the delectable menu.
Thanks but I'd rather keep my hard earned dollars.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Skysthelimit420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

An amazing dinner at rae's restaurant looking over moonlit beach. A very romantic location, excellent food and service all ending with a marriage proposal, fitting ending to a great evening at Rae's

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank wellens7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#18 of 34 in Byron Bay
105 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
0.1 mi away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#25 of 34 in Byron Bay
24 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#4 of 34 in Byron Bay
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rae's on Wategos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rae's on Wategos

Address: 6 - 8 Marine Pde, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rae's on Wategos in Byron Bay is Australia's most iconic boutique hotel. Voted one of the world's top 25 hotels by Conde Nast Traveller Magazine, Rae's offers a blissful and unforgettable Byron Bay experience. Our restaurant offers modern Australian cuisine catering for large functions or romantic moments. Our spa is a sacred space of healing at the hands of the highest calibre therapists. Calming curved walls, rich soothing decor, this is the most intimate getaway in a secluded corner of Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rae`s On Watego`s Hotel Byron Bay
Raes On Wategos Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing