We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Bliss”
Review of Rae's on Wategos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Byron Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rae's on Wategos
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We stayed in the hotel in the winter. The room was fantastic with a huge daybed which caught the winter sun. The nights were crisp but we had a beautiful logfire and were able to dine sumptuously in our room. We saw all the rooms in the place and thought all were funky and unique. For us the day temperatures of 22-25C were just right with the ocean about 20-22C. We enjoyed swimming with baby dolphins just in front of the hotel!!
The restaurant prices were expensive but you look at the extensive international wine list and range of fresh produce (we saw delivered daily) we had no fault with it. Although we found the service a bit abrupt on occasion.
Top marks to the day spa run by the delightful Marionne, truly international class here. My partner enjoyed a 2 hour ritual which set the tone for the evening.
Top marks also for the just right continental breakfast(free) served with cheery good morning.
Overall we found the hotel staff very obliging, knowledgable able to give very good local information and advice like the jogging/walking tracks in the forest surrounding the Cape.
So we were surprised by the negativity of some reviews but could only give 5 stars ourselves. We found the place very funky and relaxed, we never saw the other guests except at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winoseti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2009

Nothing could have prepared us for the beauty, tranquility and luxury of this truly unique hotel... to fall asleep to the sound of the waves and wake up overlooking the sandy white beach and sparkling ocean... absolute heaven. Thankyou to the wonderful staff who couldn't have been more attentive. Veronica

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silververonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

I stayed for almost a week and was blown away by this charming pure beachfront palace!
What a pity to hear negative stories as for me my this was a standout holiday and the location plus personal experience made this the closest i have come to heaven.
Their restaurant has top notch royal thai . . not to mention the freshest sea food fare I have experienced to date.
This exotic small hotel is even complete with a professional n glamorously fitted out but very private spa (try their facials pure bliss) ! Also the establishment hosts a wide range of other small touches in service and room detail which made me feel so relaxed & special.
Rae's is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world (and I have seen many of them) and it has gentle, top notch surf waves which are common place .
The vibe is relaxed and sure it is definately no chain hotel like Sheraton complete with ample rooms or kiddies pools -but that is why I loved it . . pure elegance and personal service make it standout.
If boutique is your style you MUST give this one in a million gem a go!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misstropicana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

Rae's is a nice hotel AS LONG AS YOU DON'T PAY FOR IT ! The prices are simply ridiculous for what you get. Just go have dinner there. The location is good, very close to the beach but it is not the best beach and you get a microscopic garden and pool, no social rooms for this price. You need a car in Byron Bay and there is nothing outside the hotel so forget it and stay at BYRONS AT BYRON for (half price, huge rooms and pool, walking distance to beach, amenities, etc).

Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
2  Thank friendguyfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

This hotel's selling point is its wonderful position, terrific restaurant and really friendly staff. It's heading to the slightly shabby side of boutique especially for the price but the location -lovely !

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellavespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2009

I had been ther 4 year earlier for one night and had a nice stay

What has happened since I dont kow

For the amount of money they are charging the owners need to take a good look at the package they offer

Booked a room with no email or notification or confirmation just a call on the morning to ask if i am coming which makes you feel really certain they care....

I arrived 1/2 hour early ( at 2pm) to no one at reception and no effort to help get me settled....

My room was not ready and when finally ready the dirty floors was a poor welcome, doors do get stuck...aircon is dusty and old system, room had a damp uncared feel to it despite being spacious and large size.

no help with bags or even an offer to assist

Turn down service doesn't clean room just folds bed sheets and changes towels

The light fittings were either broken not working or simply not installed

Cable channels are stingy selection of the cheapest package they could open all channels for this money

breakfast at menu a la carte was $45 a head is not worth it

No bath robes until day 3 when I visited the spa

no glasses for water or mugs for coffee

towels and bed lined are crunchy at best form local linen supllier turck that arrives each - and the cheap stuff you get in 2 star accomoadtion

all the bath products are same as motel down the road which charges $60 a night - organic but cheap and not good

Dinner at the restaurant at $45 main and $45 for veg option is not worth it at all - very average meal and chef/ menu needs a rework ASAP - Thai is dated and lunch menu is overpriced as well at $45 fish and chips

waiters are a great compensation for the very poor food but thats not why you eat there. dirty ceiling above reasturant add to overall lack of care that eminates form this hotel

rooms are old style eccentric and a bit like the Sheraton mirgae meets faulty towers meets morroco gone worng overall doesn't work f

my other friend who had similar experience a few days before

they are clearly resting on laurels of past years and either dont care or making so much money they don't need to care....but maybe this will help move them to do something again

best thing they can do is close and renovate then start over with a fresh energy to deliver premium product again

spa is world class service and products and spa manager is very experinced which saved the whole trip....worth visting if you dont stay here you can still book treatments.....spa again is SUPERIOR to anything in byron bay ....

Its is a beautiful location at one the world best beach but that's not enough for $700- $1250 a night, Water mark at $400 a night is simpler and better value....or else save your money and go somewhere better


I would not reccommend going to Raes at Wategos

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank leisuremaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Through an administrative error my husband and I ended up in a 2 room suite. It was large, nicely decorated with big sofas, carved Balinese-style furniture, a balcony with a daybed and 2 marble bathrooms. It had a partial view of the sea through some foliage. It was also extortionately expensive!

The room was above the restaurant so there was regular noise of crockery and cutlery and the larger bathroom must have been above the kitchen as it smelled of cooking most of the time.

One bedroom had a TV, the other had an air-conditioning unit, neither had both.

The manager called us by our first names from arrival which we Brits found over familiar (!) but might well be fine for chilled Aussies. However when when I told her the in-room safe wasn't working and that both basins had dripping taps she answered 'I know' - not exactly the answer I was expecting.

We had a snack in the restaurant on arrival which was a bit fussy and the in-room breakfast was very pricey ($8AUD for toast)!

The hotel is a few yards from the lovely beach but as it is in a residential area there are no amenities at all nearby. Everything is a $AUD10 cab ride away in town. Even with return taxi fares we still think all our meals cost less than in-house dining - and had more atmosphere.

If you are a surfer with money to burn then maybe Rae's is for you. It certainly wasn't for us and we left sooner than planned.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jo1964London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
2.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#18 of 34 in Byron Bay
106 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
0.1 mi away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#25 of 34 in Byron Bay
24 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#4 of 34 in Byron Bay
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rae's on Wategos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rae's on Wategos

Address: 6 - 8 Marine Pde, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rae's on Wategos in Byron Bay is Australia's most iconic boutique hotel. Voted one of the world's top 25 hotels by Conde Nast Traveller Magazine, Rae's offers a blissful and unforgettable Byron Bay experience. Our restaurant offers modern Australian cuisine catering for large functions or romantic moments. Our spa is a sacred space of healing at the hands of the highest calibre therapists. Calming curved walls, rich soothing decor, this is the most intimate getaway in a secluded corner of Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rae`s On Watego`s Hotel Byron Bay
Raes On Wategos Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing