We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Byron Central Apartments
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location but not worth the money”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights in a deluxe king. Was a good location but plenty of other places with better accomodation.

The staff were friendly but we turned up for check in late afternoon and room was not ready. We were told to check the room n see if it was clean and come back if it wasnt. It was not so we were given keys to another room which they had really just done on the first place.

The room itself had a terrible musty smell and the blankets (no duvet) for the sofa bed was dirty n smelt like it had not been cleaned in a long time. Bedding in general was not the cleanest. Ended getting very bad allergies n asthna due to the dust. The shower door didnt close and the toilet brush was disgusting and full of previous waste.

All in all the place needed a very thorough clean and a serious update. Would not be staying there again was way to overpriced for what u get...plenty better out there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel-bugalugs24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Hi Jessie,
Firstly let me apologise for not meeting your expectations. We have shown your review to our house keeping staff who were mortified and are re-examining our cleaning protocols to ensure we get it right every time. All of our bedding for the winter season is currently being updated. The room you stayed in was fully renovated less then 9 months ago so its fairly up to date. For future guest please note we have a friendly onsite manager who is there to help out immediately should you have a problem day or night.

Cheers,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    89
    28
    9
    3
See reviews for
60
97
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I had a lovely stay at the apartment where i kept extending my stay. The lady at reception was so helpful and friendly and kind, when you travel on your own was lovely to have her there!.
The studio I stayed in was gorgeous, everything you could possibly want.

I Would definitely return

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Hi Steffi,
Thank you for your glowing review and were glad you had a great stay.

Cheers,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed here for three nights in February with two friends. Apartment perfect - very clean with modern well equipped kitchen and great shower. Loft bedroom lovely, well decorated with really comfy bed and enough privacy for friend downstairs on sofa bed. Good location - walking distance to everywhere but tucked away in quiet area. Independent veggie cafe in reception area serving delicious food by friendly staff, supermarket and bottle shop a few minutes walk away.

Unlucky to catch cyclonic weather in February so didn't get to use the pool, BBQ area or enjoy the beach but short walk to great live music at night made up for not much to do during the day! Would definitely recommend this place and stay again if I'm ever fortunate enough to make it back to Oz.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefficoconut16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
We're so glad you had a great stay, sorry about the inclement weather!

Cheers,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodalla, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Awesome place too stay right in the center of town.
Friendly staff!
No car necessary you can walk everywhere.
Close to beach too.
Loft room was clean and tidy and provided everything needed to cook.
Couldn't have asked for better!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Hi Donna,
We're really glad you had a great stay.

Cheers,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The location of Byron Central Apartments is fantastic - right in the middle of town but without any noise from the street. You can walk everywhere so there's no need for a car, although underground parking is provided for free. Restaurants, bars and shops are all close by.

Aside from the location, the actual apartment was not pleasant and I was disappointed given how much we had paid. The kitchen, bathroom and general decor was very old and unclean. There were ants all over the bathroom and stains on the walls, curtains and tiles. The room smelled very musty despite having the windows open. The only redeeming feature of the room for me was the huge bed! It might be that we just didn't get a good room and others are more appropriate for how much you pay.

We didn't use the other facilities such as the pool or barbeque, as I wanted to spend as much time in Byron itself as possible.

Overall I wouldn't choose to stay here again although if location is the main driver for you, then it's worth considering.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLM1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Hi RLM1981,
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and offer our apologies for any disappointment you may have had.

An important note to future guests - The reason we rank so highly in Tripadvisor is mainly due to our renovated deluxe apartments which generally only cost 10% more then the standard loft apartments. This cost can often be offset by booking directly through our website which is always the cheapest place to book. Please let us know you have found us through Tripadvisor to ensure you are looking after.

Cheers,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights last weekend. We stayed in one of the unrefurbished loft apartments, which was clean and comfortable and as described on the website. Check-in was friendly and efficient.
The location is excellent, you can experience nearly all of what Byron has to offer without needing a car. The beach and plenty of cafes, restaurants, bars and shops are within easy walking distance.
The only reason I may hesitate to stay here again was the noise. We had a room facing the street, away from the main pool area, however there was a communal table in the courtyard outside our door and we had some particularly noisy neighbours. Since our room faced the street, we could also hear a lot of noise from the backpackers up the street. It was an unofficial long weekend, so depending on when you stay, this may not always be an issue. This would be a great place to stay if you're traveling with a group, but if you want some quiet, you may need to consider staying a bit further out of town/away from the main street.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SBBMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Hi SBBMelbourne,
Thank you for posting a review and we are really pleased you enjoyed your time. Our location and value are two of the best things about Byron Central Apartments. The street we are located on is quieter then most especially when compared to Shirley street which has traffic pretty much around the clock.

Cheers,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Recently stayed 3 nights in Byron.We found Byron Central met all our needs.It was clean and comfortable.Good size and a kitchen was a bonus if we wanted to eat in.The pool area was great lovely saltwater pool.Even though the rooms surround the pool we found the noise was not a problem.Great location,close to shops,beach and restaurants.Staff were friendly and helpful.
Value for the price we paid.Will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Hi Robyn,
Thank you for the great review we'll hopefully see you again in the near future.

Cheers,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
186 reviews
2.1 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#3 of 32 in Byron Bay
169 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Central Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Central Apartments

Property: Byron Central Apartments
Address: 5 - 7 Byron St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byron Central Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Byron Central Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Central Apartments Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing