We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great for families - great location - great weather” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Byron Central Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Byron Central Apartments
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for families - great location - great weather”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

2 families met up for the long weekend in Byron - we enjoyed our time here. Kitchens are great for families. Great location to walk everywhere beach / shops / restaurant - will visit again. Still warm to go to the beach for a walk or to play in the sand

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uniquetravelbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Hi Uniquetravelbrisbane,
Thank you for the kind words and really glad to hear we helped facilitate to some quality family time :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    85
    28
    9
    3
See reviews for
58
89
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

A week ago I made a reservation by telephone for a date two and a half months into the future and gave my credit card details to secure the booking. When I received confirmation of the booking by email I saw that payment in full had been taken. I immediately emailed back and asked why this had happened, and also asked for details of their cancellation and no-show policy. I received a reply from Susana who said that Scott "did not clearly explain" that they require a minimum of 50% of the amount to be paid as a deposit. Scott didn't in fact explain anything, and obviously just decided to take the full amount as a "deposit" anyway. Susana also said that a cancellation less than two weeks prior to would result in a loss of the deposit unless managemet was able to fill the room for the particular date/dates of the booking (how would you ever know) and not only that, a cancellation attracted a payment of $20.00 to cover "administration" costs.
I own, and for many years ran, a motel. I have never heard of such extraordinary conditions and it is inexcusable that a potential guest is not made aware of them at the time of booking. To take a deposit, let alone such a large one, to possibly lose your money if you cancel less than two weeks before the expected date of arrival, and to incur an "administration fee" for cancellation are not common industy practice. What administration? Resevations, cancellations, alterations - this is the day to day business of running a property. This is supposed to be the "hospitality" industry where one hopes to be treated as a valued guest, not treated in this greedy and opportunistic fashion. I cancelled at the cost of $20.00 - a charge that I believe was questionable as I had not been made aware of it at the time of booking. So if you are making a reservation to stay at this property, before you hand over your credit card details, make sure you ask for their terms and conditions to be fully explained to you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Judith,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings. We understand cancellations can be stressful and for that reason we generally have a "no questions asked" refund policy with a $20 admin fee. The admin fee covers us for credit card commission charges which we still get charged and the extra administration involved with processing refunds which also includes extra book work at the end of month. We are a bit different to a motel in that our complex is owned by many people which is why there is extra book work.

In terms of the full charge being taken up front for the booking. The industry has changed dramatically over the last several years with the advent of the last minute booking sites which generally take the full charge upfront. We have adapted to the change and have matched their policies to be similar. However having said that, if you book direct with us we are happy to take a smaller deposit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Excellent accommodation nothing to complain about it was spot on. Close to Restaurants and cafes. Right next to Sundive dive shop so just a short stroll to the shop.That was the primary reason we were in Byron on a diving holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meggscooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodalla, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

These Apartments are right in the middle if town. Walking distance to everything.. This is the second time we have stayed. Awesome clean rooms with a kitchen you can cook in. Equipped with everything you need. Can highly recommend it..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomdon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 20 years ago when friends and I ventured to Byron for schoolies week. Byron was a different town then, but Byron Central Apartments were perfect for us - accommodation neat and clean, the proprietors kindly tolerant of 10 school leavers. 20 years on I needed to stay somewhere to stay overnight on a journey through Byron and booked in here again. Once again I found it perfect for my needs - neat, clean, well priced, central and the proprietors friendly and helpful. Byron might have changed but this place remains reliably great!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

As we parked outside, we feared the worst, as the Apartments are poorly signed and reception is at the front of a rather tatty arcade. Check in was easy and convivial and our "loft" apartment was spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable. It is convenient for restaurants and the beach. A great find.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
174 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have stayed here every time we come to Byron for many years, as it is so convenient and central. You can walk to the beach, the lighthouse and there is an underground car park which is handy to keep the car cool.
We had a loft room - room 8- which was noisy most early mornings as the garbage trucks pick up big metal bins from the shops behind the apartments. We paid $ 10 for internet access for a week but after 3 days of checking e-mails without downloading anything else the service stopped, as the download limit is so low.
The internet reception was very patchy in the room and you have to go outside to get connected.
There are a number of backpacker travel agencies in town that let you use the internet for free for 30 minutes so I would not bother paying for it.
The swimming pool was not busy at all and the BBQ is handy to have as there is an Aldi supermarket close by that sells reasonably priced meat if you want to eat in.

Other than that it was another great stay, with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustymiller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#12 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Central Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Central Apartments

Property: Byron Central Apartments
Address: 5 - 7 Byron St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byron Central Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Byron Central Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Central Apartments Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing