We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Waves Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waves Byron Bay
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 29 March 2008

This is a small, 20-unit hotel. Room very spacious, clean, comfortable. AC good. Location wonderful, very close to beach and walking distance to everything. Staff wonderful. My only complaint was that the internet was a bit pricy. Also, I did get some spider bites one night in bed. I don't really blame the hotel as I'm sure spiders can get in anywhere they wish. Staff were very sympathetic and helpful in any case. Fancy coffee machine and muffins in the morning. Would not hesitate to return!

  • Liked — Great space and location
  • Disliked — Internet expensive
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RexT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waves_Resorts, Marketing Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review, 22 April 2008
Dear RexT,

We're very pleased to hear that you loved your stay at Waves Byron Bay. It is great to hear your positive feedback. I'm will also pass your comments onto the staff at Waves.

I hope you come back to visit Waves soon - keep an eye out for our email newsletter with details of special offers for our loyal subscribers.

Kind regards,

The team at Waves Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    122
    43
    20
    9
See reviews for
57
153
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2008

My stay at Waves in Byron Bay was incredible. The convenience of being so close to the beach and surrounding night life was definitely a highlight of my stay. The Waves Management and staff were very friendly and assured all my needs were met. I highly recommend waves to anyone who also would like a plesant experience with courteous help and support.... Holly, thanks for a wonderful stay and the laughs!!!

Mike...

  • Liked — The staff...
  • Disliked — I was satisfied with my stay...
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SierraVistaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waves_Resorts, Marketing Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review, 22 April 2008
Dear SierraVistaMike,

I'm so pleased to hear that you loved everything about your stay at Waves. I'll certainly be passing on your kind words to Holly, our Manager. We definitely agree that Waves is in a great location and since the refurbishment late last year it offers guests great rmodern facilities as well. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

The team at Waves Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2008

Air conditioning failed on really hot night, water poored out of the unit. Tried to contact reception but not manned during the night. No book in room for emergency contact.
Spoke to reception early the next morning just before we checked out. They wanted to come and fix it straight away. I said we were just ready to go and they would need to wait about 5 minutes. They weren't happy. Went to reception to pay up, they didn't believe we had a problem and said thet we probably left the door open, A/C wouldn't work properly. When they did find out that there was a problem, no apologies actually they didn't give a dam. Won't be going back or recommending the place.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregr96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waves_Resorts, Marketing Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review, 22 April 2008
Dear gregr96,

I was disappointed to read that you had issues with the air-conditioning unit in your room during your stay. I have spoken to the onsite Manager about your review and they have advised that they did their best to assist and even offered you a reduction in room rate on check out in an attempt to compensate you for the disruption to your stay.

Of course we do not like to hear that guests did not enjoy their stay so I would like to apologise for that and I hope that you will consider staying with us again another time.

For all potential and future guests we would like to note that there is a compendium in each room that contains after hours numbers that can be used for emergencies or maintenance issues. A call to the after hours number will ensure that issues are dealt with promptly.

Kind regards,

The team at Waves Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 January 2006

This hotel, as the other reviewers pointed out, is overpriced. But I too, waited too long to book, and this is what I got.

The larger rooms are much better. The smaller rooms are closer to a Motel 6 in the states; a small double bed in a tiny space. The do have nice large bathrooms but unfortunately have a center drain in the middle of the floor that invites... bugs in at night. I found one crawling in my make up case. He quickly ran off back down the drain.

The motel is run by a couple. The husband is an excellent host who helped us with every problem we had arise. His wife needs to find another line of employment. The husband left part way through our stay and thats when our troubles began.

Our air conditioning was not working. She was brisk in her manner and clearly annoyed that we were asking for help with it. She also clearly indicated in a rude manner that it must be that we just didn't know how to operate it... eventhough we operated it the first 3 nights we were there with no problems.

The airconditioning needed to be "restarted" (whatever that means) at least two times during our stay in order for it to work.

We had a fax come in. She was rude and annoyed that she had to bring it to us at all. Later, because the fax was too dark, we had it resent.
When we inquired about it at the desk, she told us no fax had come. We called our friends. They said they sent the fax. We had them send it a third time. Again, the hostess claimed not to receive it. Draw your own conclusions there.

Finally, we asked if we could have a later check out because my daughter needed to take a nap. She not only refused (which was her perogrative) but was rude about it. She questioned us repeatedly about how could we not have made alternate plans. We should've booked another hotel for the day.

These are just the highlights.

I couldn't leave this hotel fast enough.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waves_Resorts, Marketing Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review, 22 April 2008
Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Please be advised that Waves Byron Bay has changed substantially since your visit. It has recently been refurbished and a new management team is in place. We hope you will come and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,

The team at Waves Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2005

Ok, so we were stupid----we didn't know it was the beginning of "Schoolies" week and so arrived in Byron Bay without a reservation. As a result it was difficult to find an accommodation, and when the front desk at Waves told us they had one room left----at AUS$450----we took it anyway. I believe this is their top-of-the-line room.

This was a nice enough room, but realistically worth about half the price we paid. It was very large. It had a really nice bath. It had a big balcony that was very sparsely furnished, and no views whatsoever.

Waves Hotel has no restaurants or anything, but that is not really a problem since its in-town location is convenient.

I really have no complaints about this place, it's just that it wasn't worth the money. But bear in mind that because of circumstances we had to pay a premium; their more normal rooms may have more normal prices!

Helpful?
3 Thank cessnapilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waves_Resorts, Marketing Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review, 22 April 2008
Dear cessnapilot,

I agree that Schoolies Week was an unfortunate time for you to visit Byron Bay as most accommodation is booked 12 months in advance (at least) and high season rates are quoted. We hope you will choose to stay with us again, perhaps at a different time of year.

Waves Byron Bay has changed substantially since your visit. It has recently been refurbished and a new management team is in place. I think you would be pleasantly surprised if you decide to stay again in the future. We'd love to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

The team at Waves Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 June 2005

Our room was $400 a night with breakfast included. Choice is limited to bacon and eggs only - no bread, plus a fruit salad. It is available for one hour only, between 7am and 8 am. Whoever made it cant cook.

Breakfast doesn't come with coffee, unless you buy the ground coffee in the mini bar or settle for the usual motel instant. Either way, you will need to get milk from reception.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2005

Having just spent 2 nights in Byron Bay, NSW, I thought a couple of lines in Tripadvisor would be carthartic. Contrary to expectations, I found Byron Bay far more of a young hip party town than Hippy retreat with the "oldies" being considerably outnumbered by the young. As a youngish looking (well I would say that wouldn't I)? 41 year old London male, I felt as if I did'nt really fit in as I was cought between the two extremes. As for accommadation, it is obvious that supply & demand now account for the very high hotel/motel charges being asked. I stayed at Waves "MOTEL", in Lawson Street at $215.00 per night. Too much for too little in my view. Also BEWARE, I was told washing was at $10.00 per load BUT I was charged $15.00 per load. Now you may say $5.00 ($10.00 auctually paid for two loads, un-folded) extra is irrlevant when compared to the cost of the room, and you would be right. However, that, for me is not the point. I was told by the Manageress that SHE had made a mistake but I still had to pay regardless, end of story! In my business, this type of "poor business practice", would simply not be tolerated. What ever benefit Waves have gained by the extra $10.00 they have surely lost in the bad feeling that's been created. Very poor indeed! As for the room (number 2), very nice but a health hazard. The bathroom has no bath but a very nice marble shower. However, the shower is open planned and the water just doesn't run away, so copious amounts of water on a marble floor, obviously not a good combination. All that's needed is a litigious Americian to fall over and Waves would literally, be no more. I believe it is that serious a design fault. Would I stay again at Waves? No! You can do better for your dollar. Overall, I found the people of Byron Bay really friendly & very respectful of each other, apart from that is a couple of young bucks (two separate occasions), who had a bit of a ding dong together, proberbly hormonal!
As Arnie once said..."Ir'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank London-Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
185 reviews
2.1 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
274 reviews
2.4 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
2.5 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Byron Bay

Property: Waves Byron Bay
Address: 35 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves Byron Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves Byron Bay is a 20 room Stylish Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Byron Bay on the Beach. Guests enjoy a high standard of amenities. All rooms include Air-Conditioning, King Size Bath and separate Shower,STD/ISD phones,Plasma TV's, Austar, DVD Player, Stereo System, Clock Radio, Wireless Internet, Electronic Room Safes, Ironing Board and Iron, Mini Bar and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Secure undercover basement parking. Room rates include a complimentary 'light start to the day' of locally sourced muffins along with coffee, tea, orange juice and fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waves Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay
Waves Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing