We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value next to the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waves Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waves Byron Bay
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value next to the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

To be honest I am surprised at the comments on the penthouse sure its not brand new but being close to the beach with the storms that pass through I feel it's held up well.
We stayed 4 nights paying $260 for weekday and $330 for weekend. For the size and location I think the price is perfect.
Great BBQ area well stocked mini bar however no salt pepper or oil to cook with which is a bit of a pain but not to bad.
The room is huge as is the living dining kitchen area and although there is limited channels for fox all the normal ones as there.
Great undercover secure parking and an inviting reception.
One thing that left a bad taste in my mouth was wanting to charge us $10 per 4 hour block of Internet. That has to change as the Internet is so cheap these days that price is embarrassing to ask your customers for.
Other than that we were happy and will go back but only if we are not working while we are away as we NEED the Internet.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdjwheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for your great review of Waves Byron Bay.
We do keep spare condiments and are more than happy to share them - make sure you ask next time!
Interesting that you mention internet as I do remember giving you free WiFi when you asked. It is FREE to our Penthouse guests.

It is quite usual to charge for WiFi in hotels but we are usually more than happy to give it out for free so please make sure you choose us again!

kind regards
The Team at Waves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    113
    41
    18
    8
See reviews for
52
145
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We booked two nights in a level 1 apartment. As byron is so expensive, and many one or two bedroom places required more than a two night booking, we thought this turned out to be good value. The older style accommodation was neat. The bedrooms were warm at night but were equipped with pedestal fans. We were initially concerned about the potential noise. Both from other apartments and the park. But we had no trouble from the other apartments and were pleased to see the police were vigilant at moving along anyone from the park. We think they drove by every half hour to every hour. There was little need for them anyway, but it was good to see them quietly moving on a group of youngsters who were having a quiet drink in the adjoining park.
Found the location ideal for accessing beach. Park was great for our toddler. All in all, a great place if you aren't too worried about luxury.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

This property is located perfectly with just a few steps to the beach and the centre of town and has partial views over Byron's main beach. On this occassion we chose the penthouse suite which provided plenty of space to relax, however the suite appeared to be a little tired and in need of fresh paint and new furniture. Our first day there was during a major storm, however after the storm had passed there appeared to be no attempt by housekeeping over the next several days to clear up the balconies of all the storm debris or retrieve the outdoor furniture which had been blown around the rest of the resort. Overall a great location but needs renovating especially for the rates they are charging.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Thank you for your review of Waves Byron Bay.
It is unfortunate that during your stay we experienced the worst storm that Northern NSW has seen for many years. It was so severe that most of our National Parks have only just reopened. It took over two weeks for the town to recover and some businesses reopened only a week ago.
We are perfectly located, just steps to the beach, as you say. Unfortunately, on this occasion, we bore the brunt of the incredibly high winds and torrential rain. In one day we had over 400mm of rain! The storm lasted for almost a week, during which time our housekeeping and maintenance staff worked tirelessly to repair the damage.

We believe that we have a great hotel in a fabulous location and hopefully, if you come back, the sun will be shining.

Regards
The team at Waves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

This hotel's location was so enjoyable. Right on byron's glorious main beach. We had a family break and so for the three of us we found it great value considering the time of year was peak too. The apartment was clean and tidy. The bathroom was gorgeous with a lovely deep bath. They were accommodating in letting us check in early with my grandmother needing a rest and the staff were pleasant and amiable. Loved the gourmet coffee machine and the muffins every morning...a super fun break at a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbarellahutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

My partner and I spent a few nights here on our way up tp queensland on holidays. Its in an excelent location. Close to the beach and cbd.. but not so close you get disturbed by people leaving the pubs and clubs. Staff are very friendly. We enjoyed the stay so much my girlfirend booked the same place for the return tip home and we spent another night here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tronald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Great hotel accommodation and the kids loved the fresh muffins in the morning. You can walk to shops and beach. It was pricey for one room but we did go in January so we expected that in Byron Bay. Staff were very helpful and there is security parking which was very handy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malincza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed here a few times most recently a few days ago. We were probably there at the same time as the last reviewer. Fortunately for us, we were located on the other side of the building and didn't hear anything. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms (black marble) impressive. Waves offers some handy extras such as beach towels. Staff are very pleasant and were only to happy to stow our bags as we arrived early and left on a late flight. Beach is no more than 50 m away and the town centre is only minutes away as well. Secure parking is very handy given how busy Byron is these days.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank selkie077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.1 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
0.1 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
2.4 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Byron Bay

Property: Waves Byron Bay
Address: 35 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves Byron Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves Byron Bay is a 20 room Stylish Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Byron Bay on the Beach. Guests enjoy a high standard of amenities. All rooms include Air-Conditioning, King Size Bath and separate Shower,STD/ISD phones,Plasma TV's, Austar, DVD Player, Stereo System, Clock Radio, Wireless Internet, Electronic Room Safes, Ironing Board and Iron, Mini Bar and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Secure undercover basement parking. Room rates include a complimentary 'light start to the day' of locally sourced muffins along with coffee, tea, orange juice and fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Waves Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay
Waves Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing