We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jetstar of accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BreakFree Eco Beach
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Nothing annoys me more being charged jetstar style for every tiny thing that they can take out of your room and make you go and ask for.

We recently stayed here, and while it is very clean and the manager is very polite, the policy of leaving you with only two towels and charging two dollars per extra towel (they don't change the towels until you have been there 8 days) is just irritating. Telling me that there is a washing machine and dryer as some sort of solution is equally as annoying when I have come from Sydney for two days am not buying washing powder and surprise, I'm on holiday, I don;t want to do the laundry!

Frankly at the price they could afford to chuck you an extra towel.

Threatening you with a $30 room cleaning charge if you don't take your rubbish out is another thing that just annoyed me. Is it really worth irritating customers who have paid over $200 per night for a very basic studio by piling in the extra jetstar-style changes? Yep, I undertand that around schoolies, Blues Fest and Splendour you might need some of these extra rules, but it just irritates people like me.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are self catering apartments, and whilst we provide a small start up pack of teas, coffees, shampoo, one towel per person and so on for guest comfort, any extras are provided at guest cost and may be purchased at reception for convenience. As self catering apartments, we also ask guests to leave their rooms neat and tidy. Our free laundry facilities were merely pointed out as an option.
Regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for BreakFree Eco Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

I stayed at Eco Beach Byron Bay for 4 days this month and could not fault the service, facilities or location.
The room was clean and quiet.
You could not ask for a better location. It is located out of the center of Byron, but it is only a 5 minute walk and you can be amongest it all, and the beach is only 5 minutes away.
The staff were always friendly and helpful.
I was extremely grateful to be allowed to check in a little early, having taken three flights to arrive in Byron.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlyTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We always endeavour to check -in early arrivals as soon as possible but cannot guarantee this arrangement. Guests are welcome to sit by the pool or leave their bags at reception and head into town whilst they wait.
Look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for your comments.
regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The complex consists of privately owned apartments, managed by a company (other apartment blocks are managed by the same company in resorts such as Noosa). Their practice is to demand a bond of $200 to be was deducted from the debit card, with the promise that it will be returned 7 days later. The room was quite small compared with others we had had by this stage in our travels, but it was clean and comfortable, a bit of a walk from the town centre but not too far. The receptionist was very pleasant and helpful.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank AndTedcametoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thanks for your comments. We love Byron Bay and sharing it with our guests. We require a $200 credit card pre-authorisation at check-in which does put a hold on the funds in your account for approximately 7 days and is then released if there are no extra charges at check-out. It sounds like you stayed in a studio which is similar in size to a motel room. Next time you might find our one bedrooms more comfortable as they have a separate bedroom to the lounge area and are more spacious. The walk to town is about 7 minutes and is an easy, level walk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Just tried to make a booking at this resort after reading positive commentary on trip adviser. I made a request if I could please book a room away from the front of the building because of traffic noise. The booking office advised that this request would be noted but that there was no guarantee that my request would be met, and if I was assigned a front room that was my problem. Very, very disappointed by this inflexibility in booking policy. I pay upfront and expect to be allocated a room.

Room Tip: whats the point!!!!!!!!!, the booking staff will not accommodate a request!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank michele a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Thank you for your comments. We always do our best to meet guest requests, however we cannot guarantee a specific apartment as we may already have received earlier bookings with similar requests, unit owners may be occupying their apartments and maintenance issues may see rooms out of action. Neither myself or my team would use the wording you describe as we are always happy to meet requests where possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I always stay BreakFree Eco Beach when I visit Byron Bay. The reasons for this are simple -1)location, 2)property & 3)service. Location: away from the hustle and bustle of town but only a few minutes walk to the heart of Byron. Property: clean, comfortable and modern. Service: it always feels like coming home when I come to BreakFree Eco Beach. Sharon and the team are always ahead of the game with whatever is needed and very accommodating. I would definitely recommend BreakFree Eco Beach to anyone visiting Byron Bay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Thanks for your comments. We always do the best we can to ensure everyone has a relaxing break and it is always a pleasure to welcome guests. Be it their 1st visit or one of many. Looking forward to your next visit.
regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Great location less 10 minute's walk to the centre of town.
Although located on the major drag heading into Byron from the north, my apartment which was located around the back was quiet and peaceful - just the sounds of birds and the surf.
Apartment was clean and comfortable and the staff were really friendly and helpful.
Again, just being a short stroll to Byron's restaurants, bars and cafes, you would be hard pressed to beat the location - especially during peak periods when downtown Byron can get pretty manic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room around the back of the complex - the sound of birds and surf beats traffic any day!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickeyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Thanks for taking the time to comment. Look forward to seeing you again, next time you visit Byron Bay.
regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I stayed in Breakfree Eco Beach in Byron Bay over the October long weekend.
We found the hotel to be located in a good spot, just out of the centre so not to be too noisy, but close enough for an easy walk to the bars and restaurants.
The room we had was clean and modern, the staff were very friendly. There's undercover secure parking too which I wasn't expecting.
Next time we go back to Byron we will definitely be returning here.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the ground floor at the front of the hotel and it was very quiet. I guess s...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Looking forward to seeing you again. Thanks for your review and for taking the time to comment.
Regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
243 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
2.7 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#20 of 32 in Byron Bay
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Eco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Eco Beach

Address: 35-37 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range: £89 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Eco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Eco Beach offers a great location, affordable accommodation, and the perfect base to enjoy all the fun activities and attractions on offer in one of Australia’s most popular holiday destinations. This resort offers a selection of studio rooms and one and two bedroom suites. All rooms include air conditioning, a balcony or patio, wide screen LCD TVs with Austar, DVD players, iron and ironing board, ensuite in all rooms, kitchenette and tea and coffee making facilities. BreakFree Eco Beach offers many onsite facilities including private surrounds with a central swimming pool, and a spa and a BBQ area far removed from the busy heart of Bryon Bay. Maintenance Notice: As part of ongoing improvements, BreakFree Eco Beach will be undertaking maintenance on the spa until 30 September 2017. The spa will be closed throughout this time, BreakFree Eco Beach management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Eco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Eco Beach Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing