We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable home away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BreakFree Eco Beach
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Very comfortable rooms, convenient location, loved the spa!!!! Sharon and Lizzie went out of their way to help me book day trips and gave helpful advice. Relaxed, friendly accommodation would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemarysusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at BreakFree Eco Beach so much. Lizzie and I love sharing Byron Bay and what it has to offer with our guests and the resort provides a great base from which to explore the wonderful beaches, shops, restuarants, lighthouse and hinterland. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Sharon Coleman, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed only 3 nights in the resort however, we enjoyed it immensely. The studio apartment was lovely and fresh and surprisingly large for the package price we paid from Adelaide. Thank you so much for giving us a lovely 1st floor apartment at the back of the complex, it was lovely waking up to the sound of the ocean and the birds in the trees overhanging our balcony. The staff were helpful and the spa was lovely and relaxing. Great to be only a short walk to the nightlife in Byron and the beautiful beach. To guarantee a great stay in Byron Bay, I wouldnt hesitate to recommend these apartments. Really enjoyed the whole experience, it was a relaxing getaway. Carolyn & Graham from Woodcroft in South Australia

Room Tip: Loved being on the first floor at the back of the complex. Quieter thant the front on the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at BreakFree Eco Beach. We also had a possum visit the other day who was perched in one of the trees just near reception. She had babies on board and I think she stopped for a much needed rest. Most of the studio rooms are quiet, the ones at the front have 2 doors blocking any road noise and have sunny balconies overlooking the pool which is a bonus in winter. Looking forward to your next visit. Regards, Sharon Coleman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We always stay here when we visit Byron for short stays, if it's more than a week we book out a beach house for space and privacy reasons. Up to date we have always found it faultless, the amenities are clean and tidy and the staff helpful. The location is great too for access to the town centre. I agree with other reviews though that the $200 bond is a nuisance. Its been a week now and we still haven't had our funds released. Its a poor system and I think the previous one worked much better. To me it seems a step backwards in technology and efficiency. If you're on a tight budget it's something to consider when booking your accommodation in Byron.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NightDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thanks for your comments it's great to hear you enjoy your stays with us. Regarding the $200 preauthorisation/bond,this policy has been in place for a few years now and is communicated on all our booking confirmations, and on the whole works well. If a pre-authorisation is not suitable, guests also have the option of paying a cash bond. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Byron Bay.
Regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were made to feel very welcome.
It was located conveniently a 10 minute stroll from Byron Bay.
We loved the pool!
The rooms were clean, beds very clean and bed sheets great quality, the art work in the rooms was really special too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionab555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at BreakFree Eco Beach. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Clean, excellent service & friendly, helpful & knowledgeable desk staff.
We stayed there 4 nights recently & would have no hesitation in recommending it- a beautifully kept apartment block, clean, private & roomy with kitchen....
Close, but a comfortable distance from all the action of busy Byron CBD.
We will stay there again, definitely.....
Jann & Gillian

Room Tip: rooms on first floor probably better....ask for one with a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. It is lovely to hear you had such a great holiday and enjoyed your stay at BreakFree Eco Beach. We look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Such a disappointing stay. Self-catering does not equal penny-pinching, and this is how the Breakfree felt. From the constant reminders that we would be charged a $30 cleaning fee if we didn't do our dishes or remove our rubbish, to only having one towel each and one set of linen for a 7 night stay (hot weather and activities meant we used our one towel for 11 showers each - often damp). A result of Breakfree's you-clean policy is that our dishes were cleaned by the previous tenant! Did they use hot water and detergent and clean them properly (like a paid hotel cleaner hopefully would)? Judging by the marks on the plates...no they did not. Ick!
God forbid if we wanted to use the pool or the COLD spa pool (our week was pretty cool and overcast with rain) - a pool towel cost $5 to use! When I asked reception for new batteries for the tv remote that wouldn't work, you'd think they were made of gold. I was told they were only replaced at Christmas and I shouldn't need them. After the necessary paperwork was done (!) they did give me two new AA batteries. These didn't work. They looked into it further and discovered the problem was with the TV not the remote - nothing was done to fix this.
Aside from struggling with the broken TV all week, we also struggled with the challenging bathroom. It was small, super small, which wouldn't have been so bad if we had some hooks (or similar) to hold our toiletry bags/clothes/pyjamas/robes - a fairly basic requirement. The shower had a small soap dish on the wall - again it would have been great to have a shelf for our toiletries. The shower itself squealed every time it was used. This was about as enjoyable as having to reset the fuse in the power box when it shorted because we wanted to use the toaster at the same time as the TV. Maybe we were expected to fix the unit ourselves...should have packed my tools.
Be warned, this hotel, instead of pre-authorising your credit card, actually puts a $200 hold on your card. This money is not released by the hotel when you check out, but instead lapses after 7 days.
Other things you should know - rooms not fantastically clean, no direct access to the beach, reception only open 8/9am-5pm, some first floor apartments still require you to climb small set of stairs.
The only saving-grace of this property was their new receptionist Lizzie. She was an absolute ray of sunshine and the only thing that made us feel welcome there. She was helpful, friendly and personable.
This property has so much potential, but there practices and some small maintenance issues REALLY let it down.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter at the back of property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellingspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay. We apologise for the inconvenience that the maintenance items caused and your suggestions will help us to ensure the comfort of future guests. As self catering apartments we do ask our guests to leave them neat and tidy on departure, the cleaners do check & clean dishes where necessary and we apologise that in this instance they lapsed. The spa is heated, however the gas heater was faulty and dangerous and was turned off as the plumber was waiting on a part.
Although we do not have beach access we are only an easy 5 minute walk to the beach.
As part of our advertised procedures a $200 pre-authorisation at check in is required.
Lizzie is the latest addition to our team and it's great to hear how much you enjoyed her service.
regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had a two night stay at Eco Beach, perfect location, minutes from the beach-we were told by the reception about a footpath through the back. A pleasant stroll into the town either via the beach or along the road path. Room very well equipped for self catering, very clean. A small swimming pool, ideal for a quick dip, the pool area is quite small, only room for a few people(only 3 sunbeds, maybe room for a couple more)Pleasant outside seating area, barbecue.
Added bonus of underground parking.

My only gripe being we couldn't have late check out, yet we were offered to use the Eco beach as a base for the day, but missed being able to shower after a day on the beach

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pogles63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thanks for your comments. It is sometimes possible to get a little later checkout, however BreakFree Eco Beach is a small resort and time is needed to clean and prepare the room for the next guest.
There is usually another recliner by the pool, however it is currently being repaired. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed the resort and it's facilities.
Regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#12 of 34 in Byron Bay
244 reviews
2.2 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
2.7 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#1 of 34 in Byron Bay
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Eco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Eco Beach

Address: 35-37 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range: £89 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Eco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Eco Beach offers a great location, affordable accommodation, and the perfect base to enjoy all the fun activities and attractions on offer in one of Australia’s most popular holiday destinations. This resort offers a selection of studio rooms and one and two bedroom suites. All rooms include air conditioning, a balcony or patio, wide screen LCD TVs with Austar, DVD players, iron and ironing board, ensuite in all rooms, kitchenette and tea and coffee making facilities. BreakFree Eco Beach offers many onsite facilities including private surrounds with a central swimming pool, and a spa and a BBQ area far removed from the busy heart of Bryon Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Eco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Eco Beach Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing