We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BreakFree Eco Beach
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Byron Bay
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very disappointed with our stay at breakfree.
I went with friends and we were surprised by the amount of things we had to do to avoid being charged extra. You have to count every piece of cutlery and every single thing in the room at the beginning of your stay. If you miscounted or took things between rooms with in the one apartment you would also be charged. You also had to look for all the tiny damages with in the apartment, and because our friends missed one of the damages, they tried to charge us with this. The mid week service was done to the bare minimum, they replaced the towels and bedding, but our dirty, sandy were not swept or mopped as promised so we had to get a bucket out ourself and wash it. Also the fans were loud and noisy while we tried to sit on the balcony and would turn on and off. Over all, over priced and under serviced.

Room Tip: if you desperately have to stay here, i would imagine a room over looking the pool would be best, fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hgilt1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your comments, please refer to our response to the other guest travelling with you ohanameansfamily. We really enjoyed having you and your friends stay and are sorry to hear that you were upset about the bond claim, however any damages at check-out do need to be reimbursed by the guests,either at check-out or from the bond.
Thank you for staying at BreakFree Eco Beach and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards
Sharon Coleman
BreakFree Eco Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for Schoolies week with a few other friends.
Firstly, it was extremely expensive for a place that wasn't even that close to the town centre and was only a two bedroom apartment for 5 people. It cost about $5000 for 7 nights.
When we got there, we did found that the facilities were quite well kept and comfortable. However, our experience with the staff really let down our stay. They completely lacked respect for their customers, which seemed entirely because we were Schoolies. We were given a strict list of rules, as though they expected us to completely destroy the room. We had to agonisingly complete a checklist of all the items in the room (so that we could be charged later if anything was broken!)This we understood due to the high risk involved.
After we had checked out and the room was inspected, we were told that we had broken a part of the fridge and $100 each would be taken from our bond (thats $500 for a bar fridge out of the $1000 bond). This is completely outrageous! The fridge must have been broken when we got there, since we hadn’t broken anything during out stay.
Later, when we complained about this, the charge was reduced to $20 each (only $100 this time). WTF! These people are trying to milk us for cash. We had been on good terms with the staff the entire week until they pulled this one on us. These people were clearly using the Schoolies week to pay for their crap old furniture. I feel extorted and disrespected simply due to my age. Do not recommend this to anybody who seeks value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you were upset by our rules and policies over schoolies week. They are designed to protect our guests and ensure a safe and secure environment during a time when school leavers are celebrating.
During this period peak rates apply and we have 24 hour security. Full inspections and inventory checks are done at check in and check out to ensure transparency for all parties.
The charges are not a reflection on you as guests, as you were a pleasure to host.
Thank you for staying at BreakFree Eco Beach and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards
Sharon Coleman
BreakFree Eco Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just a quick review to say we had a wonderful 5 day stay in a rear ground floor studio room. Quiet, close to town and the room was very comfortable in every way. Sharon at the reception was very friendly and helpful and we would recommend Break Free Eco Beach to our friends. Secure basement parking was a plus. Would be very happy to stay here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: rear studio and one bed rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thanks so much for your positive comments. Lizzie and I love ensuring guests have a "wonderful stay" at BreakFree Eco Beach and are happy to share our knowledge of Byron Bay and to recommend tours & activities which suit. From a peaceful, relaxing massage to an adrenaline filled sky dive. Looking forward to your next visit. Regards, Sharon Coleman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Very comfortable rooms, convenient location, loved the spa!!!! Sharon and Lizzie went out of their way to help me book day trips and gave helpful advice. Relaxed, friendly accommodation would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemarysusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at BreakFree Eco Beach so much. Lizzie and I love sharing Byron Bay and what it has to offer with our guests and the resort provides a great base from which to explore the wonderful beaches, shops, restuarants, lighthouse and hinterland. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Sharon Coleman, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed only 3 nights in the resort however, we enjoyed it immensely. The studio apartment was lovely and fresh and surprisingly large for the package price we paid from Adelaide. Thank you so much for giving us a lovely 1st floor apartment at the back of the complex, it was lovely waking up to the sound of the ocean and the birds in the trees overhanging our balcony. The staff were helpful and the spa was lovely and relaxing. Great to be only a short walk to the nightlife in Byron and the beautiful beach. To guarantee a great stay in Byron Bay, I wouldnt hesitate to recommend these apartments. Really enjoyed the whole experience, it was a relaxing getaway. Carolyn & Graham from Woodcroft in South Australia

Room Tip: Loved being on the first floor at the back of the complex. Quieter thant the front on the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at BreakFree Eco Beach. We also had a possum visit the other day who was perched in one of the trees just near reception. She had babies on board and I think she stopped for a much needed rest. Most of the studio rooms are quiet, the ones at the front have 2 doors blocking any road noise and have sunny balconies overlooking the pool which is a bonus in winter. Looking forward to your next visit. Regards, Sharon Coleman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We always stay here when we visit Byron for short stays, if it's more than a week we book out a beach house for space and privacy reasons. Up to date we have always found it faultless, the amenities are clean and tidy and the staff helpful. The location is great too for access to the town centre. I agree with other reviews though that the $200 bond is a nuisance. Its been a week now and we still haven't had our funds released. Its a poor system and I think the previous one worked much better. To me it seems a step backwards in technology and efficiency. If you're on a tight budget it's something to consider when booking your accommodation in Byron.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NightDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thanks for your comments it's great to hear you enjoy your stays with us. Regarding the $200 preauthorisation/bond,this policy has been in place for a few years now and is communicated on all our booking confirmations, and on the whole works well. If a pre-authorisation is not suitable, guests also have the option of paying a cash bond. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Byron Bay.
Regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were made to feel very welcome.
It was located conveniently a 10 minute stroll from Byron Bay.
We loved the pool!
The rooms were clean, beds very clean and bed sheets great quality, the art work in the rooms was really special too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionab555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at BreakFree Eco Beach. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 34 in Byron Bay
244 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
0.6 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#2 of 34 in Byron Bay
210 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Eco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Eco Beach

Address: 35-37 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range: £91 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Eco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Eco Beach offers a great location, affordable accommodation, and the perfect base to enjoy all the fun activities and attractions on offer in one of Australia’s most popular holiday destinations. This resort offers a selection of studio rooms and one and two bedroom suites. All rooms include air conditioning, a balcony or patio, wide screen LCD TVs with Austar, DVD players, iron and ironing board, ensuite in all rooms, kitchenette and tea and coffee making facilities. BreakFree Eco Beach offers many onsite facilities including private surrounds with a central swimming pool, and a spa and a BBQ area far removed from the busy heart of Bryon Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Eco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Eco Beach Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing