We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BreakFree Eco Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BreakFree Eco Beach
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
BEAUMARIS
2 reviews
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

This property has 30 units (split into studios and 1 bedroom units) in which we stayed for 3 days and it was totally relaxing. Sharon (Manager) and Christine were very helpful and obliging with our requests. The weather was quite hot, but we had a car and drove in to Byron Bay which took all of 3 mins. or you can walk either on main road (Shirley St) or take the beach. The beach is 3-4 mins. walk directly through the back of this property. Reading the other reviews, if you leave a mess, they will charge you $30 and this is stated in the unit. They take $100 bond on credit card when you arrive, just in case. So leave the unit the way you found it - no problems then. There is complimentary tea/coffee/milk/sugar for your arrival. There is a Woolworths in town so you can stock up on your essentials, together with a petrol station to refill your hire car. The Beach Hotel and The Balcony Restaurant are our favourite eating places. We tried Hogs Breath Cafe this time, not bad for a change. We travel to Byron Bay twice a year and go the the same place. This was our first stay at Breakfree Eco Beach Resort and have booked again for later in the year. There is no daily room service and change of linen is every 8 days. There is a charge if you want to change linen sooner. Helen & John F.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCARDZIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    159
    47
    21
    10
See reviews for
63
178
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
137 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

We were looking for an inexpensive option for accommodation in or close to Byron and came across BreakFree Eco Beach resort, booking online for AU$145 per night for a studio room. The room was on the ground floor, quite spacious, with a nice patio fronting the pool and BBQ area. The only obvious omission from the room was wardrobing/hanging space, otherwise all good for a short break - well-equipped kitchen, tidy bathroom, dining table, new TV/DVD unit, airconditioning and a comfy queen bed.

The location is great, literally 5mins walk into town so away from the main hustle and bustle. There is a backpackers next door, but we had no noise issues from it, and the resort also lies on the main road into Byron from the Pacific Hwy, but again we had no real noise issue from that road (it's not busy at night).

The reception staff were very friendly and check-in and check-out were straightforward. Parking is underneath the resort so the car stays cool, just watch out for the slightly awkward key entry halfway down the very steep entry ramp.

Overall, we were more than happy with our choice of staying at this resort. Clean and modern accommodation so close to Byron at a good price... and the deepest spa pool I've ever been in!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

Firstly, there is absolutely no reason why this hotel should be called "eco". It is not any more environmentally friendly than any other, and some people will boycott them for this misleading name. However, I stayed there. Overall it is a nice place, but rooms are only serviced every 8 days, and you have to clean your own dishes and put them back, and take out your rubbish when you check out. Fees are charged to your credit card if these are not done.

That said, the shower was big and very clean, as were the rooms. Being on a main road, traffic noise was an issue, together with thin walls and noisy neighbours at 2am. The bed was comfortable, despite being made of two single beds zipped together. There is cable tv, but only 6 or 7 channels.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lolocaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

I have just returned from a 3 night stay in Byron Bay and would like to recommend Breakfree Eco Beach Resort. Just a few minutes walk from town, you will find this comfortable accommodation with all the amenities. Sharon welcomed us with a big smile and was very knowledgable about the surrounding area. Our room was well equipped and there is an outdoor BBQ area meaning we ate at the accommodation every night, saving ourselves a small fortune. A small pool onsite meant the small resort offered us everything we needed for our stay. As a travel agent, this is definitely a property I will be recommending to my clients looking for a good 3 star property in Byron.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JavelinaBallerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

Stayed in a one bedroom suite for 2 nights.
Check in was easy & quick - the staff were very friendly and knowledgable about the local area.
Rooms are slightly dated but have everything you need. Could do with a touch up of paint on some of the walls (& the kitchenette facilities are an interesting & out of date shade of green!) but if you can see beyond that, the place is pretty good.
No restaurant facilities on site but you're only 5 mins walk to the centre of Byron & it's fantastic. Would highly recommend Byron & also the Eco Beach

Complex isn't huge & as such is fairly quiet & relaxing.
Secure underground parking is available

There are outdoor pool, spa & BBQ facilities although we didn't use them
Complimentary landerette is great - we arrived in Byron after spending almost a week in other hotels with no such facilities.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSmith2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2009

SHAME ON THIS PLACE. If you care about the environment, then you will hate what these people have done with the title of their hotel.

The hotel rooms are nice and new. Don't get me wrong, a great place to stay at, great just out of town location. Five min walk to town. There are three catches though.

1. You have to take out your own rubbish at the end of your stay or else be fined $30. I have never stayed at paid accommodation where you have to do this. Its a minor point though, this would not stop me going back.

2. There is no room 'clean up' except for those staying 8 nights or more. Now, a place where you are going to the beach everyday means that you are constantly leaving sand in the room and shower. I could not walk bare foot in the room as I hated the feeling of the sand on the tiled floor and got sick of having to dust off my feet before hopping into bed. The towels also get a bit stale after two days, so i feel sorry for those having to stay for 8 nights before getting a fresh towel.

3. MOST IMPORTANT TO US...I hate that these people have placed 'Eco' into their name when their hotel has nothing Eco friendly about it. The main thing that made us catch onto this was that there was no fan in the rooms, and so for air flow its either the air con or the hot air from the windows, and windows are not an option in Byrons summer if there is no breeze.
When i returned home i called them up as a potential customer and asked how their hotel was Eco friendly, since its in their name. The lady stumbled a little at the start, possibly lost for words. She then began to explain that they are Eco friendly because...wait for it.....'we re-use paper, and when the light globes blow, we replace them with the energy efficient ones'. This was the crappiest example of Eco I have ever heard...does not every household / business do this as a basic standard anyway? Oh and also....we noted when we took the rubbish out (to avoid being fined) that we then saw a recycling bin there yet there is no mention of such a bin nor is there a second bin for recycling in the room. We were not prepared to open our bags up to start sorting at this point.


All in all, nice and new. Value for money??? Well, what kind of person is happy to use their towel for 8 nights straight without it being replaced? And for this price, I would expect a nice little sweep of the room each day. I can live without the bed being made.

Even if you dont care about staying at Eco friendly places (I must say, we chose it for location and price), I cannot stand to see people using the term 'Eco' to attract customers when there is no effort towards being 'Eco' at all.

  • Liked — Nice new rooms, good showers
  • Disliked — Their undeserving use of the word 'Eco' in their business name, no change of towels, no housekeeping
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarris07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2008

There isn't really anything wrong with this no-frills place and I would rate it highly if it were cheaper, but compared with everywhere else we stayed during our month long trip to Australia I thought it was poor value at $155 per night for a studio room. Previous reviewers don't seem to agree with this however, so it may just be that they're more familiar with Byron Bay accommodation costs than I am!

Our room was simple and characterless but clean, comfortable and well equipped, and the lady on reception was very pleasant throughout our stay.

The location is a little further from the centre than you'd probably like, but a 10 minute walk (max) brings you to the shops, restaurants, bars and beach.

  • Disliked — The price - I thought it was fairly average, basic accommodation but the price didn't reflect this.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_Nerja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
2.6 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Eco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Eco Beach

Property: BreakFree Eco Beach
Address: 35-37 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Eco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Eco Beach offers a great location, affordable accommodation, and the perfect base to enjoy all the fun activities and attractions on offer in one of Australia's most popular holiday destinations. This resort offers a selection of studio rooms and one and two bedroom suites. Featuring modern decor and open plan designs, all accommodation has a casual feel suited to Byron Bay and its surrounds. All rooms include air conditioning, a balcony or patio, wide screen LCD TVs with Austar, DVD players, iron and ironing board, ensuite in all rooms, kitchenette and tea and coffee making facilities. BreakFree Eco Beach offers many onsite facilities including private surrounds with a central swimming pool, and a spa and a barbeque area far removed from the busy heart of Byron Bay. If you want to laze on the beach or hit the waves, the beach is just a 350 metre walk away. From here, guests can enjoy the distinctive character and alternative lifestyle Byron Bay is famous for by joining a surf school and yoga class, or go dolphin kayaking and enjoy a wildlife tour. The Byron Bay Lighthouse, Main Beach, Wategos beach, shopping, art galleries, cafes, restaurants and pubs are all within easy reach. Every activity is catered for in Byron Bay and is within easy reach from BreakFree Eco Beach, the perfect base for your next getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BreakFree Eco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Eco Beach Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing